We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely, friendly hotel”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely, friendly hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My daughter and I spent a night at the Hillthwaite on the 25th July on a bargain break. It was absolutely fabulous and fantastic value. The staff were extremely welcoming and very helpful. The room was pleasant and spacious despite being one of the cheapest on offer. On arrival we were given freshly baked scones and tea which we took in the comfortable lounge overlooking the lake. The 5 course dinner was delicious with friendly and attentive service, as was breakfast which set us up nicely for our walk.We were also given a complimentary bottle of prosecco, all for £109 for the two of us! There was a small pool and a steam room and sauna which we made use of, two nice lounges and a garden with good views. Overall, a really lovely experience which I certainly intend to repeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    345
    124
    54
    25
See reviews for
129
1,066
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
PRESTON ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We Have just returned from a two night stay at the Hillthwaite house hotel, the rooms are very clean and have every thing you need (we stayed in a classic double).
other rooms have more facilities.

Food .....you will not find better in a 5* resturant the quality and presentation was outstanding
and the staff in the resturant were so friendly.

There is also a pool sauna and steam room with was a added bonus.
if you want a value for money break this hotel is the place you wont be dissapointed
we will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUGSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We spent two nights at the Hillthwaite House Hotel from the 27th-29th July and it was fabulous, I am quite picky when it comes to staying at Hotels and look for faults, but this time I could not find any fault. The room was spacious whith lovely view over the Lake, enjoyed a refreshing swim in the pool and sauna and the food was really nice. The staff I found were very friendly

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Hillthwaite House Hotel in Windermere and cannot praise it too highly. Our room was spacious with a separate lunge area with sofa. Bathroom came complete with bath whioch is a rarity these days. There were two lounge areas and a conservatory with a commanding view down to Lake Windermere. A lovely five course dinner was included on the first night, cooked breaskfast each morning and scones and coffee each afternoon served with a glass of Pimms or sparkling wine. We were so ful with these meals that we did not need to eat anything for the rest of the day. There is plenty of parking, good bus service at the bottom of the drive taking you to several destinations in the Lakes which avoids having to park when it is high season. We also made use of the leisure centre with swomming pool, sauna and steam room. We were immpressed with the staff who coulod not do enough for us and our room was splotlessly clean with good lighting and nice towels and toileteries. I would recommend this Hotel to all ages and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Upgrades rooms were available with jacuzzis and/or balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazza002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is my first ever trip advisor rating, credit where credit is due I wanted to comment on this lovely hotel with a warm welcome and excellent value for money. I went with 2 friends and paid an excellent rate per head. We weren't charged under occupancy for having one person in a double room, a rarity these days. The hotel was absolutely spotless and the staff both attentive and friendly. We thought that it was excellent value for money and thoroughly enjoyed both our breakfasts and dinners during our two night stay. We each had 2 canapes, a lovely starter and beautifully presented main course, the dessert on the second night was better than the first, overall as food lovers we were really happy. A delight to stay somewhere with a personal service. There was a mix of clientele from families with well behaved children to romantic couples and the more mature holiday makers. The location is handy for walking to either Bowness or Windermere. There is a wide choice of type of bedrooms which are priced according to size, views etc. I enjoyed it so much that I have booked to go back, this time with my husband and have opted for a larger bedroom with a sitting room and a lakeside view.

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist about the room when you book, they were bang on with the descriptions re size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We went there on a deal and were immediately made to feel unwelcomed. A couple of staff were nice and friendly but we mostly felt out of place throughout the stay. The lobby at the entrance was unattractive with disorganised seating, dirty coffe cups and a tatty carpet. The room itself was old-fashioned with a sickly green carpet. Twin beds had been put together for a double effect. It considerably differed from other rooms and thus, was offered on the deal. Even though we went on a deal, the food was still not worth the price we paid for since the main course composed of fish and chips with no remarkable difference from our local chippy's!!! The 5-course meal was a disappointment overall. Although the starters and desserts were interesting and appetising, the second course consisted of lemon sorbet. Besides we were given the smallest table making us feel uncomfortable.The nights were particularly noisy due to a boiler running close to the room and the pool generator left on all night. The door that led to the garden was left open till late at night and we had to close it ourselves since it was close to the room. Overall not pleasant or relaxing stay and a general impression of a retirement home. Definitely overpirced making the deal seem a rip off. The next day we dined at Robertos where the food was divine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhavna12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
It was fairly easy to establish the identifty of this reviewer because of the particular problem they had experienced, however, before dealing with the wider issues their comments attract I would first like to apologise to them for the fact that their night's sleep was disturbed by a malfunctioning heating appliance.The door they refer to is a fire door often used by guests to gain access to our rear car park, whilst it is impossible to physically police the closing of this door 24 hours a day, I can assure all our guests that it is included on our final fire and security check at the end of every day. However, 'deal or no deal' to suggest that we are unwelcoming is patently absurd, we make a special effort at the Hillthwaite to ensure that the threshold and continuing experience of all our guests is as welcoming as can be made humanly possible. Our mystery guest surveys and in-house guest comment cards confirm that this is indeed the case. By 'entrance lobby' I assume the reviewer is referring to our Conservatory, which incidentally is to be replaced when funds allow-(see below), the furniture in this area is often moved around by guests for their convenience, and yes from to time, during busy periods, it is not always possible to remove used glassware and crockery immediately guests have finished with them. The carpet in ths area is not designed for its aesthetic quality but rather to withstand the numerous walking boots, often covered in mud, which pass over it every day. The table allocated to the reviewer in the restaurant was a standard 36" diameter one, perfectly adequate for a 'romantic' twosome! As far as the actual food is concerned please refer to previous Trip Advisor reviews which are overwhelmingly complimentary about this aspect of our package. The 'fish and chips' is just a little quirky dish given the distinctive Hillthwaite twist to titillate the guests fancy. The fish used is always fresh and cooked in our our own recipe beer batter, although the reviewer requested a batter without beer-which was provided. Perhaps the reviewer would like to ask his local 'chippy' how much their offering would be if it was served to them on a plate at table with linen cloths and napkins accompanied by cutlery! I now turn to the wider issue this review has prompted. The reason maybe that hotel and guest house carpets are not being renewed or rooms refurbished quite as regualrly as they were in the past is because in these very challenging economic times, the hospitality industry in particular, in its relentless chase to fill beds and cover overheads is prostituting itself in no small way to the many companies offering cut price hotel deals. Whilst in the short term the guest is the winner, in the long term they will be the loser by the inevitable loss in standards and quality. I don't think deal guests are quite fully aware of just how little the service provider actually gets out of these deals. I will use this reviewer's deal to illustrate this, the reviewer actually paid to the deal Company £189, the first 20% (£31.50) of this goes to the Exchequer, then the deal Company take their cut anything between 20% and 50%, in the reviewers case 22% +v.a.t (£49.90), leaving the service provider with a net balance of £107.60, out of which, in our included, for two people, two nights accommodation and full English Breakfast and one five course meal, plus a box of chocolates in the room on arrival, incidentally the reviewer also got a complimentary room upgrade. One does not have to be Warren Buffet to understand that not many Axminsters or cans of Dulux will be bought for that. Until some realism returns to the market or the deal companies start demanding less commission, it is becoming increasingly likely that more and more service providers will come to the conclusion that it is just not worth running themsleves ragged to make a loss and throw in the towel- Deal providers please note!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Although we only booked for 2 nights it was following a strong recomendation from a friend. This is a wonderful family owned hotel with attention to every detail. On our first day we were greeted with an excellent cream tea, hot homemade scones, with Cava or Pimms! The stay really continued in the same vein. Dinner, with a wide range of choices, was very good indeed & beautifully presented. Breakfast was similarly very good. Our room, with a mountain view, was very comfortable & the Jacuzzi bath an unexpected bonus.
There is a reasonable sized indoor pool with sauna & steam room.
All of the staff were courteous yet friendly.
If you want to be pampered in the Lakes then stay here.
We will certainly go back.

Room Tip: There is no lift so for those who find stairs difficult it would be a good idea to request one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColinManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
409 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing