We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Like most people, we stayed at Hillthwaite House on an exclusive deal. We did however decide to upgrade the room and add on an extra nights stay.

Check in was friendly and efficient and we were promptly taken to our room. Not the largest room we've stayed in but quite comfortable and it did have a large bathroom. It was clean and had all of the facilities that you needed. Not sure what we quite got for the room upgrade, if it was extra space then I hate to think how small some of the rooms must be!

Breakfast was very good, freshly cooked to order with nice thick bacon and lovely 'orange' eggs. Plus there was plenty of choice for those who wanted something different - Eggs Benedict, kippers etc. The restaurant is nice, light and airy and had lovely views (although it was very misty the first day, so we couldn't see much!). And, as we were only a table of two, we didn't particularly feel cramped nor exposed, which you can in some restaurants.

We had an inclusive afternoon tea, which consisted of a lovely freshly baked (warm) scone with plenty of jam and cream. We took this in the 'conservatory' area.

We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks on the terrace (the sun was shining for once) and this is a lovely, relaxing area.

Dinner was very good. There was plenty of choice, which was good news for me (restricted diet). There was quite a hefty supplement for steak though, which we both paid. We did comment that it was quite a supplement considering the other meats available on the menu (that did not have supplement). The steak was however beautifully cooked and presented.

The hotel is within walking distance of the town, so if like us you stay more than one night, there's plenty of choice of restaurants within walking distance. The hotel has a great location for discovering the lakes and ample car parking.

I'm not sure whether we would return to the hotel, only because there are so many other places that we would like to try. There were plans on the wall for a propsed extension / conservatory, and, once this work is complete, this will be a truly exceptional venue.

All staff were friendly and helpful - a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    324
    114
    47
    21
See reviews for
119
994
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed on a 2 night B&B plus one evening meal basis in a standard room at the top of the hotel. No great view from the window, but that was our choice and more than compensated by a very comfortable bed, good TV reception, nice tea and coffee facilities etc and a very nice en-suite.
We were lucky with the weather so walked up the hill from the hotel which has easy access to the Dales Way. After a walk along the Way, doubling back and down to Bowness, taking a cruise to Ambleside for more walking to the Stock Ghyll waterfall, and back up the hill from the Bowness cruise pier (not too steep or too long) to the hotel, the very well maintained pool, steam room and sauna were just what was needed, oh I nearly forgot that that was after the excellent afternoon tea and scones at the hotel!
The leisure facilities really do make this hotel stand out from the ordinary, but also the quality of the food at breakfast (cooked to order) and the 5 course evening meal, make this a hotel that has to be a strong contender when we come back to the lakes in future. Thanks to all the staff and management!
I would make a couple of minor suggestions, one is to use 2 tea bags in the teapots at breakfast, as it was hard to get a good strong cup of tea to kickstart the day, and the second is to train more of the waiting staff to take wine orders as we were into the meal before the wine order was taken and had arrived.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

My wife organised a special 50th birthday break at the Hillthwaite house hotel for two nights bed breakfast and dinner the stay was very pleasant with great views of the lake and fells beyond. The hotel is ideally placed for everything in the lakes, from leisure walking and shopping to more active activities. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable with jacuzzi bath, the meals were excellent, and the staff very attentive,, there is a pool and sauna/steam room. The other guests were friendly with a wide range of ages.. Overall we enjoyed our stay and we would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank punchyStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flintshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

In total agreement with the other reviewers that this is a special hotel.we stayed in a loft room with lake and mountain view .exceptionally clean ,lovely large bed,plenty of hanging space,gorgeous fluffy towels,fab bathroom ,flat screen tv and a fridge.the food?amazing !top restaurant presentation and so good.well done to all at the hillthwaite

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritchieFlintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Myself & my Hubby love the lakes & our stay at this hotel made it even more memorable. Fantastic cream tea whilst looking at the fantastic view. The evening meal was sooooooo scrummy & the breakfast just topped off the wonderful stay. THANK YOU to all those who make this place so great, hope tou visit again soon

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wardys5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamtonshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night break at this hotel, it is very welcoming, the staff are very friendly and the food fantastic. We had a superior lake view room with a very nice bathroom, the hotel is spotless and very homely.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We last went her about 2 years ago and had an offer in the post that was too good to pass up.We were a bit concerned it might have changed but if it has only what was needed to keep it looking as good. Our room looked over the lake, lovely jacuzzi bath. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast and dinner were, as in the past, yummy. For me even better as they had a Veggie full English and the veggie meals were innovative and well balanced. I'm now determined to try and reproduce the Stilton Bavarois. I've already checked for more offers as we think we may treat ourselves to a little escape from the real world every month or so. Staff go out of their way to be helpful. We intended to swim but never got around to using the pool. If you love good food you'll enjoy a break in Hillthwaite.I need to say that anyone with mobility problems would have to take their car if they went out as it is on a very steep hill, but that's why the views are so good.

Room Tip: All rooms look good but the ones looking across the village to the Lakes are wonderful for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmeliaBadelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing