We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Lancahire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

I paid the top price on an offer, which gave a superior suite with jacuzzi for £239. Not cheap at half price. The bedroom was an attic type room with a normal bath jacuzzi - certainly NOT the lovely big white one as shown in the picture I saw, and to make matters worse, the jacuzzi didn't even work :( After a complaint to reception the "engineer" sent to me was the Maitre De from the restaurant, and he couldn't fix it. The shower (over said bath) was weak - not at all the power shower I was expecting for this kind of money spent - and the hot tap practically dribbled until fully cranked up! The 5 course meal was tasty.,..but don't starve your self for it! The main course (I had to spend an EXTRA £7.50 for the fillet steak) is the only course that is anywhere near filling. The room was cleaned after night number 1, but biscuits etc not replenished in the room...basically, I felt that the hotel is excellent at marketing itself, but not at delivering the value of goods. Great at taking a lot of money for good service (the hard working restaurant staff were top notch), but I received an average room and food. I had room service on evening number 2, and had a nice club sandwich (chips were another £2.50 on top of the £11), and didn't get any sauces etc offered, and when a lady knocked on the door to check the order, she mentioned that she had been trying to ring my room from reception but the phone obviously wasn't working! Not great if they needed to contact me in an emergency! I wasn't offered any refund for my dodgy jacuzzi - my whole reason for agreeing to choose this particular hotel over others. Considering this was a treat - and one I can't afford to do very often - sadly, it left me rather disappointed :(

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ruth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    329
    115
    52
    22
See reviews for
121
1,009
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

This hotel was a very good place to stay for touring around the Lake District, we spent 2 nights here on the deal which included 5 course dinner each evening and breakfast each morning, the food in the evening was presented well and some lovely flavours, however, my one warning is do not pay £1.50 extra for the cheese board, you get as much cheese as you would put in a mouse trap.
That said, the service from everyone was very friendly and all very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

It is a dog friendly hotel so Archie our Golden Retriever came along also, dogs are allowed in the bedrooms and conservatory area, which is a tad cold in the evening, especially with people coming and going through the side door, and leaving the door open (a lot more people than I thought were born in a barn), however, I cannot blame the hotel for that, as they were just as welcoming to the dog as they were to the humans.

We had a great relaxing stay and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, Room 34 only has a view of the back car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbridge Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Firstly I will say this hotel is lovely!
And my only negative would be the room - we had room 25 - no view, overlooking a noisy courtyard, however the room was clean, nice furnishings and nice bathroom.
It's just a shame upon check we weren't offered the opportunity to upgrade to a better room - something I would definitely of considered (i.e. paying an extra £20-£30 for a room with a view etc).

We were staying on the £159 for the night, dinner bed and breakfast rate - if this was promoted better you'd be full every night - 5 courses each is superb! If the duck leg is on the menu - try it! WOW!

We used the pool and steam room - perfect after a day exploring the lake - much enjoyed.

We also enjoyed a couple of drinks in the lounge in front of the fire using the free WiFi - perfect.

The staff, service and public areas are all fantastic - we would visit again - but we'd try and get a better room next time.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view - not room 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We would highly recommend this hotel for its wonderful food, excellent service from very friendly but efficient staff and its overall ambience. Nothing was too much trouble. we enjoyed the open fires in the lounge and the comfort of the conservatory during sunny but not very warm days. The home made scones, just out of the oven and served with jam, butter and cream, were the best I have ever eaten!
Having gone on a special offer our room was not the best in the hotel, but it was clean, comfortable and of an adequate size.
We would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireCat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

A bit late writing this, but just been so busy since our stay.
We stayed for our Ruby Wedding anniversary at the end of July. We stayed in executive rm15, a delightful room, compact, but lovely, room for a four poster bed dressing table and sofa, a built in wardrobe with a fridge. What we really liked was the lovely secluded balcony, a peaceful haven to relax, at any time of day, with wonderful views.
As per our previous stays here, the service from all the staff was excellent, and the food at every meal, whether breakfast or dinner. was first class. A specia; mention must go to Pawel, who as host of the restaurant was always friendly, attentive and professional.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time here, and will definately return again and again.
If you want a lovely place to stay, with excellent food, do not hesitate to chose Hillthwaite House. we are sure you will not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nksmithtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We too stayed at this hotel on a 2 night B&B plus aftenoon tea (with sparkling wine) on both afternoons and one evening meal basis. It was absolutely brilliant - worth every penny. The food was second to none - cooked to your own individual taste - nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Our room was not at the front with the better views, but that didn't matter as we were only there to sleep. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If you want a view ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeSaBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We were two couples and let reception issue the keys to the 2 Rooms. Our friend's room on the ground floor was light, bright and airy, our room on the first floor was "inside" looking into a small courtyard and was very dull, the lighting being inadequate to read by given the position of the Room.
The food and service however were first class and more than compensated for our disappointing room. The menu changed every day during our 4 day stay and was a delight, all the Staff without exception were extremely helpful and friendly. The Hotel is not easy to find and it takes time to orient oneself. We were fortunate with the weather and the Boat trips on Windermere were therefore idyllic. The local Council however is very adept in applying pricey car park charges, at least £8 for the day and they also allow no disabled concessions we noticed. They also charge 20p for use of the toilets! and, in our experience you have to ask for the toilet keys if you take snacks in the local cafes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shattonblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing