We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel, Even better for ceoliacs. Highly recomended.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel, Even better for ceoliacs. Highly recomended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Booked this hotel for our 20th wedding anniversary. With myself being on a gluten free diet this was a priority for me when booking a hotel. On speaking to the hotel they reassured me that they could cater for me in all parts of their menu.

We stayed for 2 nights, and i am very pleased to say that you can book this hotel with very high confidence Re;Ceoliac. All staff were very very helpful, the chef gave me options on what i could eat and i was catered for in all parts of the menu.

It is hotels like these that should be praised so others can enjoy it.

The room, and views were great, and this hotel also comes with a swimming pool, and sauna. The staff were very polite and helpful. We will be going back.

Hope this helps other ceoliacs and other tourists.

Room Tip: pay the extra for the four poster bed, and lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you for your review and for recognising the effort that our chef and his kitchen brigade made to cater for your dietary requirements. Nowadays an increasing number of guests do appear to need more rigorous dietary controls and we try very hard to ensure that we are able to meet these needs whenever we can.so as to ensure that all our guests can enjoy the full scope of the dishes on offer. Glad to see you will be coming back and look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    324
    114
    47
    21
See reviews for
119
994
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
mansfield
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Don't let the sharp uphill curves put you off, it's the location that gives the superb views. Last day we saw a rainbow across the lake.....Reception could be a little sharper, bar prices could be a little lower but everything else was superb. Not many places could do the breakfasts and evening meals as good as Hillthwaite. Excellent staff means excellent service. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are more expensive - up to you if they're worth it as you can get the views fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gramps01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, as I said to a previous reviewer our bar prices are in line with those in the locality but we will continue to monitor these but will always ensure that the guest is getting value for money. Not quite sure what you mean by reception being a little sharper but we desperately try to provide an efficient and warm welcome to every guest. However, putting the negatives aside thank you for your kind comments about the food and staff, these are welcomed by all concerned, together with the superb views our staff continue to be our greatest asset and thank you for recognising this. Pleased to see that you will be back and look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport Uk
Level Contributor
129 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed on the 2 night package and for the price we paid thought it was good value.All the staff were friendly and well trained,room was clean if a little cramped,and the food was good.The bar was a bit over priced even for the lake district,and the hotel is up a steepish hill.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malcno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you for your to the point review, sorry if you felt the bar was pricey but we keep monitoring prices and we don't feel that we are at the top end of the price range, but you have to agree that the views from the top of that steepish hill are well worth the effort. I have passed on your kind comments about the staff and the food and they were very much appreciated-thank you hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We had a lovely break here, the staff were friendly but not intrusive and the restaurant/bar staff were spot on. The room was very clean and relaxing, my only gripe was that the bed was essentially 2 pushed together and you could really feel the join....which meant you migrated to separate ends of the bed, not ideal on a romantic trip away!
Thoroughly enjoyed the food and relaxing in the lounges/conservatory on an evening. Stayed for 2 days and used the pool/sauna on both days. Yes you have to wait 20 minutes for the sauna to heat up but I would prefer that than it be wasting energy and on all day if not being used. The pool was warm and we spent a 20 minutes swimming so the wait was not a concern to me. The people who own/manage this hotel clearly care about the guests enjoying themselves and I for one would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSTA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you for your nice review. Sorry about the bed, especially if it spoilt the romantic occasion you were hoping for! Glad you enjoyed the food and I have passed onto the staff your kind comments about them. We sometimes question whether economically the pool area is worth all the expense of maintaining but our guests overwhelmingly convince us that it is despite the inadequacies that some reviewers have highlighted, but thank you for recognising the reason we do not leave the steam and sauna on all day and most of our guests agree with our procedure for the use of these facilities. Thank you, yes we do care passionately that our guests enjoy themselves whilst staying with us, we accept that, like most hotels, we do not get it right all the time but I can assure you that its not through lack of effort that we occasionally fail to reach our own high standards. I am pleased to read that you would love to return and I look forward to welcoming back to the Hillthwaite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We liked this hotel, it feels like a treat and is clean and comfortable, with an attractive conservatory and lounge to sit in and read or have a glass of wine/coffee. Our room was next to the pool and this was ok (the pool is small and there isn't constant traffic of people going past the room to get there). Bed was comfortable, plenty of pillows and cushions. The TV was a good size which we appreciated. Tea and coffee facilities ok, though I'd have appreciated a couple of herbal teas thrown into the bog standard selection and I would have liked a full-size kettle (a perpetual gripe as travel kettle size isn't enough!). The bathroom was fine and we were pleased to have a bath as well as a shower. The fan didn't seem to work but that was the only functional blip.
We had a couple of issues: one was that the food experience in the restaurant was mixed. Breakfast was fine. Good to have fresh fruit (fruist salad style) and plenty of choices if you wanted cooked breakfast.. Supper was a bit disappointing. My friend had an caramelized onion tart as a main dish which was really sugary-sweet and he hated it. I had a taste and I could sympathise: it was way too sweet for a savoury dish. My main was much nicer and the puddings were good. I thought the wine list was a bit unimaginative, but ok. So, a mixed experience. The only other issue is a tricky one to resolve. The small reception and office is open and right next to a small bar and seating area. This means that if you choose to sit here, you will overhear conversations between staff - this can't be avoided! And also you can hear phone conversations. On two occasions when we were in the bar, a gentleman working there was having a bit of an argument with a supplier on the phone. It went on for quite a while and I found it a bit irritating and intrusive. On another occasion my friend was sitting waiting for me and he overheard a bit of a tirade by a staff member about a guest who had just made a phone booking. This wasn't very complimentary and we both felt this was unfortunate and rather unprofessional. It's a difficulty of space and privacy because of the proximity of the office and reception. We didn't sit in that area again. So my advice would be, buy your drink at the bar and take it to the lounge (which is attractive and comfortable with nice views) or the conservatory. Other than that, overall we liked the place quite a bit and we would return.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the car park are less desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stercks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your constructive comments which we have noted, sorry if our busy reception area intruded upon your stay, as I said recently to another reviewer, we are presently working on a redesign of the whole area, as we are only too aware that it is virtually impossible to avoid guests having to listen to telephone calls. Whilst we now take an increasing number of online reservations the vast majority of our guestsstill want to discuss their reservation with a human being. However I apologise if this detracted from your enjoyment.

I have passed your comments about the food onto our Chef who does appreciate feed back about all the dishes he offers and endeavours to incorporate useful suggestions from guests in his menu planning.

Despite the functional blips you experienced I am happy to see that on the whole you liked the hotel and look forward to you making a return visit when I hope we will have been able to mollify some of the less attractive aspects of your previous visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We had a lovely break in Windermere staying at the Hillthwaite on a mid-week break. The food was excellent throughout and we enjoyed marvellous views over the Lake while we dined. Only a very small bar which was rather crowded and cramped pre dinner drinks. Very clean, and a decent enough swimming pool for a small hotel. We stayed in a suite in the Annex and, again had a stunning view over the Lake. Handily site mid Lakes, we are looking forward to revisiting with American friends in the Autumn.

Room Tip: Try for a suite in the Annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank podolipotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thanks for you kind review. Glad your enjoyed the food and views-two of our best assets. We are looking to redesign the bar area in the future to give our guests more space to relax in.
Thank you for mentioning the pool we know we can't compete with the luxurious leisure facilities elsewhere but it is on site and our guests very much appreciate the fact they don't have to leave the premises to enjoy our 'homely' leisure factilities. Great to hear you are planning a return visit and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Its been a couple of years since our previous visit so we were a little apprehensive that the second visit would live up to the first,,, we were not dissapointed... this time we stay'd in the annex room 241 which was just lovely.. nice room with a balcony to sit and soak up the amazing views.. we had our dog with us so this room was ideal to walk him without disturbing guests...the food is still excellent as is the service.. we travelled with a groupon deal so will be keeping an eye out for another..Windermere is just a short walk or drive in rain ..lovely spot lovely hotel....

Room Tip: if in the annex room 241 has a small balcony with the amazing views..( bathroom was a little dated b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaperry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
It really is so satisfying for us all when guests return and find that the Hillthwaite is still maintaining the standards experienced previously. Irrespective of the package or offer our guests avail themselves of we endeavour to ensure that they all receive the same warm welcome, excellent food and great service.

Glad you liked room 241 and I can assure you that the bathroom is on our list for refurbishment just as soon as funds allow. Despite our elevated position most of our guests comment on the hotel's very convenient location which is enhanced by the stunning views and relaxed atmosphere.

Thank you hope you will come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing