We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place for a romantic getaway”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I was taken here by my partner as a surprise for my birthday and what a fantastic hotel. We stayed as part of the living social package. On arrival we were greeted by some really lovely staff who were happy to go out of there way to help you, the hotel decor is gorgeous a country feel with a modern twist. There were various rooms you could relax in, on our first day we stay in the conservatory with tea and scones over looking the mountains, there was plenty of games and magazines about to keep you amused. The dinner on our first night was just fantastic, we started with a pre drink with olives and nuts in the bar and then we were taken not the lovely airy dining room for a fantastic dinner I fully recommend the duck and the chocolate moose, out of this world!! Breakfast was also lovely, a buffet and a choice of hot breakfast including eggs benedict which was so tasty!! Our bedroom was clean and bright and the bed was just lovely! I would fully recomend this hotel, although it was a little steep up the hill which for us is fine but may be a struggle for anyone less able.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and positive review. We do try and mix the traditional with the new as far as our decor is concerned, not to everyone's liking but certainly appreciated by the vast majority of our guests. This is the fourth occasion we have partnered Living Social with one of our value for money packages and the latest one has certainly been very popular and well received and the feed back so far has been excellent. Glad you enjoyed the food, thank you for mentioning our Lakeland breakfast, which is normally the last meal our guests remember our food by, so it is treated by our chef with just as much importance as his fantastic-your words-dinners.Nice of you to also mention the cleanliness of the bedroom our hardworking housekeepers are sometimes forgotten with the all the razzmatazz of the restaurant but they are a vital component of the Hillthwaite experience. We recognise that the hotel's elevated location does sometimes present a challenge to some of our food soldiers, but usually the thought of a long cool drink and the fantastic views at the end of it spurs them on!
I hope you will revisit us again for another of your special occasions and look forward to welcoming you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,078 - 1,084 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed on a Fri and Sat on their 2 night deal. All I can say is WOW. The location of the hotel is perfect, overlooking Lake Windemere and a short walk into Windemere or Bowness. The terrace overlooks the Lake as does the dining room and the lounge. We upgraded to a lake view room which had an amazing view of the lake. The room wasnt huge but was very nice and clean with all the facilities. The staff were very helpful and polite. The food was absolutely fantastic, we have eaten in some lovely places but this was some of the best food we have ever had. we had lamb on the first night and it was the best, so tender. We enjoyed it so much that we chose to eat there on the second night. Breakfast too is amazing. Pool and sauna were lovely, warm and clean. Highly recommedned. Cant wait to return. Please go if you get the chamnce, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Here we go again more plaudits for the Hillthwaite's faboulous three! The food, the staff and of course last but not least the amazing views. Thank you so much for once again highlighting the hotel's three greatest assets-where would we be without them? I have passed on your kind comments about the food and staff and it is difficult to put into words just how much they are appreciated, the hospitality industry is well known for challengingly long hours but when we read a review like yours it gives us all a great lift and puts a spring back into all our steps -thank you so much look forward to welcoming you back to the Hillthwaite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Wooow. What a great place, with great gardens, great rooms, great staff and a superb view.. The rooms are very spacious and very clean and tidy, with great views looking over a colourful garden, beyond the lush gardens lies lake windermere.. SUPERB. Not forgetting the great swimming pool and steamroom.. WELL WORTH A STAY

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonnojd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

I have to try and stay objective but wooow what a great review, our staff have received so many wonderful comments from Trip Advisor reviewers recently that I'm getting worried one of our competitors will try an poach them from us. Thank you for also mentioning the gardens, in the last two or three years we have invested heavily in trying to produce some of their former glory reputably created by the celebrated local garden designer Thomas Mawson. I hope you will return to the Hillthwaite next time you visit our beautiful part of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We had the best time over bank holiday Monday. Lovely staff, amazing views and wonderful food. The staff couldn't do enough for us from the moment we checked in till the moment we check out. We stayed in a beautifully furnished room that overlooked the lake and enjoyed the swimming pool and steam room before an excellent 3 course meal. A great night.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallykateb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Thanks for your review glad you enjoyed your stay at Bank Holiday with us. Windermere and Bowness can sometimes get a bit hectic over Bank Holidays but the Hillthwaite is a little haven of peace set away from all the hustle and bustle that William Wordsworth was so desperate to discourage. Our guests tell us how much they enjoy being able to return to the hotel for a swim or to soak up late afternoon or early evenings sunshine with a glass of something on our terrace whilst waiting for that host of golden daffodils to appear-sorry waxing lirical now. Hope you will come and spend another great night with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Had a two-night stay here on a good deal that included breakfast and one dinner. The food was so good we eat in on the second night too. Good location, good views with very friendly and helpful staff throughout.

Next time we visit Windermere we’ll be booking in here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillF2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Thank you for your kind review, your comments sum up in a nutshell just exactly what the Hillthwaite is all about succinct and to the point -an advertiser's dream. Do try and come back again it will still all be there waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed at the hotel on 3 occasions now and will probably return later in the year. The hotel staff are very friendly and only to happy to help visitors. Is in an ideal quiet spot just outside the busy resort of Bowness but only a steady 15 minute walk down to the lake. The hotel has a small swimming pool which is ok for a cool dip but not ideal for serious swimming. it also has sauna and steam room which are switched on at the request of the guests.
The small bar and lounges are very comfortable, one lounge and the dining room have excellent views of lake Windermere and the surrounding hills. The 5 course evening meals are of a very high standard. We chose to eat at the hotel on both nights on our last visit. The first nights meal was in with the deal that we booked and we received £10 vouchers towards the meal on the second night which made it very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanandtracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

We've had so many good Trip Advisor reviews recently that I'm running out of suitable responses to the kind and positive comments such as yours that we are increasingly receiving. However, in common with so many previous reviewers you once again highlight our three great assets our food, staff and the stunning views across Windermere to the iconic fells beyond, none of which I can assure you are we complacent about. These days when there are so many poor examples of customer service I feel very proud when our staff continue to get wonderful accolades for their friendliness and helpfulness. At a time when our participation in the EU is being questioned all I can say is that the young people we have employed from Eastern Europe have proved to be very hard working, pleasant and willing to give service and without them the Hospitality industry in the Lake District would be in a sorry state. Whoops sorry for using my response to your review to 'soap box'. Anyway hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Hillthwaite in the future perhaps with another one of our great value for money deals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed on a Groupon 2 night package. Room 12 was spacious with a comfortable king size bed and a good view of the lake. The dinner which was included in the package was good - but our enjoyment was spoiled by the banging of the kitchen door every time a waiter went through or came out of the kitchen. We did mention this at reception when we checked out so I hope that this has been put right. It was very pleasant sitting in the conservatory, watching the sun go down over the lake. Overall, a good experience and we would return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cymru21153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Thank you for the review sorry about the kitchen door - a job for the maintenance department obviously. Like many hotels we offer a number of great value packages, and we try to ensure that all of these include quality accommodation, food, service and some little extras to give the guest a real value for money experience and the vast majority of our guests feel that we manage to achieve just that. The Hillthwaite sunsets are indeed becoming quite legendary, unfortunately this is one thing we can't control -I only wish we could. Glad you would return when I hope the sun will be shine on your Lakeland holiday once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,101 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £104 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing