We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place with all the right touches”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here via a 'Groupon' deal, which provided us the opportunity to review the hotel. The decor and quality of the is to a very high standard. The food is fantastic!!!! The staff were especially helpful and 'down to earth' for a quality hotel.
The hotel offers sauna and pool facilities which were very clean and accessible. We were greeted with warm scones and fresh coffee, then sparkling wine on ice in the 'cosy double' room which was perfect for our stay. Would definitely stay again!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms to a high standard
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyson2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you are right the homemade scones are lovely especially with jam and cream! I will pass your comments to the staff as we aim to offer a professional but friendly service and I am glad that we managed to achieve this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,471)
There are newer reviews for Hillthwaite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

928 - 934 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

We booked this hotel through Living Social, what a great deal but after staying there we will be booking direct with the hotel. It is one of the best places I have ever stayed at, the food is delicious and the rooms very comfortable. Fantastic views and great location. Cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: We would like to stay in the main hotel next time to make sure we have the fantastic views to look a...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zac017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Wow what a title!! Thank you so much for your great review. It is always worth booking direct with us as we offer some amazing deals throughout the year. I hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

A little gem. Hotel location perfect, staff extremely friendly and very helpful. We stayed with the living social deal and was pleasantly surprised coffee and cream scones in the afternoon were lovely, we had our bottle of prosecco with the meal. The four course meal was absolutely outstanding. We will definitely be booking this hotel again in the near future.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jshawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your review and the lovely pictures which you attached. I am so pleased you enjoy your stay with us and I hope that you visit us again soon. You can also book direct as we usually have offers throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife and I had an overnight stay with her sister and her husband. From the moment of our arrival to when we left our experience of the staff, the facilities and our rooms was superb. We were upgraded so our rooms had a fantastic view of the lake and the mountains. The rooms were recently decorated with a luxurious feel, very comfortable furnishings and lots of nice touches. Our bathroom matched the luxury of the bedroom with a Jacuzzi, a separate shower and a lot of space.
We enjoyed a swim in the pool with its sauna and warm room and relaxed in front of an open fire in the lounge, with the bay window overlooking the great view. There is a second lounge in the reception area and a cozy conservatory where we enjoyed a cream tea on our second day.
The four course meal with coffee and petit fours (some establishments count this as a course) was wonderful with a wide menu to choose from; the quality of the food and the attentive service could not be bettered. The assiette de chocolate dessert is to die for!! We liked having our own table for both dinner and breakfast which was as good as our evening meal.
The complimentary bottles of Prosecco as we left was a lovely touch.
My only reservation over giving such a good review is that others will discover this Lakeland gem and it will be booked up next time we want to go!
A tip - if you arrive and the parking appears to be full continue to the end of the parking area, where the drive swings sharply to the left, up the slope, and where there are more parking spaces

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to a room with a lake view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank probinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your thorough review I couldn't have put it better myself and it is true the views are to die for. I would recommend an upgrade just to capture that at sunrise and sunset. Beautiful! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the food and the staff looked after you too. We pride ourselves on offering a 'homely' friendly atmosphere and I am so pleased we achieved this. I hope you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Saw deal on travelzoo but booked direct with hotel. Lovely room upgraded to classic zip room , really pleased with it & we are quite fussy! A bottle of prossecco was on ice in our room when we arrived and we were given a voucher to have tea or coffee &scones during our stay.
Hotel is located halfway between Bowness Bay & Windermere village so only a 10/15 minute walk to either.
Included in our package was a 4course meal with canapés before &petit fours &coffee after.Lovely dining room with beautiful views , friendly staff and absolutely delicious food with lots of choice Superb!!
All in all we loved our stay at this hotel and we will be returning in the New Year for two nights instead of one this time!

Room Tip: We didn't have a lake view room but were quite happy with our classic zip room. If you want view...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your excellent review and for your good comments. I look forward to seeing you again on New Year and I am so pleased that you have decided to stay a little bit longer this time just to appreciate the beauty of surrounding area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had a lovely stay at Hillthwaite Hotel, upgrading the room for our anniversary stay to premier room 16, the room and views were lovely, although the decor could be updated. The food was also very good. The only issue we had was clerical errors, we called before we set off and paid the bill in full, after already paying for the Living Social Voucher, on checking out we got yet another bill for B & B after already paying, we paid as we had not brought e mail confirmation, thinking they would reimburse us, they are now stating (after pushing for them to respond) that the bill is correct and we actually owe them another £54 making our 2 night stay £468. Not happy at all with comunication from the Hotel or what was supposed to be a reasonably priced offer. Not clear or concise prices. Sorry Hillwaite but these errors have really taken the pleasure away from our stay with you

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineF777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Oh dear! I think that there has been a misunderstanding. It is unfair to say that our prices weren't clear or concise as its stated on your email confirmation EXTRA TO PAY DIRECT to the hotel on your booking. I do not want to go into the details of this review as I feel that your comments were unfounded and as far as I am concerned this issue has now been dealt with. I am also presuming when you sent me an email stating that you will take it further you meant this by posting this unfair review on trip advisor. It is apparent that you did not understand the bill or the rates in which we offer. Thank you for the good review of the food and the staff its such a shame that the rest of the review is just so inaccurate and full of flaws.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We wanted somewhere in the lakes for a short break of 2 nights with friends of ours. Both parties had stayed here previously so decided that we would re-visit.
Booked direct with the hotel & had a better deal on the Winter warmer offer than some other sites.

Room - Was ver clean , bright modern bathroom. It was cold out , & the hotel appear to keep the heating available 24 hours so you would never be cold in your room or general areas of the hotel.

Lounges- 3 lounges to sit & relax in. Lots of games in each so you wont get bored.
olives & nuts available to help yourself with pre dinner drinks.

Dining/ food - Large spacious dining room split into 3 areas. Lots of room between tables. You are allocated a table for your stay b'Fast or dinner. The food was very very good. If you check out the pics on their web site then that represents the presentation. Loved the 3 apple dessert of Apple Crumble/Apple creme Brulle/ Apple sorbet.

Staff- Very helpfull / friendly & chatty

Overall - really happy with our time spent here.
You can easily walk down the hill & then left or right for Bowness or Winderemere , so spot on location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomHaydock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your excellent review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again in the future........hopefully, it won't be another 8 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
439 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £128 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing