We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillthwaite
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$226
US$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$176
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Windermere Manor Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House(Windermere)
US$542
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamplighter(Windermere)
US$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
US$224
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,545)
Filter reviews
1,546 results
Traveller rating
961
368
133
57
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
961
368
133
57
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and steam roomsconescourse mealclassic roomsmall poolon arrivallovely hotelafternoon teabay windowhigh standardlake districtmy partnerbooked this hotelcream tearestaurant staffbreakfast and dinnershort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
981 - 986 of 1,546 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A romantic night away, the hotel lived up to all expectations. Room spacious and spotlessly clean, fantastic huge comfortable bed. Service from staff was first class and the food was amazingly presented and tasted just as good. Will definitely be coming back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayPH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your five star review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your weekend with us and I hope to see you again in the future. Thank you also for the lovely title I couldn't put it better myself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Wow, stunning hotel, amazing food, wonderfully friendly and helpful staff FINALLY.

After staying in a hotel in Kendal that was slightly disappointing, this hotel ended our 3 night child free break on a huge high.

We arrived quiet early (around 1:30) as we travelled by train/bus, once we got to the hotel, up the steep hill. We (2 beetroot coloured guests) asked if we may use the spa facilities whilst we waited for the checking in time, not a problem what's so ever, we were passed a few towels and shown the way, swimming pool to cool us down, steam room and sauna to totally wash away the journey.
Perfect start. We came out looking a lot more human and refreshed. Our room was ready a little early and we was taken up (which is always a nice touch and what we would of expected).
The room was small and stunning, no fault could be found, our room didn't have a room number on as they were just decorating (obviously listening to he reviews, how refreshing eh?), we didn't care, made it less like a hotel to be honest.
We then went down and had our FREE scone and hot drink, we waited 20mins as these were freshly made and boy was we happy we did, these scones were amazing and just what we needed before tripping out in the rain for a walk to the lake.
We returned a few hrs later, took advantage of our jacuzzi in our room, before going to the restaurant for our 4 course dinner.
The meal was outstanding, such a refreshing change to be in a hotel where the chefs are obviously "chefs" who love to cook and impress their diners, and boy they did. We expected small portions but not at all, we requested our dessert and coffees to be taken to our room and of courses that wasn't a problem.
Perfect night in a very comfy huge bed, breakfast was again perfect. Could recommend the Eggs Benedict.
We checked out at 11am and we indulged in yet another spa hour, whilst we waited for our train.
Thank you to all the staff and we will be booking again as soon as Nannan has recovered from this babysitting weekend. X

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debjohnSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your five star review and I am so happy that you enjoyed the last day of your holiday with us. Our chefs do enjoy their jobs and creating dishes which our customers enjoy on a daily basis. Its also nice to know that you used the excellent public transport links to get to us as protecting the environment is very important to all the staff. I hope that you stay with us again in the future after Nanna has recovered from her babysitting duties....maybe its her turn to relax with a Hillthwaite weekend away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

reviewed menu online approx. £13.95 main, when we arrived the menu in room was different then was different again in restaurant and considerably more expensive and very arty i.e. more style less filling! very minimal serving total cost for two mains + desert + a beer and a white wine £49.20

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobsleigher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your review but we are by no means misleading as you stated in your title. The menu in the bedrooms are our 'Simply' menus which is the bar meal menu. Our menus change daily in the restaurant and the menu on the website is a sample menu to show some of our guests what kind of food we offer. The prices stated are correct (£13.95 main course £5.85 Dessert) and reasonable. Of course, when you add your beer and a large 250ml wine then this always add to your overall bill. This is a very reasonable price to pay when you take into account the excellent quality of our food which so many people comment on. However, we could have recommended a local pub for a cheaper alternative which may have suited you more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Lovely hotel, lovely staff and lovely food!

Beautiful hotel with beautiful grounds and amazing views- will most definitely return! We only stayed for one night but wish we had booked another!

Will highly recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vancey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your great review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay albeit a short one. I hope to see you again for a longer break in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I surprised my other half with a night away here to celebrate his 33 rd birthday. We arrived at 3pm which is check in time we made a reservation for dinner and where given tokens for our afternoon tea and then taken to our room promptly.

U had got the dinner, bed and breakfast deal advertised on groupon. I had Asked for a room with a view but was told there where none left so paid for one without a view. However on arrival I was thrilled to be taken to a lovely view of lake Windermere! Was perfect.

After settling in we went down to the gorgeous conservatory and ordered our afternoon tea.. There was a little wait for this as it was quite busy as a lot of people where checking in. The tea and scones were delicious.

We then returned to the room and enjoyed our chilled bottle of prosecco and a jacuzzi bath before dinner.

The dinner and service was impeccable.. We both agreed the food was close to the best we have had such a pleasant and sophisticated atmosphere. We decided to pay the surplus and order the steak which lived up to what I has read.. Certainly the best I have ever had.

To say we where satisfied is an understatement. We will definitely be booking around Xmas and new year again next year.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Beccy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your excellent review and I am glad that you appreciated the upgrade that we gave you after a cancellation. Your comments about the delicious food and the service of the staff is certainly appreciated and I hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews