We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff and excellent food”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and excellent food”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a one night break at this lovely hotel. Staff were great attentive and helpful and made you feel at home. Loved the open fires and freshly baked scones. Had a great deal with groupon, proseco on ice in the room on arrival. Evening meal was excellent and breakfast good too. Would highly recommend for a weekend away, could not fault the place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HannahCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Its reviews like yours that make the staff proud of what they do. Glad you liked the scones especially when they are straight from the oven. Very moreish!! Hopefully, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    337
    117
    53
    24
See reviews for
125
1,036
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
shipley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was our 2nd visit this time we took some friend's with us.
You wonder if it can meet up to what you remember and hope your friends enjoy they stay as much as you did first time.
Well as always Hillthwaite house didn't fail to impress, right from when we firsted walked through the door.
Great rooms 35 and 36 WOW what a view and so tastely furnished, then down for homemade tea and scones, a walk down to Bowness lakes and shops.
After a lovely shower off for dinner you know what I am gonna say (WOW).
I cook myself and food like that is no mean feat.
Next morning a swim, sauna and off to breakfast loads of choice with local produce.
All though our visit the four of us were made to feel at home by the friendly and funny staff.
Value for money, great location., five star food.
We will be visiting many times more thanks all at Hillthwaite house.

Room Tip: Rooms 35 36 were classic rooms package both were different interiors and very nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topcat1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your great comments especially in relation to the staff. Its nice that you felt at home and that your friends enjoyed themselves too. I look forward to seeing you all again soon. Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a 1 night stay which was an offer we found in the internet. We were delighted with the standard of the accommodation, service and catering. While our room was fairly small, it was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. We arrived to find a bottle of chilled prosecco awaiting us in our room. The afternoon tea was delightful and we both found the standard of both the evening meal and breakfast exceptional. We would love to come and stay again and would highly recommend hillthwaite house to our friends.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your excellent review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us. I am pleased you appreciated the prosecco and the scones and I hope to see you again for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We visited the Hillthwaite Hall Hotel in February. The hotel was good with a welcoming feel and the standard of the food was superb. A real plus point for the hotel. However, our room felt a little dated and we sensed that there may have previously been a dog in our bedroom as the smell wasn't particularly pleasant and my husband found some dog hairs on one of the cushions. Not great when he is an asthmatic! They have clearly invested some money in updating the bathrooms, but just a little more TLC would have been needed in our bedroom. All in all a great stay and very impressed by the food. Just a shame that the room let us down a little bit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schughes2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your good review and especially for the constructive comments about the room. Plans are in the pipeline to refurbish the rooms as soon as possible but I am so pleased that you enjoyed the food and I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lancashire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Left to our own devices on our first visit here for a January sunday lunch. No offer to take coats or a drink whilst we waited to be given the menu to peruse in a sitting room with lake views. Eventually shown through to window table in light and airy dining room with stunning vista. Mediocre starter followed by raw/ inedible roast beef which we promptly sent back, as did 2 or 3 other parties of diners. Same beef was returned from the kitchen but little better - tough, tasteless and a very apologetic waiter. Pudding of Lemon Posset was somewhat reminiscent of a product I have previously bought at Booths Supermarket in Windermere. The chef appeared at the end of the meal to explain that the beef had been 'slow cooked' in warm bath over 24 hours and apologised for the lack of quality. Oh dear, personally I have never 'gone wrong' with a decent top side/ top rump or roast rib on the bone for a traditional roast dinner at home!! Manager reduced the bill as with another customer paying bill. I would seriously

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your review and sincerely apologise that we did not meet expectations when you visited us in January. I was very disappointed to read the review as providing guests with the best hospitality and service has always been at the heart of everything we do at Hillthwaite. I will certainly investigate this matter thoroughly and speak to the manager on duty at the time why this unfortunate incident did occur. This is truly unacceptable. If you do come back to the Restaurant I would love to have the opportunity to speak to you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again and wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We booked a two night break with dinner on the first night included and it was so enjoyable we booked the dinner on the second night. Its such a warm and welcoming hotel . All the staff are so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Wished we could have booked a room with Lake views because they were stunning. However our bedroom was very comfortable. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIANE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad that you appreciated the views especially at this time of year. I will pass your comments to the chef and I am sure that he will be pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We visited for two nights on the hotels winter warmer deal. The decor is new, modern and cosy. Views from the lounge and restaurant of snow topped fells and the lake are wondrous. But the best bit was the food, the six course evening meal with canapés, 4 substantial courses plus coffee and petit four made the stay. Breakfast was good too. All served very quickly by pleasant serving staff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stb91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and it just shows how the view from our windows can be beautiful at any time of the year. We are very lucky to be in the heart of such a wonderful place! With that our food complements the view and I am so pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality. It means so much to all the staff who work hard to ensure that you enjoy your time with us which you clearly did. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing