We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
derby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Having just returned from our second visit to the Lakes, I can honestly recommend this hotel for a short restful break. Credit to all of the waiting staff who did their upmost to make you feel welcome. Breakfast was worth waiting for, both hearty and wholesome. The choice of breakfasts was second to none. The four-course evening meal was worth more than the three star the hotel is credited with both in presentation and quality. The service at both meals was spot-on! My only minor criticism would be that we were given a "cosy double" bed, which was not a double but more of a three-quarter sized bed, and that the shower totally lacked any pressure. But, this has not deterred us from returning as soon as we can. All-in-all a very comfortable stay!

Room Tip: Rooms E15 and E16 are worth spending that little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuggsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the food with us. In the cosy double rooms we have a standard double bed (4'6) and we do not have any three quarter beds in the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    337
    117
    53
    24
See reviews for
125
1,034
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed last night on a DB+B basis. From the moment we arrived everything was 1st class. The room we stayed in(33) was excellent. Very clean with a large bathroom including a jacuzzi bath and separate shower. The view out of the window was lovely, looking over the lake and hills in the distance.
The evening meal was cooked to perfection. The steak was one of the best I've had for a long time. The other courses that my partner and I had were also faultless. There was a good selection of wines and local beers at the bar. Breakfast was also cooked really well and more then enough.

Cannot fault this hotel and will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you liked Room 33. Thank you for your lovely comments about the food especially breakfast as its an important part of anyone's stay. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We visited for one night and we couldn't have asked for better.
The service we received was 1st rate. Our 'cosy' room was more than cosy, with views over the mountains and lake. The food for our evening meal was delicious.
We would definitely come again and recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Forster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your great review and I hope that next time you are able to stay a little longer. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here 12th March 14 for two nights which were exceptional. I have been reading some comments on here and there are obviously some people that you will never please.
From the moment we arrived until we checked out the staff were very attentive and the atmosphere in the hotel was so calm and welcoming. The food was cooked and served to the highest standard.
Book in here you will not be disappointed, unless there is no pleasing!
And l forget the biscuit for Archie:)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your excellent review and for the lovely comments about the staff. Don't worry about the lack of a biscuit for Archie....he's currently on a diet as he is a very greedy Labrador!! I look forward to seeing you again hopefully for a little longer. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had a one night stay here, our room was really nice and also the bathroom, one thing let it down moldy blind on the window. The restaurant again a lovely room what I cannot understand is why they cannot get the food right. The food was terrible at the evening meal and breakfast, it is such a shame as I would return to this hotel if the food had been decent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review and I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the food which surprised me a little as we always receive fantastic feedback regarding this. Thank you for informing us about the blind which has since been changed. We obviously did not meet your expectations on this visit to which I can only apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful two night stay at this delightful hotel. Look out for room 16 which was quite sensational enjoying panoramic views over the surrounding area, Lake Windermere and the Langdale fells. The staff were very friendly and attentive and went the extra mile to ensure that we enjoyed our holiday. The whole dining experience was first class - great food, beautifully presented and served up by efficient and friendly staff. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Room 16 boasts amazing views across the lake and fells. Apparently room 15 is on a par with a privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your great review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your excellent comments regarding the staff and food. Room 16 is lovely and has some fantastic views towards the Langdales and Lake Windermere. I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Hillthwaite House Hotel exceeded our expectations in all areas: from the genuinely warm welcome, to the high standard of room, the crisp dining experience, and the relaxing pool & sauna, The staff seemed to sincerely care about their hotel and ensuring that we had a great experience with them. We certainly did. It almost seemed a shame to leave the hotel to experience the rest of what the Lake District has to offer.

Room Tip: Our room (34) on the top floor seemed recently refurbished and was very quiet; though two flights of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicXK916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and reluctantly ventured out in to the beautiful scenery that the Lake District offers. We genuinely care about our guests and am I glad you recognised this. Thank you again and I hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing