We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
southwest
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Quite disappointing as a Hotel, expensive for what it is,first night was great the service in the restaurant was excellent even though they were very busy,hoever this changed on the second and third night once we had complained that the shower screen leaked all over the bathroom floor every time we used it!

Room Tip: There are plenty of other Hotels in the Area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfisherblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We have now fixed the shower screen and apologise for the lack of service in the restaurant on your remaining two nights. This is indeed totally unacceptable and we have spoken to the restaurant manager regarding this matter. I do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    339
    117
    53
    24
See reviews for
125
1,039
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon 10years ago and then again in June this year, the hotel has had some refurbishment, we had a gorgeous room with a lake view, it had a large comfy bed and corner jacuzzi and separate shower cubicle, settee in front of the window and large tv. Jade on reception was really friendly and helpful, we had a window seat in the restaurant, food was fab, the main reason we returned here because the food was fab 10 years ago aswell!! Overall excellent stay

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy2hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Jade is also delighted by your good comments which I am sure she will tell us about over the next few weeks!! We look forward to welcoming you back to Hillthwaite soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

our stay at this hotel was very pleasant and the staff where very helpful . the room ( No 11 ) was perfect and had a lovely view of the lake.After the evening meal sitting on the terrace with our coffee was very relaxing and peaceful .the dinner menu was well thought out and the food was very well presented .the bed was very comfortable .the bathroom had a spa bath which was very relaxing after a long day walking in the hills and around the lake .could not have wished for a better hotel to spend my birthday and our 36 th wedding anniversary. thanks to everyone there for a great break.

Room Tip: No 11 was great and you could see the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick504160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your great review and we are so pleased that you choose to spend your wedding anniversary with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night break at the hotel which incorporated a lake view room, evening meal with one bottle of free wine, tea and scones on arrival and two breakfasts.

Our room was a tad on the small side but perfectly acceptable, it was very clean with a big comfy bed. Our bathroom benefitted from a Jacuzzi bath which was very nice and the bedroom itself looked out over Lake Windermere (Room 29).

The hotel itself is very traditional with a conservatory, living room and reception with bar and also another lounge with beautiful views. Its well maintained and the outside terrace and gardens are perfect for watching the stunning sunsets out over Langdale and beyond.

We found the food to be the star of the show, the evening meals not only tasted superb but were also presented in a lovely manner, breakfast was also very good. A special mention to the dining room staff who seemed mainly Europeans, they were efficient and worked hard. I was left with the impression that maybe the staff are pushed a little to hard because at times there seemed to be an excessive wait between food courses, I don't know if this is due to a lack of staff in the kitchen or actually out in the dining room itself. However that was our only gripe in what was a very pleasant stay at the Hillthwaite House Hotel. Its well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReedRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your good review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I apologise for the wait in between courses which I will of course mention to all the restaurant and kitchen team. We will improve on this as this is unacceptable. Thank you for mentioning the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the 3rd and 4th June and I believe it best to summarise our views by reproducing the letter I subsequently wrote to the hotel:
Dear Sir,

As a treat for my 75th birthday, my daughter booked me and my wife, plus herself and her husband, a two day stay in your hotel on the nights of the 3rd and 4th of June.. They stayed in room 34 and we were given room 207 (Garden 2). She paid extra for 'superior' rooms as she wanted this treat to be special, and I must say that overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

From the start the staff were polite and helpful, particularly the restaurant staff, and the food outstanding. We also received complimentary bottles of wine and a cream tea, as part of the booking deal, which we enjoyed very much.

On the negative side, I have to say that I felt the room my wife and I stayed in (No 207 - Garden 2) not to be of the standard expected of a superior room. Although of a reasonable size, it was very gloomy with only one small window looking directly out into a bank of various plants and foliage, making it very dark. The wardrobe was pathetically small and about half of our clothes had to be left in our suitcase as they would not fit into it. There was a drawer missing in the sideboard and the mirror tucked away in the corner served no purpose as you could not access it. The room was, however, very clean with a comfortable bed and adequate tea making facilities.

The bathroom and bathroom linen were also clean and fresh but there are some faults with the bathroom which I would like to bring to your attention. The window is plain glass and next to the path which is at head level. I was standing by the toilet on one occasion when another guest walked passed and gazed up at me - luckily I was fully clothed at the time. I would suggest that the glass be changed to an obscure pattern to prevent any possible embarrassing incidents in the future.

The bathroom also needs some extra hooks and possibly another towel rail. With only one towel rail and nowhere to hang clothes or wet towels when you are using it, the only options are to go in naked or put your clothes on the floor. Certainly not acceptable in a 'superior' room. Because of the location of the bath/shower, you should also consider putting in a support handrail on the wall inside the bath area, as its very awkward to get in and out of the bath with the only support being the existing towel rail or radiator. Finally, the bathroom badly needs an extractor fan. After only one shower almost everything had to be wiped down with a towel as it dripped with condensation and made using the mirror to shave etc, impossible. Room 3, the one my daughter occupied, did have an extra towel rail and hooks behind the door, making it much more convenient for them to use.

However, I believe the negative points I mention need to be attended to, and that you should seriously consider whether room 207 be let in the future as a 'superior' room, which in my opinion, it certainly was not.
It is not my intention to make this a letter of complaint. As I said above, and despite the weather, we did enjoy our stay. The food was excellent, the staff friendly and chatty, with nothing appearing to be too much trouble.

I do hope you will consider this letter in the spirit with which it is intended.

Yours sincerely

I meant what I said in the my letter, and would have expected some form of acknowledgment from the hotel, but this has not been forthcoming. I wonder if any other patrons feel the same was as I do about this particular room, but the biggest disappointment was in not receiving any sort of comment or acknowledgement to what I felt were genuine concerns.
Pat Crouch

Room Tip: See my comments above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Firstly, thank you for your review and I can only apologise if you did not receive the response that was posted to you. We always reply to every guest's comments especially when it is regarding their stay. I do, however, have a feeling that you mixed up the room types as both of the rooms in which you stayed are classic rooms not superior rooms as you claim. All of our superior rooms have lake views. Your daughter may have upgraded from a cosy room to a classic on the offer which seems more likely. We have made some changes to the room in which you specified including a black out blind in the bathroom and hooks on the door. Thank you for the excellent comments about the staff I am sure they will appreciate it. Please don't hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss this further and I hope that we can welcome you back to Hillthwaite soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Wonderful Windermere hotel overlooking the fells on one side and the lake on the other. Spectacular views, very comfortable bed in large room, first class dining and friendly staff. We hired an electrically motored boat for 2 blissful hours and had a really great time. Later we visited the Beatrix Potter attraction, fascinating for both adults and children alike. We also drove down one side of Windermere lake, parked the car and walked downhill towards the end of the lake. Lots of tables and benches to sit and admire the views. Even the sudden downpour didn't spoil a superb day in this amazing Cumbria countryside.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking fells quiet and lovely views from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inkychorleywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
What a fantastic title! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and discovered some of the local attractions that Bowness has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guisbough
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The room dark and needs up dating overlooked a hedge and car park. The food poor veg cold and not cooked enough,, our seat in dining room right next to kitchen surrounded my cooking smells frying and vegetables followed by shout of service , which of course meant door opening and closing as staff went in and out hence constant kitchen smells. The dining room also looked tired and in need of re vamping. very disappointed. I will say that the majority of staff were very pleasant and gave good service

Room Tip: I hope that they have better luck than us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review and I was very disappointed to hear about your dining experience. Please rest assured that we will speak to our kitchen team and I apologise for the noise from the kitchen. It does not bode well for your overall dining experience. We are having a revamp of the dining area at the end of the year and am sure you will be happy with the changes we have in store. Thank you for your positive comment about the staff whom will certainly appreciate the kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
361 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing