We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place, great staff”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just spent two nights here with our dog, really great room at back of hotel so could take dog in separately and leave him in room without bothering other guests if he barked (he didn't, he was so tired after all the walks)! Fantastically helpful and friendly staff, good food, great restaurant, great pool and sauna for easing aching limbs, couldn't fault it. Will definitely return. Also really good wifi access.

Room Tip: With dogs garden rooms at back are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your great review and we are so pleased that you and your dog enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your excellent comments regarding the food and staff and look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Overall an excellent hotel perhaps a little let down by the food. First impressions were excellent. Nice friendly ambience and staff very happy to offer helpful advice. Our room ( number 15 ) was listed as luxury and I agree it lived up to the billing. The en suite was as nice as I have seen.
Given vouchers for complimentary afternoon tea and scones which was a lovely add on.
Came down for dinner as arranged at 8pm and here there were a few niggly points.There is a small desk where you are asked to wait to be seated but we stood for at least 3-4 minutes. I accept the staff were busy but this needs to be improved. It was obvious there was insufficient staff numbers to deal with a full dining room but despite this they were pleasant.
The next small thing was that the waiter poured wine for my wife who then noticed a fly in the glass - he said sorry and took the glass away but never offered to replace the glass or even offer a glass of house wine to make up for the lost glass from the bottle. A small point but important.I spoke to the manager ( Helen ) next morning who said she would have a word and suggested the bottle should have been replaced--I agree
Had to ask for bread rolls but as stated staff were busy. Starter was truly awful --Stilton Bavarois-- no taste despite stilton being a strong cheese. Soup course OK Cod as main course was really nice and cheese as final course was excellent.
Room excellent --nice temperature and a great nights sleep.
Breakfast fairly typical but well cooked and good service.
Allowed us to leave car in car park for several hours until leaving --a very nice touch
Staff excellent --very friendly and helpful --Helen especially so.
Overall would I return --YES but the food just has to be a bit tastier.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and get a superior or luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review and first of all, may I apologise for the problems that you experienced in the restaurant and I have spoken to our Restaurant Manager and have passed your comments on to our Head Chef regarding the food. Thank you for your feedback as without it we cannot improve. I am pleased that you loved Room 15 and I hope that we can welcome back to the Hillthwaite in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I booked this for me and my boyfriend off secret escapes. It was my first booking off this site therefore I was unsure.
On arrival I was pleasantly surprised to the quality of the finish and the feel of this hotel.
We stayed in room 15 and I couldn't say a bad word about it.

The food was very nice and of good portion sizes. The home made scones on arrival were incredible and defiantly a highlight!
After long walks in the lovely Lake District I looked forward to coming back to this hotel.
For a 3 star this hotel was a lovely find!!! Defiantly recommend!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carrianne635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for posting your review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its always difficult when you book a deal through a third party as you are never sure what you are going too get. I am glad we exceeded your expectations and I agree our homemade cream teas are scrumptious! We hope to welcome you back soon to Windermere and the Hillthwaite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Can’t be easy can it? Apart from all the other guests the staff needed to satisfy our family party with ages ranging from one to ninety, with several teenagers, and a dog. Apart from the dog we all visited the bar together, ate breakfasts and dinner together and wanted our cream teas together. It must have been a nightmare in the kitchens!
Almost full marks. It’s a great setting for a country house type hotel and the grounds, guest bed-rooms and reception rooms are very well maintained. My room and bathroom were spotless. Food was excellent, staff went ‘that extra mile’ and we all had a delightful weekend.
Thank you Manager and thank you all the staff too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orchardgrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased that all of your party enjoyed their stay with us. It must have been more difficult for you as the organiser making sure everyone was where they were supposed to be at the appropriate time! We look forward to seeing you again at the Hillthwaite with or without the rest of the brood!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Tucked away up a steep hill, so use the car to explore if that is a problem to you.
We went as two couples to celebrate a special birthday which worked very well for all of us. We were greeted with the offer of Afternoon Tea on the terrace which has a glorious view. Our rooms were in the newer annexe, and were actually ultra modern suites. Three TVs no less, counting the one over the bath! The bathroom was very luxurious: mood lighting over the free standing bath & a walk in shower too. The deal included a bottle of champagne chilling in each room and the ever helpful staff were happy to serve this as an aperitif, even swapping ours for a ready chilled one on the second night. The food was excellent at dinner. The complimentary refreshments in the room were varied and generous.

Room Tip: The views from the suites at the front are excellent. Hilarious addition of extra bedroom for the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jan43_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your great review. We appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you found the staff helpful and dinner excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back to HIllthwaite soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a 3 day stay in August. Our accommodation was in a Tendal Howe Suite. We were on a package deal which gave us breakfast and four-course dinner with coffee. We were also treated to welcome tea and homemade scones on arrival and a bottle of wine with dinner.

We can't speak highly enough of this hotel. The staff are the highlight. They could not be more friendly, helpful and courteous. Nothing was too much trouble for them and this makes a huge difference. The food is of the highest quality, well presented and the service is excellent.

Our refurbished suite was top quality with TV in lounge, bedroom and bathroom. The huge bed was very comfortable with lovely Egyptian cotton sheets (much appreciated by my wife!). The large bathroom has a big walk in shower with a tub and programmable colour downlighters (if you like that sort of thing!) The furnishings are high quality. The whole suite was beautifully clean.

There is separate parking outside the Tendal Howe Suites which is useful. There is a flight of steps to negotiate to the room but this is the Lake District and every upward step means a better view from the room!

A couple of minor niggles! The windows on one side of our suite were close to a covered pathway so there is no privacy. In our case this was on the bedroom and bathroom side so we had to keep the blinds down all day. Some form of net curtain would have been helpful to provide privacy without loss of natural light.

The hotel says that there is free wireless broadband provided but we found it almost impossible to use. At best we managed a very slow connection for a few hours each day. We're happy to live without broadband but if it says it's provided it should work better than this.

These minor issues apart, we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Many thanks for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MKR5845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Wow what a title!! Thank you so much for this great review and your feedback in relation to Tendal Howe. We will certainly look into the privacy 'aspect' for you. Please accept our apologies regarding the internet access we are working on a better more user friendly version. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff they always appreciate good comments and we look forward to welcoming you both back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights with a friend who has been seriously ill, so the choice of hotel for our holiday was important. We were not disappointed, the hotel was everything the brochure said and more- staff excellent, nothing was too much trouble. The scenery was everything you would expect. The food was to die for and so wonderfully presented. An ideal place for exploring the Lakes.

We plan to return.

Room Tip: Any room would be good, don't forget your swimming costume as there is an indoor pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for your 'brilliant' review. We really appreciate your feedback and we are so pleased that your friend enjoyed her time away also. I hope it helped her with her recuperation and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
470 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,084 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £131 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing