We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Had a lovely night at this hotel food was good breakfast and dinner both very nice staff lovely and very helpful, room a bit tired looking but clean. overall good value. Swimming pool small sauna and changing room clean. I would recommend.

Room Tip: I think if you are couples rooms are nicer my friend and I had single rooms so view not as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your review and we are so happy that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us. We like to think that we offer excellent value for money, good facilities as well as a friendly service so we are pleased that you felt the same. We look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    342
    120
    53
    24
See reviews for
127
1,052
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My partner and I finished our holiday in the Lake District by treating ourselves to a night at the Hillthwaite. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by a charming receptionist who showed us to our premier room and spent the rest of the evening in luxury.
The room was beautifully furnished, had wonderful views of the lakes and surrounding hills and the bathroom was spotless. We quickly got into our robes and headed downstairs for a dip in the pool and rest in the sauna before dinner. The evening meal was 5* standard and the waiters friendly and efficient.
I wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend to a friend. Thanks for a wonderful stay, we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
What a great title! We are so happy that you choose to finish off your holiday at the Hillthwaite and glad that you weren't disappointed. The premier rooms are lovely and the views are stunning. We look forward to seeing you both again next time you choose to visit the Lake District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Hotel came up to expectations. The superior room was first class with everything you could want in it. The view was beautiful. The dinner was succulent and the meat melted in your mouth. The staff were very helpful. The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained. We thoroughly enjoyed the tea and warm scones on arrival. All in all a very enjoyable mini break and we will certainly recommend it to others and also return again.

Room Tip: If you can go for a superior room although the cosy double is still adequate and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_kirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your short but sweet review. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

overnight dinner bed and breakfast deal with complimentary tea and scones on arrival.We were in room 24 a cosy double which it certainly was but perfectly adequate and comfortable.Bathroom was pristine and high spec with Bath House toiletries which I love.Lovely surroundings with beautiful views of the lake from the drawing room and dining room from the large bay windows.Food was of a high standard.The staff we encountered at reception and the bar area were very friendly and pleasant. The. Restaurant was very busy at dinner and there was a lengthy wait in the bar prior to being seated at our table.They did appear to be understaffed but this did not detract from our enjoyment of our meal but we did witness other guests complaining.Overall I felt. we had excellent value for money and would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countydownrose81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your break and found us good value. In relation to the restaurant, we apologise for the wait to be seated and have now introduced a new system along with new staff so that a guest's wait should be minimal. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hillthwaite when you are next in the Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have visited Hillthwaite House Hotel numerous times in the past and have just spent another week there. On our arrival we had been upgraded to room 241 the Wordsworth suite in the newly refurbished annex. It is a large room with a beautiful bathroom with a bath and superb walk in shower. The bathroom had a Hollywood style lit mirror accessed through an infrared style switch and a flat panel large colour tv with on screen touch buttons as well as a remote. My partner loved the coloured mood lighting, again operated by remote and loved relaxing in the bath with the lights cycling through all the different patterns. It was very disco like. There is also a balcony to sit outside and enjoy the views or read in the sun.
As usual the staff were brilliant especially Paval, Helen, Jade and the waiters and waitresses who attended to all of our needs and looked after my partners gluten free requirements.
The food was delicious and the wines were very nice and even though we spent most of our time walking we have come away heavier than when we arrived.
The hotel has some lovely views over Lake Windermere and you can see the Langdales and surrounding mountains.
We cannot wait until our next trip to the Lakes and will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windyclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
What a lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay again and glad you appreciated the upgrade to the Tendal Howe building. The bathroom lights can keep you entertained for hours! Thank you also for your kind words regarding the staff and we are always happy to cater for any special requirements. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is a lakeland beauty. Warm and friendly reception and staff,excellent dining experience and stunning views over Lake Windermere and lakeland hills.
Don't miss this treat and make sure you book in time as most people return again!!!

Room Tip: Lake views are stunning but all rooms are so comfortable and well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your excellent review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff really appreciate the positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is obviously going through a fairly major refurbishment programme & the work they have done is first rate. I booked a superior room through secret escapes and was lucky enough to be allocated room 15 which according to the receptionist if the best room in the house.

The room we stayed in was huge with a balcony that had stunning views of the lake, a bathroom with an amazing bath, mood lighting and a large walk in show that was more like a wet room. I've been fortunate to stay in some lovely hotels but this bedroom has to be one of the best I've stayed in.

The meal on the evening was very good, and although most of the staff were very attentive, the restaruant manager was a bit hard to pin down. This wouldn't normally have been a problem but apparently he was the only one allowed to take the orders! This meant that we had a 30 min wait until we were even served our drinks. This is something I've not come across before and seems a little Basil Faulty which is a shame as the staff we encountered were nothing like Manuel & I'm sure could be trusted enough to take an order.

The dinning room is also quite tired but I'm sure this is next on the list for refurbishment - and if the rest of the hotel is anything to go by I'm sure it'll be fantastic when completed.

All in all great value for money.

Room Tip: Pick room 15!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed Room 15. It certainly is something special! We have recently made some changes in the restaurant which we hope will improve your overall dining experience and yes, the restaurant is next on the list for refurbishment. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hillthwaite soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing