We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A golden gem in the Lake District”
Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We stayed between 4th and 10th October on a special offer of 5 nights for the price of 4 to include breakfast, afternoon tea and a 5 course dinner. We were very lucky with the weather as it only rained for one day.

The hotel was superb and much of this was down to the staff. Friendly but not too formal and everyone was so helpful.

We had some family over to join us one night for dinner and they too were equally impressed.

Highly recommended and we will return

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tazza2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,402 - 1,408 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2009

It's really difficult to get a room for one night only at the weekend in the Lakes, so we were over the moon when Hillthwaite House said they could accommodate us. Having checked the reviews before we left we were excited about our stay.

The Hotel is situated in a marvellous position with views across to the Hills and Lake Windermere. It benefits as well from being an easy walk into Windermere or to Bowness.

The room that we were allocated was in the annexe, actually a 70's build house within the grounds, which came as a little bit of a surprise as the main house itself is rather grand. It was roomy, with a leather sofa to snuggle into whilst watching the massive flatscreen TV and had an enormous bed. The bathroom was a disappointment though and is in need of some updating for this room to be lifted from comfortable to luxury as the Hotel is billed. Everything was absolutely spotless and very toasty, which was lovely on a chilly Autumn evening.

Where this Hotel excels is in its restaurant. The food was wonderful and the service exemplory. Each course delivered in a timely but unrushed pace, packed full of flavour and portioned ideally. Great care is given to the presentation of the food which was greatly appreciated. Breakfast would certainly set you up for a day yomping in the hills.

On closing we would return to Hillthwaite House but would choose to stay in the main house as I hear they have a four poster bed!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffybundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Hillthwaite House and we were pleasently surprised at the high standards of service. We had booked room 15 (highly recommend) great four poster and balcony with views over the lake and mountains. The two lounges were inviting with comfortable traditional style furnishings and even a log fire which gave a cosy atmosphere. The conservatory was pleasent to sit in and enjoy the complimentary afternoon tea.

The swimming pool although not large served our purpose and it was nice to have the choice of the sauna or steam room to relax after a hard days walking.

The choice for breakfast and dinner was very good and served by pleasent staff who had obviously been well trained in their role, being friendly but unintrusive in pleasent surroundings.

Externally there is an elevated terrace with seating overlooking the lake. The hotel is well placed between Windemere and Bowness. People with mobility problems may find difficulty walking up the steep drive to the hotel but the views are worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillandrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Stayed here for 3 days and was luxury and brilliant rooms , stayed with partner and 14 year old teenager . The food was brill quality but the choice was very sparing and anyone under 18 would not like the choice of food. Location could not be better dosent need explaining. But price was sky high for everything. Good stay but not the best !

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben26Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

The Hillthwaite is THE BEST hotel we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in a fair few down the years. The restaurant is simply beyond compare, the staff are ultra friendly and helpful, if you want to be well looked after with fantastic food, then this is the place to stay!!! Hey and get this ... if you want room service, they don't charge you extra. Afternoon tea and cake is in with the deal and doesn't cost you extra either. Overall, we are proud to say we are friends of Hillthwaite

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandTopDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

After spending many hours searching online for a B&B that would take a late checkin, we finally found this wonderful hotel. It was everything we were looking for and more. We are already looking at dates to book our return trip with friends. Tom greeted us weary travellers with a smile, offering to help with bags, and a couple of cold beers. Perfect. We normally prefer more modern/contempory hotels but this place just seemed to fit in with the Windermere area. The room was clean, the jets in the tub fantastic after a long day of walking. We slept better than we had in months. Other reviews commented on the decor being a bit out of date. The decor somehow works though. It fits with the style of the building and the Lake District. It felt a bit like going home.

The restaurant was fantastic....food better than we ever would have expected. The chef really did a fantastic job. Lots of staff on hand in the restaurant as well. The food was superb It really was. Next time I will bring nicer clothes for dinner as most of the guests were dressed a bit nicer than us (clean jeans, dressy top).

We forgot our bathing suits so we didn't use the pool...we'll remember them next time. There is a large binder with dozens of local walks you can take - easy to difficult. Pick the walks that interest you and they'll give you a photocopy.

Thanks for a fantastic weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ljanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Stayed here for three nites during the week. After reading some reviews on this website, I had cause for concern. But after staying here I think some people should anaylis themselves and not the hotel, because it is a perfect hotel, rooms are faultlessly clean and well maintained, food is excellent and service second to none, the staff couldnt do enough for you, it was clearly seen they were well groomed by the management to ensure the client were and felt looked after.
The pool, some might say is on the smaller size, but we found it too be grand. Its not like everyone swims 5km every morning anyway.

The hotel location might be off the beaten track a small bit, but we found it only took us literally 5 mins to walk to either Windermere Town Centre or Bowness, so we felt the hotel location was actually perfect for both.

Eating out, there is an Italian Restaurant in Bowness, down the end of the cobbled street, I forget the name, but if you enquire about it Im sure its well known because the food and service is 5 star.
The garlic bread came out looking like a 12 inch pizza dripping in cheese, yummy.

This part of the world is mainly for hill walking and sailing on the lakes
The views around some of the lakes are spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,810 reviews
3 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Windermere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £136 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing