We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillthwaite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillthwaite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

I never book a hotel room until I have thoroughly read the comments on Trip Advisor but on this occasion I did book after getting an email advising of a deal and was very concerned about the comments made. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room we had number 33 was on the small side for the £60 supplement but the bathroom was probably one of the best we have ever had. The food was very good with a change of menu every evening, not just one or two dishes. We found the staff very polite and friendly and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. If you don't have a car and are not very fit the walk to town might put some people off but it only took around 10 mins.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynKilmarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    329
    115
    52
    22
See reviews for
121
1,009
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Except for the supercilious, rude, dismissive attitude of the manageress?owner, the other staff were polite. We have attempted to voice our complaint directly but so far have been ignored - clearly no interest from the owners regarding customer satisfaction. The room was very outdated, signs of wear and tear that was not acceptable for the cost of the room charged. Part of the room had a modern wallpaer and sofa but it clashed with and exaggerated how out- dated the rest of the suite and bathroom was. Flies in the room were a particular problem. The room was in an annexe, accesed from outside the main hotel. You were not made to feel welcome or like a hotel resident. Therefore we did not access the facilities. The pool was very small. The view that was adverised required a pair of binoculars to be able to appreciate! Prices for evening meals were expensive - we chose not to eat there after experiencing the rudeness of the staff member who thoroughly spoilt our wedding anniversary. I would not return or recomend but Mrs Sodeau doesn't need returning guests - there should be enough new visitors to keep this hotel in business for another few years. I wonder if her name is pronounced SOD - U ?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wobblyewok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

A superb hotel with brilliant staff, good food and service. Have just spent the weekend there for our wedding anniversary, apart from one small incident, quickly corrected, the hotel could not be faulted in any respect. Superb food and service. Our room was properly cleaned every morning by a very cheerful member of staff. All the public rooms were also kept as near to immaculate as possible at all times.

I cannot praise this hotel too highly and will definately be returning at some time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

We had booked dinner, bed & breakfast and had been advised that the kitchen closes at 9pm for dinner orders. As we arrived to Liverpool airport rather late we knew that there would be stressful 1,5-2h drive to the hotel in the dark. We arrived at the hotel little late but the helpful and friendly staff helped us directly to the restaurant and we could enjoy our delicious dinner. We were given a beautiful room facing the mountains (we had booked a modest room but got a large one with a beautiful view in the main building), Unfortunately we could only stay one night at this hotel because of our travels plans but are definitely coming back! We can warmly recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariakristiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

I went to this hotel with my mum in Jul 2010 to celebrate our birthdays, with a relaxing time in mind. The hotel reception staff we're very friendly and informative. The room was clean and met our needs. The restaurant staff were very attentive and the food was lovely. I have to say that I haven't come across such good customer service anywhere else and the staff are an absolute credit to the business. I would definitely stay there again and I have already recommended it to lots of my friends.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGillic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

Second visit to this small hotel set back from the hustle and bustle of Bownesss. If it's quite and relaxed you seek this is for you. The hotel was fully booked last night and this alas was the only possible down side; not the crowds, not the queues (there were neither) but the speed at which the evening dinner was served was frankly remarkable !! 5 courses in just over an hour was way too rushed !! And eating closer to the person next to you as opposed to your loved one opposite you was a real shame.... but all in all would I go back...eh yes in a flash. I wish I owned this hotel; I would be so proud. Go and enjoy .....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LythamMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

Just spent 5 nights at Hillthwaite and would rate it very highly for a 3-star hotel. Food very good. Staff efficient and friendly. Our room was small but clean. Bathroom very nice. Depends on how much you want to spend for extra luxuries, I think. Situated in a very quite area off the main road. Windermere village beautiful. Would go back again.
Bruce
Dundee, Scotland

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DundeeSynthman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillthwaite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Property: Hillthwaite Hotel
Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing