We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Ranked #3 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We got the last room for night and it was a beauty! Room 1 on the ground floor with a beautiful big bay window. The room was of a generous size and it was nice and clean. The little "extras" at the front door are a nice touch. Breakfast was lovely.
The location is fine with a nice downhill walk to the lake. (About 10/15 minutes) When we return again we will book early and stay again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GADGET66, Owner at Glenville House (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. Its good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return soon :))
Regards
Jayne & Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was superb. The location, cleanliness, breakfast, customer service and personal touches are all excellent. We throughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. Thank you so much for making us feel more than welcome.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GADGET66, Owner at Glenville House (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Hi and thank you for your brill review! Its so good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our extra little touches. We look forward to welcoming you soon :))
regards
Pete & Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Greeted at door. Helped with our luggage to our room which was on the top floor. Very clean. Was a very cosy room with all facilities including great home cooked biscuits. Breakfast was huge and delicious. Great location as you could walk to restaurants and lake. Wanted to stay longer but unfortunately was booked out..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GADGET66, Owner at Glenville House (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Wow! Thank you for your lovely review. Pete & I are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will choose us again next time you visit the Lakes.
Regards :))
Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and his birthday last weekend, we usually stay at another hotel but have been reading reviews on the glenville and thought we would give it ago, so glad we did we were made to feel very welcome and they had even put a bottle of cava, a box of chocs and a anniversary and birthday card in our room!!!
We found our room to be very clean and spacious and the bed was soooo comfortable, breakfast was lovely and there was a great choice.
Will definitely be going back for another stay.
Thank you for a lovely stay Neil and Janette
PS the homemade cake and biscuits...gorgeous!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manchesternatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GADGET66, Owner at Glenville House (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Pete & I were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and its good to now we matched or exceeded your expectations tee hee ! Our aim is to please and make your visit a home from home. We look forward to welcoming you back really soon :))
Regards
Jayne

PS yes we will be open over Xmas and New Yr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived at Glenville House one hour early but that was no problem to the proprietor who showed us to the room which was spotless clean with double aspect window providing loads of light. Very tastefully decorated and a large comfortable bed. The breakfast menu is huge considering its a guest house and the large cooked breakfast was as good as any I have had before, it certainly set you up for the day! The hosts were very friendly and were intent on us having a comfortable stay which we did. An easy 10-15 minutes walk into Bowness where the restaurants are. The car park at Glenville House is a little tight, but there is plenty of parking in nearby quiet streets so its not a problem! Certainly would return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidCDEC1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GADGET66, Owner at Glenville House (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for you lovely review. Its good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Pete & Jayne :))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My Husband and i Loved our stay at Glenville house. There was so much attention to detail and had everything and more. The room was beautifully decorated. The Breakfast was excellent. My husband said it was the best Bacon and cooked breakfast he ever had. I loved the homemade jams and cakes. It was a 10 minute walk to bowness and was a nice walk to the town. The surroundings were very nice. We enjoyed a great time at Glenville house.

Room Tip: Room 5 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlottetate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GADGET66, Owner at Glenville House (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi, Pete & I were delighted to hear you both enjoyed your stay with us. Its lovely to receive complements and reassurance the our service and extras are on "the mark" cheers!!
We hope and look forward to welcoming you back again soon :))
regards
Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last week with my girlfriend and had a really nice stay. The hosts could not do enough for us, very friendly and really made the trip. I read on another rcent review that room 5 was too small.. well we stayed in room 5 and I would say there is nothing wrong with the room size! Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GADGET66, Owner at Glenville House (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Pete and I are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon :))
Regards
Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,507 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenville House (Adults Only)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenville House (Adults Only)

Address: 44 Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £86 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenville House (Adults Only) 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Adults Only).Traditional Lakeland Stone Guest House backed by Mill Beck & Sheriffs Wood ideally located for Windermere & Bowness. Excellent, well appointed rooms all with King sized beds & ensuite facilities,then enjoy your freshly cooked breakfast made from local produce which will set you up for the days activities. A warm & friendly welcome from Peter and Jayne awaits all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Glenville House (Adults Only) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenville House Hotel Windermere
Glenville House (Adults Only) Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing