We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay even better, will be back”
Review of The Ravensworth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ravensworth
Ranked #20 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2nd stay even better, will be back”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed last year when the current owners had just taken over and had a great stay. They surpassed my expectations this year and we are already planning next years visit. I like the free wifi and great toiletries, better than many 4star hotels I know. Thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you so much for your review and also thank you for returning for your second visit to us. It is always great to see guests returning to us. A lot of guests like using our free wi-fi, it certainly helps them keep in touch. Hopefully it won't be too long before you visit number 3. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    93
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
292
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed 7 nights at The Ravensworth and from there went sightseeing all around Windermere. It was easy to find and well located. We visited Sizergh Castle, Dove Cottage and Rydal Mount, Holker Hall, Blackwell and Levens Hall and it was about a 20 minute walk down to Bowness on the lake. Our room (Room 2) was not quite as spacious as it appeared on The Ravensworth's website photo, but very comfortable nevertheless - the large timber posts at the foot of the four poster bed somewhat cramped the room. The breakfasts were very good - the food quality was excellent and the service was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
David, Thank you for your comprehensive review and details of options for future guests. We have actually now taken the posts off the Four Poster beds for the very reason you have mentioned, they did tend to 'take over' the room and we, and recent guests, have noted the difference in the room. We hope to welcome you back to us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and had a lovely time. The Ravensworth is lovely, spotless, room was great. Breakfasts were amazing and the staff were lovely and cheerful. We arrived slightly earlier than planned but were told our room was ready and we could get in no problem - fantastic. The owners were so nice, we had a slight problem one night (NOT the fault of the hotel I must stress) but Cheryl did everything she could for us and we ended up having a laugh about it with her. It is in a great location for Windermere and we enjoyed the walk into Bowness each day too, apart from getting completely soaked one day - didnt find a pub to jump into quick enough! If we were going back to Windermere we would def stay here again. Thanks for a lovely hol.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leezl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you leezl for your comments, yes sometimes things do happen that are purely out of our control but we will always do our best to correct them. That particular guest hasn't returned to us since!! Many Thanks and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We have just returned from our third visit to the Ravensworth and once again we have had the most wonderful time in beautiful surroundings. We love going to the Ravensworth and this time, as usual, it did not disappoint. On our arrival we were greeted with coffee and home made chocolate muffins (yum!) before settling in. Our room was immaculate, stylish and very comfortable with a tray full of goodies; tea, coffee, water and the most scrumptious biscuits! The room was well laid out and you could see the care the staff had taken to make sure it was presented well. Breakfast is fantastic as well with such a choice, from a full Cumbrian breakfast to fresh fruit and cereals, not to mention the home made bread and pastries and much more. The staff are attentive, friendly and courteous, making sure more coffee was served when taking our order. They were all so lovely and relaxed. As for the Cumbrian breakfast which we had, it was delicious with ample servings and setting you up nicely for the day. We cannot fault this place at all and will continue to stay here whenever we go to the Lake district. Just before I go, I must add this; when entering The Ravensworth, as I have said we were warmly welcomed but something else struck me and that was the pride that Nick and Cheryl have in this gem of Windermere. They were eager to show the changes (all good) that they had made since we were last there which tells me they aim to keep on trying to make this place better and better. So yes, we would recommend this place to anyone and we will continue to stay here whenever we visit Windermere.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saintmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
People who are not in the hospitality business will never know how good comments like these make you feel. It makes it all worth while so thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us again. Yes we have made changes since we moved in and we have not stopped there, we continue to upgrade the facilities in the rooms and even the elements of our breakfasts. We plan to finish the full refurbishment of the bedrooms this winter. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

my boyfriend and i stayed here for one night, on a weekend away in windermere. we had a great stay at the ravensworth and would definitely recommend this place. when we arrived, after being shown around and to our room, we were welcomed with a tray of tea/coffee and home made muffins after our 3 hour journey, which we thought was a lovely touch! our room was great, the bed comfy (had a great night's sleep) and the house/surroundings peaceful at night. breakfast the next morning was fab - loads of choice (cereals, pastries, juices, fresh fruit, toast, breads, spreads/jams, and a great choice of cooked breakfast options). as well as the usual 'full english' cooked breakfast on offer, there were some great other cooked options, such as scrambled eggs and smoked salmon and eggs benedict if i recall.. i was craving the full english, which was great! it was cooked to order and we were able to pick and choose what we wanted (choice of eggs etc). the only extra thing we both would have chosen as well would have been some baked beans with it, which weren't on the menu. owners were great - friendly, welcoming, good to chat to and helped us out with suggesting a route to take to our hot air balloon flight launch site (the main purpose of out trip). this route was the kirkstone pass which was a fantastic drive for scenery - really recommended!! they also recommended to us a great thai restaurant just around the corner in windermere - the thai brasserie i think it was called, and the food there was lovely! the staff working at the ravensworth were also really friendly too. thanks for a great stay and we'll definitely look at staying again if/when we come back to windermere!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gingerino30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for your comments, it's a shame you only had time for 1 night's stay with us. We take great pride in our B&B and it's great to get such complementary reviews. For breakfasts, we work on the principle of giving our guests as many options as possible, and then if they are staying with us for a few nights or more, they will have the chance of a different breakfast each morning. Our Cumbrian Grill comprises of totally local produce and is hugely popular. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We have just returned from our second trip to The Ravensworth and I must say it was absolutely fab! I have never known hospitality like it...what a wonderful greeting. I had pre ordered a cake for our anniversary that was in the room waiting as planned (and was gorgeous). The room was to a very high standard, very clean and the bed was massive and comfortable. I couldn't fault anything about our stay and the service we received...thank you Cheryl and Nick - look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helensenior2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for your review and we are so glad that we could help make your visit so special. It's always great to receive reviews like these from people who have clearly enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Just returned home from our 2nd trip to the ravensworth. Thank you for another great stay. This time we booked a superior 4 poster room. It was extremely comfortable, spacious and homely with some nice modern touches.

We arrived fairly early in the day and was met by Nick the owner. He was very courteous and although our room wasn't quite ready, took care of our luggage whilst we went for an early lunch.

The service staff were very friendly and attentive at breakfast. Great to see porridge on the menu - super start on a cold and frosty morning. Our hot drinks were kept topped up until cooked breakfast arrived.

My wife and I will definitely return - but perhaps next year when the weather is a bit warmer....

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthLondoner092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
Thank you very much for these comments. It is always nice for people to take the time and comment on their stay with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Windermere
584 reviews
1.9 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ravensworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ravensworth

Property: The Ravensworth
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ravensworth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ravensworth is a traditional Lakeland guest house with plenty of character offering a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of Windermere village and railway station, very close to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ravensworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ravensworth Hotel Windermere
The Ravensworth Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing