We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Would recommend to family and friends”
Review of The Ravensworth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ravensworth
Ranked #23 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed 6 nights at the fabulous Ravensworth Hotel, in a superior king size room.Friendly staff,Spotlessly clean,Comfey bed,Efficient shower,and Delicious Cumbrian Breakfasts.Hope to get back there soon.We loved it!

Room Tip: Top floor superior king size,at back of hotel.....really quiet,comfy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JILLYFLOWER121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Jilly, Thanks for your review and for your comments. It's always great to hear that people are happy to reccommend us to family and friends. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed here this week for three nights. It was a nice guest house and the breakfasts were lovely albeit a little early for honeymooners. :)

We noticed early on that our DVD player didnt work and we did report this on the first day.. we didnt hear anything back on this point and it wasnt fixed. It was a bit of a shame not to hear back at all.. even if it was to say sorry we cant do anything about it. It wasnt a big deal but would have been appreciated.

Also part of the reason we booked was because of the access to a local spa/pool facilities. turns out we couldnt use them, which wasnt The Ravensworths fault but which was a real shame. It was one of the distinguishing points that made The Ravensworth stand out against its competitors so we felt a little disappointed that it wasnt available.

Friendly staff and a good welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawnio_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dawn, We are glad that you have had a good time here at The Ravensworth. You did mention a couple of issues that you had. The DVD player did pack up during your stay and we did try our best to get this replaced. With regards to the Spa, as we mentioned there had been a major fire in the hotel where the spa is based and unfortunately it was closed for repair at the time of your stay. As you mentioned this was something completely out of our control. For reference the Spa is now back up and running and being enjoyed by many of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed last year when the current owners had just taken over and had a great stay. They surpassed my expectations this year and we are already planning next years visit. I like the free wifi and great toiletries, better than many 4star hotels I know. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you so much for your review and also thank you for returning for your second visit to us. It is always great to see guests returning to us. A lot of guests like using our free wi-fi, it certainly helps them keep in touch. Hopefully it won't be too long before you visit number 3. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed 7 nights at The Ravensworth and from there went sightseeing all around Windermere. It was easy to find and well located. We visited Sizergh Castle, Dove Cottage and Rydal Mount, Holker Hall, Blackwell and Levens Hall and it was about a 20 minute walk down to Bowness on the lake. Our room (Room 2) was not quite as spacious as it appeared on The Ravensworth's website photo, but very comfortable nevertheless - the large timber posts at the foot of the four poster bed somewhat cramped the room. The breakfasts were very good - the food quality was excellent and the service was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

David, Thank you for your comprehensive review and details of options for future guests. We have actually now taken the posts off the Four Poster beds for the very reason you have mentioned, they did tend to 'take over' the room and we, and recent guests, have noted the difference in the room. We hope to welcome you back to us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and had a lovely time. The Ravensworth is lovely, spotless, room was great. Breakfasts were amazing and the staff were lovely and cheerful. We arrived slightly earlier than planned but were told our room was ready and we could get in no problem - fantastic. The owners were so nice, we had a slight problem one night (NOT the fault of the hotel I must stress) but Cheryl did everything she could for us and we ended up having a laugh about it with her. It is in a great location for Windermere and we enjoyed the walk into Bowness each day too, apart from getting completely soaked one day - didnt find a pub to jump into quick enough! If we were going back to Windermere we would def stay here again. Thanks for a lovely hol.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leezl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you leezl for your comments, yes sometimes things do happen that are purely out of our control but we will always do our best to correct them. That particular guest hasn't returned to us since!! Many Thanks and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We have just returned from our third visit to the Ravensworth and once again we have had the most wonderful time in beautiful surroundings. We love going to the Ravensworth and this time, as usual, it did not disappoint. On our arrival we were greeted with coffee and home made chocolate muffins (yum!) before settling in. Our room was immaculate, stylish and very comfortable with a tray full of goodies; tea, coffee, water and the most scrumptious biscuits! The room was well laid out and you could see the care the staff had taken to make sure it was presented well. Breakfast is fantastic as well with such a choice, from a full Cumbrian breakfast to fresh fruit and cereals, not to mention the home made bread and pastries and much more. The staff are attentive, friendly and courteous, making sure more coffee was served when taking our order. They were all so lovely and relaxed. As for the Cumbrian breakfast which we had, it was delicious with ample servings and setting you up nicely for the day. We cannot fault this place at all and will continue to stay here whenever we go to the Lake district. Just before I go, I must add this; when entering The Ravensworth, as I have said we were warmly welcomed but something else struck me and that was the pride that Nick and Cheryl have in this gem of Windermere. They were eager to show the changes (all good) that they had made since we were last there which tells me they aim to keep on trying to make this place better and better. So yes, we would recommend this place to anyone and we will continue to stay here whenever we visit Windermere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saintmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

People who are not in the hospitality business will never know how good comments like these make you feel. It makes it all worth while so thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us again. Yes we have made changes since we moved in and we have not stopped there, we continue to upgrade the facilities in the rooms and even the elements of our breakfasts. We plan to finish the full refurbishment of the bedrooms this winter. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

my boyfriend and i stayed here for one night, on a weekend away in windermere. we had a great stay at the ravensworth and would definitely recommend this place. when we arrived, after being shown around and to our room, we were welcomed with a tray of tea/coffee and home made muffins after our 3 hour journey, which we thought was a lovely touch! our room was great, the bed comfy (had a great night's sleep) and the house/surroundings peaceful at night. breakfast the next morning was fab - loads of choice (cereals, pastries, juices, fresh fruit, toast, breads, spreads/jams, and a great choice of cooked breakfast options). as well as the usual 'full english' cooked breakfast on offer, there were some great other cooked options, such as scrambled eggs and smoked salmon and eggs benedict if i recall.. i was craving the full english, which was great! it was cooked to order and we were able to pick and choose what we wanted (choice of eggs etc). the only extra thing we both would have chosen as well would have been some baked beans with it, which weren't on the menu. owners were great - friendly, welcoming, good to chat to and helped us out with suggesting a route to take to our hot air balloon flight launch site (the main purpose of out trip). this route was the kirkstone pass which was a fantastic drive for scenery - really recommended!! they also recommended to us a great thai restaurant just around the corner in windermere - the thai brasserie i think it was called, and the food there was lovely! the staff working at the ravensworth were also really friendly too. thanks for a great stay and we'll definitely look at staying again if/when we come back to windermere!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gingerino30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for your comments, it's a shame you only had time for 1 night's stay with us. We take great pride in our B&B and it's great to get such complementary reviews. For breakfasts, we work on the principle of giving our guests as many options as possible, and then if they are staying with us for a few nights or more, they will have the chance of a different breakfast each morning. Our Cumbrian Grill comprises of totally local produce and is hugely popular. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 107 in Windermere
408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#27 of 107 in Windermere
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 107 in Windermere
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jerichos Guest House
Jerichos Guest House
#12 of 107 in Windermere
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#18 of 107 in Windermere
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ravensworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ravensworth

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £76 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ravensworth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ravensworth is a traditional Lakeland guest house with plenty of character offering a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of Windermere village and railway station, very close to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ravensworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ravensworth Hotel Windermere
The Ravensworth Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing