We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our home is yours”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ravensworth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ravensworth
Ranked #16 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our home is yours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

WOW I don't think there's enough space to comment on The Ravensworth.
Greeted by Cheryl who sold the place before we had chance to look around, what a lady and host, please teach the rest of the world how to be polite. Cheryl made us a lovely cup of coffee after our journey then showed us to an immaculate, modern room. This place is SPOTLESS.
The bed was comfortable and huge. The bath was filled with endless amounts of hot water to soak our aching bodies after mountain biking all day.
Breakfast is fantastic with so much choice. My wife had a different breakfast every day with the same result.... an empty plate. Thanks Nick for the tip to go up to Orrist Head view point, what a view.
The hotel is so easy to find and is situated in an ideal spot to travel on foot, bike or car.
I cannot praise Nick and Cheryl enough, thank you for making our 7th wedding anniversary a great time despite getting soaked every day.
We felt as if we had been invited to stay at some friends house and will take up the invitation to return. xxx

Room Tip: The Premier room has a MASSIVE shower (it's brilliant)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
AndyJ13, thank you so much for your comments. It is such a reward to receive reviews like this one. We are delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us so much and we are also pleased that you enjoyed cycling around our beautiful (but hilly) countryside. We hope to see you both again soon. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both. Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    89
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
281
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Superb accommodation! and very friendly staff making you feel so welcome!
On arrival at the Ravensworth Guest House, we were greeted by Nick who was very polite and showed us to our room straight the way. We then had a nice hot cuppa tea and gorgeous Lemon drizzle cake to make us feel welcome! after a 5 hour journey we really appreciated it! it was yummy!
we were given a talk about the hotel breakfast times etc and also the about the free wifi and internet access via a computer kept there in the lounge area, along with a wide selection of dvds for viewing in your room.
He explained to us in great detail regarding the local area and all the local attractions that are near by too which helped loads.
Our room was lovely, furnished well and the shower room was beautiful! very modern and stylish! all the little thoughts like the tea coffee biscuits and bathroom items was free of charge to use and got replaced if used.. the little touches make such an impact!
Large choice of breakfast menu to choose from which was served in a beautiful conservatory. A La Carte Breakfast style menu =)
As this place was only a short walk to local shops and amenities, it made it very convenient, no need for the use of transport! only a 20-30 min walk to the main lake windermere too, not far at all! Shops were merely around the corner, not even 5 minutes away!
I will definitely be recommending this place to friends!
This has to be one of the nicest places I have stayed for a long time!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Kathryn M, Thank you for your review and for going into so much detail about everything that we offer our guests during their stay here with us. It's always a great feeling when we receive reviews like this which not only means that we are doing our job properly, but it also gives future guests an idea of what we do here too. Many Thanks and we hope to see you again soon. Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

easy to find, just 3-5 minutes to rail station. capacious and comfortable room, compared with other hotel rooms which i stayed in the same price, its room is very clean and tidy. i noticed the teakettle and cups had not any dust and clean inside. free nice breakfast, many choice and can be ordered. Holder Nick is very friendly, did a lot introduction about lake district to me. Thankful.
and just a small problem, the vehicle on the main road wake up too early. : )

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chen Yi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Chen, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you saw a lot of our beautiful countryside. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future. Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotswolds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We were greeted at the door by Nick with a big smile vey welcoming after along drive.Our rooms were comfy,spotless and well thought out.The breakfasts were something else,set you up for the day.All the staff were so friendly and helpfull.Situated very close to some lovely individual shops in the village.We walked down to the lake for our cruise,quite a walk but well worth it.The lakeland store was just around the corner.We will be back!!!Excellent congratulations Nick and Cheryl and all your staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzyCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you OzzyCotswolds for your review and we are delighted that had an enjoyable stay with us. It's good to know that you had he opportunity to go on the lake and visit that fantastic Lakeland shop just up the road from us. We look forward to seeing you here again soon. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at this great hotel. Nick & Cheryl were very welcoming and always pleasant. We were greeted by Cheryl who had a warm drink and cake ready for when were settled in our room ! They explained the area to us and all the great places to eat / visit. The rooms & bathroom was spotlessly clean ! the breakfast was superb quality and very well presented ! Every thing about our stay was perfect ! Can not find one negative about the stay and will be booking here in future !!!
Chris & Alison Wickett

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wicky1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Chris & Alison, Thnak you so much for your review and comments. We appreciate you taking the time to pass on your thoughts to future guests. The tea and cakes always go down well, especially after a long journey here. We look forward to seeing you both again here soon. Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We have had four nights at this great hotel where Nick and Cheryl did everything to make our stay absolutely delightful. We were greeted by Cheryl who told us all what we needed to know about the hotel and the area when we arrived and made us a cup of tea. There are lots of little extra touches, ie a dvd library as well as books. The breakfasts are pretty good too and the staff are so friendly and helpful. I would have no qualms about recommending this delightful establishment and If returning to the Lake District for another break, I wouldn't stay anywhere else

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jainine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure having you both stay with us and we are delighted that you had such a successful stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope that it isn't too long before we see you here again. Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We have been staying at the Ravensworth for over 10 years and visit at least twice a year.
WE would like to thank Nick and Cheryl for yet another lovely stay.
The newly decorated room was superb and was like home from home.
Thanks again to Nick, Cheryl and all the staff
hope to be back later in the year.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
James, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It's always a pleasure welcoming you both here at the house and we are pleased you like the changes we have made. We look forward to seeing you later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ravensworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ravensworth

Property: The Ravensworth
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ravensworth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ravensworth is a traditional Lakeland guest house with plenty of character offering a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of Windermere village and railway station, very close to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ravensworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ravensworth Hotel Windermere
The Ravensworth Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing