We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ravensworth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ravensworth
Ranked #17 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We recently stayed here for a couple of nights and were pleasantly surprised by the homely feel of the place. Having stayed in many guest houses over the years we found all aspects of the break to be excellent, the accommodation, the breakfasts and the friendliness. Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear that you loved your stay here with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    84
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
274
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a brilliant weekend away, at The Ravensworth. We were ever so lucky that the weather was wonderful all weekend which topped off this great place to stay. All extremely clean, tidy and homely with excellent adjustable heating, in the room, which is a bonus for someone who feels the cold very badly! Breakfast was ample and cooked perfectly. Bedroom was lovely with a great shower. The fluffy dressing gowns were a nice touch too. The B&B is just up the road from Windermere town centre, where there is a large variety of different bars and restaurants - hardly a chain in sight which was so refreshing. Great walk to Bowness, especially in the sunshine! I would certainly love to return and would recommend to anyone.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helena151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Last year, we finished refurbishing our rooms and the new radiators certainly do make a big improvement, especially at this time of year. We look forward to seeing you both again in the near future. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I came here with my girlfriend for a quiet weekend away and The Ravensworth was the perfect setting for this. We were given a warm welcome from Nick on arrival and were given lots of information about the local surroundings. The room was nice and homely, and the shower was great! Very comfy bed, and the only thing keeping me from sleeping all day was a poor little bird which seemed to be stuck just next to our window. We informed Nick of this and he assured us that he would look into this, which I have no doubt he will. Overall very nice stay, with brilliant beds, fantastic breakfast, and welcoming and attentive owners.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted you and your girlfriend had such a relaxing weekend. We have had a look in the loft and the eaves of the house and there is no evidence of a birds nest, so your early morning call looks like it was a one off. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This was our second visit to The Ravensworth and we were not disappointed. First visited the Lakes for our honeymoon in June 2012 and decided to go back to re-live some memories. We had a very warm welcome from Nick on arrival.
Rooms are spotlessly clean and lovely décor. We had fluffy dressing gowns and slippers (homely touch) with tea/coffee and biscuits etc. Shower gel, shampoo and body lotion all supplied too. Bed was beautiful and very comfy!
Welcome book with ideas/ places to visit/ eat out whilst at the Lakes are in the room to read at your leisure. Free wifi, access to computer, DVDs and library also available to use.
Also they give you complimentary spa passes to go and use the spa/gym which is just down the road in Bowness- the swimming pool overlooks Lake Windermere- idyllic!
Breakfasts are delicious and you get lots of choice of things to eat- certainly something for everyone!
First class place to stay if visiting the Lake District, in the centre of the town and you can have a lovely walk to the Lake Windermere. Weather wasn't the best when we visited but that certainly didn't spoil our stay!
Nick and Cheryl very approachable, happy to help and warming hosts. Will definitely be back!
Emma and Wayne Belcher.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaB1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted firstly that you came back to re-visit us, and secondly that you were not disappointed on your return. Hopefully we will see you both again soon. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

On arrival we received a very warm welcome from Nick (the Proprietor) who showed us to our bedroom. There was a welcome pack in the room plus the usual tea/coffees etc. that were replenished each day.
The breakfast was of the highest quality (cooked to individual taste by Cheryl). The Cumberland sausage is to die for.
The best Guest House we have stayed in by a mile. We'll be back.

Thank you Nick and Cheryl

Edyth and Robin Morgan

Room Tip: I made the mistake of not booking a room with a king size bed hence the slightly lower mark for slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdythMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I saw the butcher in the village yesterday and he told me you had popped in to collect some Cumberland Sausage to take home with you. It is certainly the best that we have found, that's why we use it. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Spent two days at The Ravensworth last week with my wife and it was for us a great return to the Lakes.The standard of the room,cleanliness of the room and bathroom,in fact the place was spotless,few of the bigger hotels we have stayed in throughout England have even come close in this respect.In our upstairs room we had a safe,a plentiful supply of top branded tea and coffee,all the bathroom bits and bobs,shower gels etc were supplied - fantastic.Good quality TV and also free WI-Fi even in our top room.Breakfast was a first class selection of quality cooked food,my wife took the vegetarian option and was well impressed.Nick and Cheryl have got this place really spot-on,we would come back anytime for this standard of service and of course the lemon cake!

Room Tip: Would stay in any room in this B&B as the building is just off from the roadside enough to give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trkbyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for your review and comments, we really do appreciate you taking the time to do this, thank you. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and took the chance to see so much of our fantastic countryside. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future. Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. Nick and Cheryl greeted us with a very warm welcome. Rooms are modern with good powerful shower. Access to a computer and also free WiFi, DVD library excellent idea which we took advantage of! Plenty of choice for breakfast from cereal to fresh fruit to full breakfast. About mile and a half from the lake which is a nice walk down through Windermere and Bowness spoilt for choice with places to eat on an evening. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spenner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRavensworth, Owner at The Ravensworth, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable visit and had the chance to see our fantastic countryside and attractions. Hopefully we'll see you again soon, Best Regards, Nick & Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.9 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#6 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ravensworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ravensworth

Property: The Ravensworth
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ravensworth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ravensworth is a traditional Lakeland guest house with plenty of character offering a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of Windermere village and railway station, very close to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Ravensworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ravensworth Hotel Windermere
The Ravensworth Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing