We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveller rating
498
202
39
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
498
202
39
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room cream tea lovely hotel bar meals evening meal scones lake district on arrival enjoyable stay public areas a lovely stay cooked breakfast night break couldn't do enough the ground floor stayed for one night both nights
Filter
Updating list...
727 - 732 of 752 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Vey friendly service in this comfortable but relaxed country house hotel. Staff could not have been more helpful or polite, excellent. Restaurant meals an absolute delight: good range of meals on offer catering for different tastes. Main meals and starters changing each day and a good selection of deserts. Home made bread rolls with starters and hand made chocolates with coffee to finish to round off the meals. Good selection of quality wine available.
Hotel conveniently situated near to Ambleside and many amenities within easy drive or walk of the Hotel.
Room very spaceous with a lovely view of the gardens: the bluebells in the woods within the hotel grounds and very grand specimen Monkey Puzzle Tree were highlights.
All in all a very relaxed four days in great surroundings, with good food and wine - who could ask for more!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisP1364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

The hotel is exactly as described in the reviews,good room,good food and nothing was to much trouble for the staff.The hotel is quiet and relaxing, especially in the large gardens and is well situated for ambleside and windermere,very enjoyable stay.
we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcas58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

On a recent weekend getaway, we decided to stay with the Briery Wood Hotel, which far exceeded our expectations. Perfectly located within easy reach of all popular Lake District destinations, it was the perfect base. The hotel is picturesque, rooms more than comfortable and very clean, super helpful staff, and nothing was too much trouble. We were greeted by the hotel manager, who did all he could to ensure our stay was a good one! Breakfast served with a smile, with the hotel gardens making for the perfect backdrop.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHart088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We decided to have 3 day break in the lake district and read reviews of this hotel before we booked. Everything was true to the reviews. Beautiful hotel, with lovely decor. Several lounges to choose from. Newspapers were free in the lounges everyday. Our room (2) was a ground floor room which had a door straight onto the beautiful and peaceful garden. The bedrooms are very modern and very clean with good bath towels and toiletries. The grounds were kept immaculate with just the singing birds for company. The food was fantastic, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our only disappointment was that we visited Sunday to Wednesday and most of the guests had gone home. This being no fault of the hotel, but people not knowing how good this hotel is. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: No noisy traffic
Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
Thank lissybeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

After staying in Bowness hotels for many years my wife and I decided to try out the Briery Wood after passing it for many years and promising to try it out. At last we decided to give it a try and booked a three day dinner/bed and breakfast stay. What have we been missing all these years? This hotel is certainaly a hidden treasure between Bowness and Ambleside.
The hotel retains many of it's original features, the grounds are magnificent, the reception is pleasent, the rooms are spacious, roomy and very pleasent with excellent bathrooms and classy toiletries and towels.
The meals from wonderful breakfasts where you can take a choice of your liking (including porridge or continental) and where your request is cooked on ordering (no buffet pre-cooked) food in this hotel.
Dinner is a joy, take your choice of wonderful fine dining with excellent food.
The jewel in the crown to add to this review is 'the staff'. Nothing is too much for them and they arrive with a smile and attitude of 'we are here to help you' and nothing is a problem.
What is also pleasing is the timing between courses and there is no 'Hovering' by a more senior member of staff such as a Manager or Senior Waiter.
This is a Hotel not to be missed, yes it is between two tourist centres but having the food and such staff, Bowness and Ambleside will not be missed.
This Is The Jewel In The Crown of The Lake District.
We have stayed in some of the best hotels in this area and this is by far the best.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magpie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews