We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AS GOOD AS EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My wife and I have just visited the hotel for a 3 day break for the fourth time this year, may I say more. This hotel is situated midway between Windermere and Ambleside and is set in wonderful grounds. First of all the staff are wonderful, nothing is a problem and is also carried out with a smile. The rooms are spacious and cheerful. The food is excellent, freshly cooked breakfast to order (no pre-cooked buffet at this hotel). Dinner is excellent (pay the little difference, it is well worth it), you get 3 excellent courses plus coffee and home made chocolates. This hotel is a hidden gem within the Lake District. Forget about B&B in Bowness and Ambleside and stay in lovely surroundings with lovely people and excellent food.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magpie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briery, Assistant manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear Magpie21,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Briery Wood.
As you say, it was your fourth visit of the year to see us - we look forward to your visits, you are both a pleasure to look after.
Here at the Briery Wood, we try our best to fulfill, and hopefully exceed our guests' expectations. We work very hard to create and maintain the relaxed atmosphere and high standards you enjoy so much. It is a team effort, with everyone playing their part, and working to the best of their abilities.
We are helped here by our location in peaceful, wildlife-friendly grounds. The breakfasts, lunches and dinners, as you say, are all cooked freshly to order, with Chef writing his menu daily to make the most of seasonal produce.
Your feedback is really helpful & all of the staff do appreciate the compliments you pay us in this review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay & look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
With kind regards,
Jennifer Braithwaite
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just returned from a two night family break to this hotel over the half term holiday. The hotel was incredibly clean, the room we stayed in contained what can only be described as the mother of all kingsize beds and had the added bonus of having french doors which opened out onto the beautiful grounds. The location of Briery wood is really peaceful yet it's only a couple of minutes drive into Ambleside or Windermere so it is brilliant for getting out and about from.
Whilst I could ramble on about the rooms, the strength of this hotel lies in the exceptional quality of the food and the fantastic attention of the staff. We had breakfast and an evening meal each day. The menu was really exciting, the food beautifully and elegantly presented but more importantly absolutely delicious. I would challenge even the hardest food critic to find fault with any of it. A family travelling with us had a guest who was a coeliac and the staff effortlessly catered for them without making any kind of a fuss.
It wouldn't be right though to review this hotel without mentioning the staff. They couldn't have been more helpful and yet somehow managed to only appear when you needed them, we came away feeling really relaxed and thoroughly looked after.
So what is the problem? Sadly it's unusual to find a place with an emphasis on providing the genuinely friendly service that Briery wood so clearly has... I know that we will be guaging every other hotel we stay in against the service we received here and wonder just who else can measure up to it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jayne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Following on from my review in May this year, I returned to stay in this cosy hotel in August. What I forgot to mention the last time is where else can you get a 1 night stay on a weekend. My first visit was a Saturday night over a bank holiday weekend and this visit was a Saturday night in the middle of the school holidays. So if your time is short in the lkaes check out this little gem of a hotel. Oh, almost forgot, so dog friendly

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichelleD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Thank you Briery Wood - my husband booked a few nights stay as I have been through a difficult patch recently. We had an fabulous time. Our room was large, bright and airy. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds just off the main road along Lake Windermere - even the unusually terrible weather did not dampen our stay. The staff were most attentive and friendly - interested in what we were doing and willing to offer suggestions when asked. However the "pièce de resistance" was the food ... which was absolutely superb. We certainly plan to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed there for a week long business conference and the rooms are tiny and dark and not v comfortable. I was hoping to change the room but was ignored by the staff. Food was terrible and eventually I was leaving England with severe food poisoning. I would love to come back as a tourist to Cumbria but I will not stay in this hotel for sure (and it's in the middle of nowhere).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martinez007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briery, Manager at Briery Wood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Martinez007. Firstly, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of the team at the hotel for not meeting with your expectations on this occasion.

As soon as your comment was posted on Trip Advisor, I conducted a full investigation into your complaint and the comments relating to your room. This was made more difficult as you stayed here five months ago in April 2011.

Room 1, which I believe is the room in which you stayed, is a light, airy room with views over the garden and a large french window opening onto a private patio.

We pride ourselves on the quality of our food at Briery Wood and receive much positive feedback about it, therefore I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food during your visit. Had you made us aware of this at the time, our chef and his team would have been happy to prepare dishes that were more to your taste.

I am very concerned indeed to hear of your claim of food poisoning. As we were not made aware of this during your stay, it is very hard for us to now investigate this any further, however, I can confirm that no other guests who stayed at this time reported any cases of food poisoning.

Briery Wood is located in private gardens on the main road, just 2 miles from Windermere and 2 miles from Ambleside. Both of these bustling Lake District towns are within easy reach of Briery Wood and served by regular public transport links and a local taxi firm.

You will see from our reviews that we take a pride in offering our customers quality experience and good value. I would welcome the chance to restore your faith in our hotel and to discuss your review in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Roger Benson.
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Cleanest bathroom I've seen in a hotel. Carpets a bit threadbare in the communcal areas but very clean. hearty breakfast. fantastic customer service. Will definitely stay there again.....already planning on an October break.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mirajain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming and friendly and did every thing they could to make our stay comfortable. The bedroom and bathroom were immaculately clean and the food is first class.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HoneyApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
808 reviews
2.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,115 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briery Wood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briery Wood Country House Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#11 Family Hotel in Windermere
#13 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £67 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Briery Wood Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moments from the eastern shores of Lake Windermere and set in seven acres of beautiful secluded gardens and woodland lies Briery Wood Country House Hotel. This beautiful Lake District hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a country house atmosphere with all the comforts of home, while surrounded by spectacular landscapes, lakes and fells. Briery Wood is within easy reach of the popular villages of Ambleside, Bowness and Windermere, so it's a great base for exploring the Lake District, whether you are looking for a spot of retail therapy or outdoor adventure. The informal and friendly service is so good you'll hardly notice it. It's our job to make you feel at home...Which isn't hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges whilst enjoying a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Expedia, LateRooms, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Briery Wood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briery Wood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing