We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Manor Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$201
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$350
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamplighter(Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House(Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samling Hotel(Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveller rating
459
189
36
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
459
189
36
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomcream teadoor leadinglovely hotelevening mealsconeslake districton arrivalenjoyable staypublic areascooked breakfastnight breaka lovely staythe ground floorboth nightsbed and breakfastcouldn't do enough
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just back from an overnight stay at Briery wood through travel zoo. We enjoyed our stay although felt the hotel in places was a little worn. The room number 3 was fab, with a garden view and a little patio with table and chairs. We had a large king size bed very comfortable although the wardrobe again appeared a little tired. The room was warm and cosy, although desperate for a shower after a long hike I was disappointed as it was a Mira shower but the water dribbled out!

The staff were very friendly, helpful and even offered us an umbrella to go out that evening as we choose to go else where for the evening after dinner, as there is not much atmosphere. Dinner was very warm good and tastey as was the fab breakfast.
It was all in all good but I would not stay a second time as there are so many other places to try.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 232Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

For a stay over in the lakes this was great. Clean, well-equipped and with good facilities it was a pleasant place to stay. The breakfast was tasty and service fantastic.
Although the grounds of the hotel were quite big it was a shame not to be able to see nearby Lake Windermere. But this was never promised so I can't complain about that.
With a little more character and better priced evening meals, this would have received five stars.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed for one night on a Travelzoo promotion, and did not enjoy our visit to the hotel as much as we expected,

Briery Wood is described in its promotional material as a country house hotel but, compared with the quality of the furnishings at other country house hotels at which we have stayed, this hotel is a poor example of the genre. Pine furniture in bedrooms does not, in our view, qualify an establishment for such a description, especially when it is basic and cheap in appearance, as we consider that in our room to have been. The Queen Ann style of furniture which is predominant in the bar area lends itself more typically to a care home than to a country house hotel.

Our bedroom was clean. However, the en-suite bathroom needed attention, the decor being tired, with the grouting around the bath showing black mould.

Dinner proved no more average in standard. We had rather been put off by being led into the dining room and past many bare banqueting tables to an area by the windows where a small number of tables had been properly prepared for diners. This was not exactly welcoming. In the result, my wife's pork tenderloin was served rather pinker than she expected, whilst my lamb shank was rather fatty. In fairness, breakfast was good, hot and well presented.

Our experience with the staff was mixed. In the bar before dinner we ordered a bottle of wine, with a view to having a glass each as an aperitif and the remainder with our meal. The barman simply brought the bottle and glasses to our table and placed them there before returning to the bar. He did not offer to open the bottle, let alone invite one of us to sample its contents. Since we were the only guests in the bar, he could not be said to be pressed for time. When we mentioned this to Roger, the hotel's manager, the next morning, he simply shrugged his shoulders and made no comment, exhibiting total indifference,

By contrast, the waitresses at breakfast were friendly, efficient and attentive, doing their utmost to ensure that guests had everything which they needed.

Overall, we felt that one night in the hotel was quite enough. we would not think of returning to the Briery Wood, and consider that hotel is worth no more than the price of £109 for the overnight accommodation which we had paid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheMaldonTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I will start with the one negative point in order to caveat it and move to the masses of positives. As others have said, the common areas are a little tired in decoration and ambiance but there does appear to be refurbishment going on so this may soon not be an issue.
All of the service staff could not be more friendly or helpful. We were shown to well appointed spotless rooms with a clearly new bathroom fitted with quality sanitary ware and nice toiletries. After a quick run down on meal times we were left to it.
We chose to dine in and were given a menu which I understand changes frequently and is interesting and varied if a little short. You take your pre-dinner drinks in the bar and order your food before being called through when ready. Our food was lovely, I am pretty critical when it comes to hotel dining but nothing to complain about here. Succulent beef with lovely mash and jus followed by a tasty and fun banana dessert. Breakfast the next morning was equally well presented and delivered with a cheery greeting from staff.
A spruce of the common areas would make this place excellent but please don't change with wonderful staff and food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerCmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent three nights here for a midweek break and had no complaints whatsoever.

The location was convenient for Windermere and Ambleside and very attractive.

We ate in the restaurant twice in the evenings and found the food to be excellent, which was also the case at breakfast.

The room was clean, spacious and had everything we needed.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank browneyedgirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews