We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable 2night break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
MANCHESTER
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyable 2night break”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Booked a 2night KGB deal and stayed here on 2nd and 3rd feb.Very friendly staff, room comfy especially the superking bed,room and hotel area very warm.Good choice at brekky.Worth every penny of what we paid £99 for the 2 nights.Rang a taxi into Ambleside,its only 2miles,cost £8 there and £10 back but we had a good night so That made up for the rip off price I suppose.The hotel is a little tired in places and with a small refurb would really perk the place up.The threadbare carpet really needs sorting.We would stay here again but not at the full rate price.The gardens are beautiful.

Room Tip: We had room 3 on the ground floor,which has a patio area, ok room but the housekeepers store room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neuville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    168
    32
    10
    3
See reviews for
100
358
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My wife and I have just returned from three days spent at this hotel and from the cheery welcome from receptionist Karen to the comfortable and well appointed bedroom, this is a must for a visit. The breakfast room served by cheery staff headed by Margaret was a welcome start to the day. Dinner was prepared by a truly professional chef and presentation was excellent. Bedroom was well appointed with a powerful shower and, most unusual,extra large bath towels. We would hope to be back as this was excellent value with the hotel set in lovely grounds.

Room Tip: We were in room 2 with great view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macandhilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I called into the hotel with my husband and grand daughter to check out a booking I have with them later in the year, and asked if they were doing lunches that day, as they were busy getting ready for a wedding fair the next day. Soup and sandwiches were offered, which we all enjoyed and couldn't believe the price -- excellent value for money.
I would high recommend this hotel to all

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lew123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We attended a Wedding Fair at this hotel. The staff were excellent, informative, helpful and very friendly.
Usually, at such events, only coffee and nibbles are provided but, here, the Chef had made his own chocolates and then provided tasters of his menu - they were all excellent - I know I tried them all.
It was such an enjoyable event my wife & I intend to return for a couple of nights stay later on in the year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raven20162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexander-osborne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

As we turned up on Christmas Eve we were welcomed warmly by a lady at reception. The rooms are adequate with having new bathrooms. The only downside to the rooms are the finishing touches. The carpet edges in the rooms were frayed and coming up in parts and also in the hallways. The only other negative was that the brochure said there was a buffet that night, sadly it was a cold buffet. The bar was not always manned and had limited stock of draught. Overall the hot food was lovely, the rooms were pleasant enough and the staff lovely.

Room Tip: Room 7 was larger than the other room 6. Also had the benefit of having an exterior door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexander_osborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights as we were attending a wedding being held at the sister hotel next door. All very comfortable. Nice welcome by reception staff and shown to room. On this occasion we had chosen a twin bedded option which although on the small size suited the purpose. Recently refurbished bathroom again on the small size but excellent shower (no bath).
Very good meal in the evening ( only had one evening meal) and excellent breakfasts. All very warm and homely fine service and altogether an enjoyable stay. Happy to recommend with only observation that at the top end for price - £150/night for two - B&B and one evening meal.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors may be bigger than those at lower level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77sunsetstripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We visit the Briery Wood every year for the Adventure Peaks Christmas Party and there is always a very friendly welcome from Roger and his staff. The location is ideal for Ambleside and visits beyond into the central Lake District. The bedrooms are extremely well looked after with lots of little extra thought e.g. just love the shampoo!! When we've had younger children it's always lovely to get one of the larger family rooms and the hotel even caters for older families. Breakfasts are very filling - too much really. The food at the Christmas Party dinner is splendid and unlike other hotels you are always left feeling full. Look forward to next years visit.

Room Tip: NW facing rooms with a view of Lake Windermere and further afield up towards the Langdale Peaks are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkinnyJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Windermere
774 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
407 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briery Wood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briery Wood Country House Hotel

Property: Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#11 Family Hotel in Windermere
#13 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Briery Wood Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moments from the eastern shores of Lake Windermere and set in seven acres of beautiful secluded gardens and woodland lies Briery Wood Country House Hotel. This beautiful Lake District hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a country house atmosphere with all the comforts of home, while surrounded by spectacular landscapes, lakes and fells. Briery Wood is within easy reach of the popular villages of Ambleside, Bowness and Windermere, so it's a great base for exploring the Lake District, whether you are looking for a spot of retail therapy or outdoor adventure. The informal and friendly service is so good you'll hardly notice it. It's our job to make you feel at home...Which isn't hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges whilst enjoying a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Briery Wood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briery Wood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing