We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“perfect location and great value”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Not much to complain about here,,, ok so the stair carpets are showing signs of wear but in no way does this distract from what is a great little hotel with budget prices.
The room was clean and well appointed with high quality linen and a door leading out onto the beautiful extensive grounds. The public areas were adequate and the bar has a good selection of beers and malts. The menu was a bit restrictive but the food was good (in fact the breakfast was as good as any with the best black pudding ever tasted!!)
The position is ideal between Windermere and Ambleside (no lake view).
Staff were pleasant and very efficient,, hats off to them all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyp949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    169
    32
    10
    3
See reviews for
100
360
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Seascale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here 21st and 22nd March and got a great deal. We had dinner on the 1st night which was excellent! Good beer on tap, friendly staff and in a good location between Ambleside and Windermere. We were told we would not have a large room before we arrived but found the room large enough for us both. It was tidy and very clean, especially the bathroom. Would definitely recommend this to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyjennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly placed for exploring. In a lovely quiet location, very pretty area. Staff were all very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was tasty and filling, perfect for a day of wandering. Rooms very lovely, decorated to a good, quite luxurious standard.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greygoosejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A lovely country house hotel in a great location between Windermere and Ambleisde.Walks from the door and on a bus route to get back if needed! Spotlessly clean, both our bedroom and communal areas. Comfortable king sized bed and well appointed bathroom with plenty of hot water. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the evening meal- good selection of dishes well prepared. Breakfast was same high standard- I especially liked the platter of fresh fruits.
No real downside except worn carpets on stairs which other reviewers have mentioned.This does perhaps make the full rate seem a bit too high.
Would definitely recommend the hotel, especially if you can get a deal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAS699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a two night b&b with change from £100..!!! Friendly family service with good value for money.
Ideal location for a gentle walk into Ambleside or Windermere.
No lake view but certainly would go again.
Even in a cold wet winters weekend beautiful. I can imagine that in summer the private rear gardens would be charming...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston,
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a quaint country house hotel, set in lovely grounds, that we are surprised is classed as only 2*. The decor in some parts may appear a bit tired, but did not in anyway spoil the comfort and relaxation experienced at the Briery Wood, The staff could not do enough for you and were always so friendly. Our room overlooked the garden (No 15), which was a large room with comfy king size bed, two easy chairs, coffee table, tv and usual bedroom furniture, plus kettle and variety of teas/coffee/chocolate/biscuits. The bathroom was modern with complimentary toiletries and gorgeous fluffy white towels - brilliant shower/bath with plenty of hot water. Everything was spotlessly clean on our arrival and throughout our stay.

We decided on booking that we would stay in the hotel for dinner. We chose to have the 3 course menu + coffee & chocolates at £30 a head (there were cheaper) but was offered a complimentary bottle of house wine (very nice!) on both nights with that choice. The food was EXCELLENT with plenty of choice for all tastes and served beautifully. Breakfast was included in the room charge, but that too was excellent with loads of choices all cooked to order,.

The location is ideal as it is near to Bowness and Ambleside plus many other beauty spots that the Lake District has to offer.

Would hope to return soon to this lovely, peaceful country hotel.

Room Tip: We had Room 15 which was large and overlooked the garden. Ideal for us. It was on the 1st floor, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I (and Eddie, the dog) thoroughly enjoyed a special offer break (£99 for two nights) at the Briery Wood where found all the staff to be friendly, cheerful and helpful. The garden room we had booked (at Eddie's personal request!) was roomy, clean with a large and extremely comfortable bed, and had a door giving out onto a small patio area with table and chairs overlooking extensive grounds. (the patio was ideally suited to relax on on a warm summer evening but we were there in February - hey ho!) We found nothing about the room and bathroom that could be criticised (the housekeeping was excellent) and the breakfasts substantial. The hotel is also conveniently sited for local sightseeing. So, ideal for a bargain break but the somewhat dated public areas and worn carpeting in the hall ways do make their normal (full) advertised rate appear a tad (or maybe a little bit more) over the top. Would we go again - yes we will but only if the right offer is available.

Room Tip: If you are taking your dog, Room 1 is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rakersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Windermere
778 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,060 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briery Wood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briery Wood Country House Hotel

Property: Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#11 Family Hotel in Windermere
#13 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Briery Wood Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moments from the eastern shores of Lake Windermere and set in seven acres of beautiful secluded gardens and woodland lies Briery Wood Country House Hotel. This beautiful Lake District hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a country house atmosphere with all the comforts of home, while surrounded by spectacular landscapes, lakes and fells. Briery Wood is within easy reach of the popular villages of Ambleside, Bowness and Windermere, so it's a great base for exploring the Lake District, whether you are looking for a spot of retail therapy or outdoor adventure. The informal and friendly service is so good you'll hardly notice it. It's our job to make you feel at home...Which isn't hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges whilst enjoying a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Briery Wood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briery Wood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing