We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
lincoln
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Stay”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Great food, brilliant staff, nothing was to much trouble, will definately be going back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    89
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
220
493
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I found this hotel purely by accident and am I pleased that I did.
There's only one word to describe the hotel, food, staff and location and that is "AMAZING".
We were lucky enough to be placed into room 16 which boasts a four poster bed with views over looking lake Windermere. The room was imaculate and very well stocked, the bathroom was also beautiful and housed good quality bathing products.
The staff are so lovely, they are all very well suited to their jobs, nothing is too much trouble. They are happy, attentive, helpful and make sure they personalise each customers stay.
As for the food, it was sublime. We've never eaten such wonderful food, the menu changed nightly and it was a struggle to choose a dish. Whilst perusing the menu, you are treated to drinks and canapes. Once your starter is ready you are led to your table where you are presented with what can only be described as a work of art. My partner and myself found ourselves actually making noises whilst eating the food, noise like: Oh my god, mmmmmmmm, nom nom etc ..... :-)
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone, we are in our 30's and fitted in very well with couples who were in their 50's and 60's.
The hotel is only a 3 star, I quesioned this as it's unbelievable to why it's not higher. The reason it's not 4 star or above is simply because it doesn't have a lift or a night porter and in all honesly it doesn't need either.
If you're thinking about going, please consider it, it's is an amazing little gem nestled away in the most beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pangiepotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We would just like to say a big thank you to you all for making us so welcome with your hospitality during our recent stay at your hotel. What a wonderful place, our room was amazing with reaching views to the lake and the flowers were lovely, it was also spotlessly clean and the food was so tasty, compliments to the chefs.
The open fires made it very romantic, welcoming and relaxing, it was only a short break but we really enjoyed it and would definitely return!

Many thanks again

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

If you ever want a relaxing, country hotel, with log fires, fantastic staff, great food and great selection of wines and bar drinks, with no fuss, nothing is too much trouble, everyone smiling, all with fantstic views of Lake Windermere, then Cragwood Hotel has to be your number 1 choice. Rooms are clean, very comfortable with all ameneties. Restaurant is one of the best, with good local fresh food all served with a smile but still with an acute attention to detail.
This place is a real gem!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My wife and I along with friends stayed for the New Year special break [2010/2011]

Staff fantastic, Service fantastic, Food fantastic. alround the best short break we have had. Enjoyed a great party with the other guests some of whom had been going there for many years

Because we booked late we ended up with the smallest bedroom but it had everything you need for a good nights sleep. Spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed,and very quiet once the party had finished.

The hotel is set in it's own very impresive ground on the banks of Lake Windamere and the views need to be seen.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foureyes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We went to Cragwood with friends for Xmas and had an absolutely wonderful time. Not sure where to start? We arrived on Xmas Eve to be shown to our rooms and then sample Louise's cream tea - the hand made chocs in our room were a lovely surprise - in fact the break was full of lovely surprises The menus were fantastic. I can see why people are coming back here each year. We ate at one large table and you got the feeling that you were at a very nice house party. The hotel limit the number of guests to 24ish and this was a really good balance, not too big and impersonal. We had a lovely trip on Windermere organised by the hotel as well as Carol service in Ambleside. There was a nice mixture of ages and although we are not always up for quizzes, we really had a good time with different things organised. But there was no pressure to take part if you didn't want to. The team of chefs here are outstanding and the food is every bit as good as a 5 star resatraurant. The manager Philip and his wife really made the break, nothing was too much trouble and the staff were amazing. I would definitely recommend having a break here, whether it be Christmas or other occasion. We could find no fauly whatsoever and are so pleased we stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We first stayed there when our daughter got married there seven years ago. The staff made this the best wedding anyone could ask for.
Since then have been going back every year, once and this year twice.
The hotel is situated right on the lakeside and has extensive gardens (Oh and a great gardener who always seems to wear shorts whatever the weather).
There are 5 things that make a good holiday superb. The hotel - the food - the staff - the location and the weather.
The first 4 cannot be faulted and the 5th being British we have to put up with.
Looking forward to next year’s break or breaks.

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnLane20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
23.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Property: Cragwood Country House Hotel
Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing