We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't stop returning to this hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This is our fourth visit to this hotel and the quality of service and comfort remains high. The hotel is divided into two, the new side appears to be for corporate clients whilst the old section is retained for private visitors. The old side is our favourite as the bedrooms overlook the lake. Rooms 1, 4 and 5 have spectacular views. The feel of the hotel is excellent and the staff attentive without being intrusive. The rooms are cleaned to a very high standard and the hotel has an air of security and tradition about it, even the floorboards creek. The food has been consistently high on each of our visits and the menu changed daily. Even though the hotel is used frequently for weddings, we have never been disturbed or inconvenienced by this. We shall return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
There are newer reviews for Cragwood Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 947 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

Our daughter and fiancee chose The Cragwood Country House Hotel to be their wedding venue. The charm, warmth, and stunning views across Lake Winderemere made it just the perfect place . . We met with Phillip the manager beforehand who put us at ease straight way with his his enthusiasm and humour , we also sampled the food which was excellent both then and on the day . The family arrived at the hotel on Friday July 1st in order to prepare for the wedding the day after Saturday July 2nd armed with an abundance of decor and trimmings , we thought it would take a good few hours to get it all in place,, this was certainly not the case... the staff team happily did it all, they were wonderful, and really did make the venue look amazing in no time giving us the opportunity to relax , unwind and enjoy the surrounding and pre wedding excitiment . As parents of the bride we were extremely touched by the care and concern shown by all the staff at the Cragwood , they could not do enough to ensure the celebrations were made extra special not only for the bride and groom but for all the wedding party . A huge thank you to Phillip and his team for their hard work, attention to detail and for helping to make Beth and Adams very special day memorable .

Elaine and Ian x

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EIRankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We recently got married at the Cragwood Country House Hotel (2nd July 2011) and had an amazing time. The hotel, staff, ambience and overall quality of our stay there was faultless!! We received so much support and advice leading up to our big day, the manager Philip was always on hand to see us and have a friendly chat, making us feel so comfortable and trusting in everything he did. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We really do recommend this place to everyone, not only for a wedding but for a relaxing haven in an idillic location. Brilliant staff, excellent service, top quality food, warm, welcoming and superb management! We have already booked to stay again! Thank you to everyone for making our wedding so special and making us feel like the main priority. Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rankinnagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We got married at the Cragwood in April and stayed from Friday till Sunday. Everything about the hotel was superb. The grounds and views are stunning and the building is beautiful, there is a terrace and bowling green at the back overlooking Lake Windermere that is ideal for sitting with a relaxing drink and enjoying the view, of for entertaining 100 guests!
The food was impeccable, from the bar snacks to the wedding breakfast and evening buffet. We were amazed at the high standard, quality and presentation. What made it for us was the staff, they were the friendliest and most helpful we have ever experienced, making our stay so enjoyable and our wedding day flow so smoothly. We could not thank the manager Philip enough. All our guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay too and some have already planned to return. We will definitely be going back for our first anniversary.
The hotel also has 1 night stays available which can be difficult to find in the Lake District as most have 2 night minimum stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L2travel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Spent 3 nights here last month. Staff welcoming and helpful Food delicious. Ideal for walking however rather isolated if this isn't your thing. Buses pass the bottom of the road either to Ambleside or Windermere . Grounds down to the Lake which would be lovely in summer however we unfortunately had gale force winds which made the Lake look like a rough sea!
Rooms quite adequate and comfortable with all usual amenities
Would return when next in the Lakes

Room Tip: Ask for Lake view we overlooked the car park !
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

4 couples vacation visiting London, Paris, Lucerne, and the Lakes. This was our best experience! The staff was excellent and personable for our 3 night stay. Rooms (2 upstairs/2 first floor) were great and serviced each morning while we were at breakfast. The multiple sitting rooms and alcoves provided privacy and were ideal for our group as we reviewed the day's excursions over a "Pint" from one of the two hotel bars. The hotel gardens and grounds were captivating and superbly maintained. Although the hotel was fully booked, it was quiet and we were treated like we were the only residents. The staff made us feel special! The food in the hotel is excellent - we ate in the hotel two of the three nights we stayed in the Lakes. Plenty to do and see at the hotel with garden trails, lawn game area, and boat house. We will be back!

Room Tip: Let the staff know your needs. All rooms were nic
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BamsDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights as part of a literary tour of England. Our guide booked the entire hotel for our group and I can't say enough good things about the place. The food was superb - 5 star! We Americans were expecting the English food to be bland and boring - boy, were we wrong. The grounds of the hotel are magnificent. We would come back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £112 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing