We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect midweek break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Professional and friendly staff, superb service with nothing being too much trouble.

Food magnificent, imaginative and beautifully presented.

Couldn't be better

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colmce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

Superb stay. Comfortable room with spectacular views. Delightful staff. Food to die for. It was like staying in someone's lovely home. Gardens were a picture. Manager and staff to be congratulated on a first class establishment. Hope to be back in the autumn to see the changing colours.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 5 with a dual aspect overlooking garden and lakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodlander62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed 3 nights for a wedding and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and the wedding day ran like clockwork. We were lucky with the weather , the gardens looked beautiful and we held the ceremony in the gazebo. The food was excellent and beautifully presented, the staff were attentive and friendly. We even had a boat trip round lake windermere from the hotel jetty (booked independently). Our party filled the entire hotel and we didn't hear anyone who was disatisfied with any aspect of their stay. We would definately recommend a stay here and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisnsuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My wive and i stayed just for one night their was a wedding on but we were treated by the staff like we were the only guests,i forgot my i phone but i soon stopped worrying when the kind staff left it in an envelope for me we well 100% be back

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed for a family triple celebration, of a 40th wedding anniversary, 65th and 75th birthday.
Staff welcoming, helpful and always smiling. We stayed in the older part of the hotel and booked 5 rooms overlooking the lake, all the rooms have recently be redecorated to a very high standard, were large, well equipped, very clean and with magnificent views.
We now need to go on a diet as the food was exceptional and the service could not be faulted
This would be about our 10th stay at the hotel and it always seems to get better with each stay.
Would highly recommend this hotel for either a short break or a long stay and what a wonderful location to hold your wedding. We know because our Daughter was married here a few years ago, we and all the guests had a wonderful time thanks to the staff and especially the manager Phillip how goes out of his way to look after you.
See you again soon

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnLane20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

What a great time was had by all. The staff were so helpful and friendly even though we were drunk and the last to leave the party. I would stay here again like that, but unfortunately its out of my normal price range. Would have to be a special occasion. The views are fantastic, its well placed. The minor things that I found and they would not put me off coming was the room needed a bit of TLC, but as they only get to do 2 rooms a year its hardly surprising. lacking on spare plug sockets, the cord from the kettle to plug was a bit tight and I wouldn't have fancied having kids in the room while the kettle was boiling, though I could've moved the table. My room was over the reception and it would've been nice to have blinds (or something similar) as well as curtains as getting dressed meant having the curtains closed and lights on so that you didn't flash your bits to anyone coming in from the carpark, or sat out having a smoke. Like I said minor things that wouldn't put me off.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Myself and my wife got married at the cragwood on Saturday the 23rd of July and i cannot give enough praise to Philip Louise 1, Lousie 2, Rob and all the other members of his staff at the Cragwood. From the moment that we walked into view the hotel to the time we very reluctantly left the day after the ceremony nothing was to much trouble and everything went without a hitch and any last minute problems were sorted with a minimum of fuss and no stress to my bride.
Unlike all of the other hotels that we viewed we were asked what we wanted and not told what we would get.
The efficency of the hotel staff was always noticed everything was done with a minimum of fuss and great efficency, they are obviously a very well oiled machine and a good team.
The food was exellent our wedding breakfast was a great success very high qualtiy with good portions. Both kids and grown ups were catered for and the hotel was also able to provide choices for those in our party with special dietry needs.
We were blessed with brilliant weather and this enabled our guests to enjoy the gardens with the kids running wild on the front lawn! We also booked one of the lake cruises for our wedding party in the evening which was enjoyed by all, again the cragwood booked this for us saving us the trouble.
All of our guests commented on what a great day they had, on the quality of the hotel and its food, several have told us they plan to return to the hotel again in the future.

The hotel itself is in a fantastic location on the side of windermere half way between Ambleside and Windermere, set in beautiful gardens and with a front patio area that you will be very reluctantly drawn away from as my partner found out. The views of the langdales are spectactular. Within the hotel all of the rooms are exellent that ive stopped in (have stayed on a number of times while working in the area) but i would stress if you can get them rooms 1 4 and 5 have some of the best views you can ever hope to have, as long as the weather is with you!
All of the public areas are very relaxing and the standard of the decoration and furniture is exellent throughout the hotel.

In short if your thinking of getting married in the lake district go straight to the cragwood you will not find a better venue, you wont find more helpful staff and you wont find better views or food!

We look forward to going back myself i will be using the hotel when working in the area and as a married couple we will be going back to enjoy this wonderful hotel again and all that the lakes has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howardwebb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,125 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £89 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing