We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay, superb food, wonderful service, lovely room, can't wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had a beautiful room that was very well equipped. The food was excellent - all home-made with very good choice. The wine list was varied and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. It was lovely to sit on a rainy morning by the log fire drinking coffee and reading a good book - utter bliss.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
There are newer reviews for Cragwood Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

We are regular visitors to this hotel, but took advantage of one of the web site offers which makes it even more enjoyable! It was a winter wonderland of snow and our dogs had a super time as well. It was great to sit in front of the log fire to warm up after our walks. We were made very welcome and the food in the restaurent was excellent. The staff are very friendly, especially Andrew, who always make some time for a chat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

spent two nights on dbbb, staff were brilliant, food was superb,will have third stay later in the year

Room Tip: had two different rooms both were excellent
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Christmas at Cragwood is a delightful house party experience. The number of guests is limited to ensure that ambiance. Philip and his staff ensure that the comprehensive programme of entertainment runs like clockwork. Nothing is forgotten - Santa, loaded with presents makes a welcome appearance. Above all, the food is superb with a great variety of meals from Chinese to Italian with of course a traditional Christmas Day lunch and a Gala dinner on Boxing night. It is no wonder that some guests return year after year. I hope to join them in 2012.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lodger3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Our first Christmas at cragwood..what a place..Phillip & staff wonderful..food great..rooms lovely..other guest's great fun..everything laid on..our best christmas..thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

It's hard to add to what previous reviewers have said - certainly no-one has exaggerated how good this hotel and its staff are.
We stayed for a few days just before Christmas. It was very quiet but instead of taking a breather, Phillip and his team were on top form! Our large and airy room was delightful with exceptional views of the Lake The food must again be given special mention. It is undeniably top class. Imaginative, modern and absolutely delicious. We stayed 3 nights and each evening the menu changed. The vegetarian dishes were sublime! And no, I am not a vegetarian. Breakfast was just as good - fresh, and beautifully cooked and presented. If you are remotely thinking of going for the smoked haddock at breakfast...do so! There is happiness and contentment here - it shines out! Phillip has put together a team that far surpasses one's expectations.
Thank You - we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinandWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We took a mid-christmas break, arriving 27th departing 30th, we had super time, considering they had just finished the christmas rush and were now gearing up for the new year bookings they could have been forgiven if service etc was a little off peak! NO WAY! from the warm, inviting bedroom, super food and great service (which was constant) Cragwood is very much on top of the game at all times, my husband was unwell (recovering from an illness) which meant we spent a great deal of time sitting in front of the log fire...which was at all times huge and warm, the afternoon sandwich's and tea were great......the best ever, we had a super break and would / have recomended this hotel, so much so that when a family member comes over from South Africa we are booking a break at Cragwood.

Room Tip: we were in room five in the older part, lots of charm, loved the old stone windows.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £112 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing