We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We had a brilliant time at Cragwood. The food is divine, the service friendly and extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We had a nice newly decorated room with shiny new bathroom and courtyard view. Our dogs were welcome and we all enjoyed the beautiful walks around the area.
This is our second visit to Cragwood, and it won't be our last.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are the best apparently. It didn't matter to us but for a special occasion I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JossyBnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob T, TripAdvsior Coo-ordiantor at Cragwood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear JossyBnt,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cragwood.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel, and enjoyed the food as well as our wonderful views.

Hope it not too long before you return and keep and eye out for more offer on our website.

Best Wishes
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

I particularly like the professional, but friendly approach of the staff who go out of their way to be helpful. The food is excellent and as good as many of the best restaurants I have eaten in. The location is delightful with views from the lounges over the lake. A brilliant centre for walking.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had our wedding breakfast and reception here recently and we had an amazing time. The hotel staff, (Rob especially) were superb and nothing was too much trouble. We had just over 60 for the day do and around 100 for the the evening reception. These are perfect numbers for the size of the hotel. The food was excellent and the pork baps and chips for the evening do were bang on. The venue which sits high over Windermere with far reaching views over the lake and surrounding fells is perfectly placed to take anyone's breath away. The hotel has a jetty and as part of the celebrations we had a boat to take our party out on the lake which the hotel organized. With 23 rooms of varying sizes and views it was filled quickly with our party, the remainder found accommodation easily nearby, some of them in the Brierywood Hotel, sister to Cragwood and 2 mins away by car. The hotel size also meant that there were no other parties in the hotel which can sometimes cause problems. To summarize, our day was amazing, I'm glad we had it at Cragwood and would recommend the hotel to parties of a similar size. It has a great atmosphere, relaxed and friendly but still classy at a great price. Cragwood, thankyou.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lofthausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob T, Wedding Co-ordinator at Cragwood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear Lofthausen,

Thank you for taking the time to review you're wedding at Cragwood.

We are delighted that you had a fantastic day, as your wedding should be, and that you and your guest had a wonderful time.

We hope to see you again when you celebrate your first anniversary.

Kind Regards
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were fortunate in having this hotel at a very quiet time, with a most tasteful and comfortable room, with a gorgeous view. Dinner was truly excellent, staff extremely welcoming and relaxed, and with spacious and delightful lounge facilities. The hotel buildings and situation could not be bettered for impact. To add to the pleasure, value for money was outstanding. We arrived in late afternoon, having missed lunch owing to road holdups, and got a superb snack prepared almost on the instant, so felt cosseted immediately. We travel a great deal, and would rank this hotel right at the top, in its class.

Room Tip: Room 5 is particularly charming, but all rooms are quiet and well furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MethuselahSeaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob T, TripAdvisor Co-ordinator at Cragwood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear MethuselahSeaford,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cragwood. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel, and enjoyed the food as well as our wonderful views.
Keep a look our for more of our great offers on our website, and hope it won't be too long before you return.
Kind Regards
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Excellent all round. Good location for walking. As a group of twelve we were well accommodated. Great value. Dining was excellent. Chef catered for one of our party with special ditary needs. Staff especially our waiter Andrew were delightful without being over attentive. I cannot pick anything to cticise. We have booked again for April 2013.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part ,1,3,5,6 are particularly good with lake views. However some of our party in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanLeamingtonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We have just returned from our second break as part of a group of 12 friends who enjoy walking. Standards at Cragwood are excellent, from the general ambience of the lounges and dining room to the comfortable bedrooms. The staff are friendly and helpful as well as professional, even asking the gardener to come in when we asked the identity of the table flowers. Menus for dinner were varied and meals were of a very high standard and well presented. Cragwood is certainly to be recommended.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a wonderful bow window overlooking the lake but the bathroom is small. We were more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob T, TripAdvisor Co-ordinator at Cragwood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Walker507,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cragwood. We are delighted that you have en excellent time with your friends, and the Chef's are pleased that you enjoyed the food. I see that you have already booked to come back next year and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

A group of us took over the hotel in March for a weekend based on half board.
On the Friday and Saturday night we had set menus which were superb. Even so they were quick to offer a different course of food if anyone wanted to change.
The staff were so attentive and the whole weekend was a fabulous success.
Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank modewheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £108 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing