We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

From the moment we first looked around Cragwood, we knew it was right for us because the staff were amazing. We really felt confident that they were the experts, giving tips and advice but respectful that it's your day and never forcing anything on us. We came away knowing our special day would not only be incredible, it would be stress free too...and it was!

It's in a fabulous location, with great views and back-drops for photos and lovely expansive gardens for children to run around in. If the weather is kind, you can get married outside looking over Lake Windermere. You can also arrange to take a cruise around the lake from their pier.

The rooms are varied, which offers your guests flexibility; we had a couple of family rooms and the suite is a good size for getting ready in! You need to take over one half of the hotel, but this is perfect because you feel like you’re in your own private country house! They are well equipped and tastefully decorated, fitting with the surroundings and the style of the house.

We eat out often, so to have a decent menu and wine choice was important to us. We opted for one of the set menu choices and didn't feel the need to change it (although if you want to you can). The Manager, Philip, is very knowledgeable and keeps an excellent cellar – the “House” champagne, in particular, is brilliant and very well priced. All our guests commented on how excellent the food and drink were.

Philip and his team organised everything for us - a boat trip, flowers for the table, peculiarities for our guests, and made sure the day flowed smoothly. We just turned up and had a ball! And on the day, we hardly noticed they were there - a true sign of excellent service.

Whether for a wedding or, simply, for a beautiful Lake District location, we couldn't recommend Cragwood highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaynorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

884 - 890 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

We had 2 nights in this glorious castle- like hotel set in woodland and manicured garden environments, the hotel overlooks Lake Windermere and is truly in a prime position. The room we had garden and lake views. It was spotless, the bed was large and comfortable, and there was even a spare bed that doubled as a place to put books and bits and pieces. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast option. The breakfasts were excellent with a great variety of cooked option, as well as the buffet options. Dinners were truly excellent...certainly the best we have for a long time...not sure if it is rated, but it is right up there. The staff were fantastic, efficient and friendly. We could find no fault. initially we thought it was a bit pricey, but in this case you pay for what you get, and some !!!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My partner and I have just returned from celebrating our friends wedding at the Cragwood Country House Hotel and our experience was excellent. The staff in particular are exceptional - courteous, friendly and attentive and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is delicious and varied, and the location is stunning with views over Lake Windemere and well maintained pretty gardens outside. Our room (overlooking the carpark) was spacious, very quiet, with a huge bed and recently refurbished bathroom, all of which is of a great standard. A super hotel which we both recommend highly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I am happy about our choice of Cragwood Country House Hotel. There are so many hotels in the Lakes so it is not easy to make a decision. Our lake view room was spacious and interesting, beautifully decorated, but not faceless. The food was well cooked and varied,with excellent service. The whole house and gardens are well maintained. What was important for us though was it was all comfortable and relaxing. Just what we needed. Try it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed 1 night for a wedding held in the hotel, my wife and I thought it was a really good hotel, only let down by being put into the one bedroom that wasn't en suite. However, we were charged less than the others, so I am not complaining.
Beautiful formal garden, woods to wander through down to the lake and a number of attractive public rooms to choose from.
The wedding breakfast, prepared by the hotel's restaurant, was excellent, as was breakfast next day, and the organisation for the wedding appeared to be spot on.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregseygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Just come back from 2 nights at Cragwood to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We were staying on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate. We booked late so had a garden rather than lake view room but it was lovely all the same. Room was very large with lovely window seat and bed was huge!

Dinner in the cosy dining room on both nights was faultless. Four courses followed by coffee and handmade chocolates. Extensive wine list with choices for all budgets. Breakfast was also lovely with a good range of options aside from the excellent full english.

Staff couldn't have been more helpful both before and during our stay.

It's a fair walk (20mins+) to Windermere or Ambleside meaning you would probably stay in the hotel after dinner but there is a bus stop right at the end of the drive if you want to get in to town quicker.

A great break and exactly what we wanted. Thanks Cragwood!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This was our 10th stay at the hotel and it some how still mangaes to keep its standards very high, in the rooms, the food and the ever helpful staff. Even when other places are cutting back the Cragwood still offers the best. We will be going back soon to sample the Cragwood experience, come and join us, but do'nt tell every one or we may not get in.

Room Tip: Look at the special offers they are great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnLane20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear JohnLane20,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cragwood.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel, and enjoyed the food as well as our wonderful views.

Hope it not too long before you return and keep and eye out for more offer on our website.

Best Wishes
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £108 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing