We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Enjoyed an enjoyable anniversary break here last weekend. Location and setting fabulous. All staff were engaged and keen to make you feel welcome . Evening dinner was top class. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agdzzz_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 931 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer.
We stayed in the old part of the hotel, with beautiful views over the spectacular gardens and lakes.

The room and hotel were wonderful. Everything is spotlessly clean, the food was to die for, and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
You are made to feel like you are the only guest in the hotel. I can not recommend the cragwood highly enough, and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msurtees79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I cannot find anything negative to say about Cragwood . Having now stayed here on several occasions we are always delighted with the consitent standard of excellence. The setting and views from the bedroom are idyllic as well as the beautifully kept gardens and grounds leading down to the Lake Winderemere.
The food is always of a very high standard with a good choice,including vegetarian options.The restaurant service is always efficient and the staff in general are always eager to please and happy to meet any special requets. The decor is traditional and comfortable with no pretentions and the bedrooms clean and bright. We have tried other hotels but we always go back to Cragwood as we feel no where else in the region can compete on quality and value - it is outstanding in all areas.

Room Tip: if you want a terrific lake view ask for a room in the original part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DrP96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

From the moment we first looked around Cragwood, we knew it was right for us because the staff were amazing. We really felt confident that they were the experts, giving tips and advice but respectful that it's your day and never forcing anything on us. We came away knowing our special day would not only be incredible, it would be stress free too...and it was!

It's in a fabulous location, with great views and back-drops for photos and lovely expansive gardens for children to run around in. If the weather is kind, you can get married outside looking over Lake Windermere. You can also arrange to take a cruise around the lake from their pier.

The rooms are varied, which offers your guests flexibility; we had a couple of family rooms and the suite is a good size for getting ready in! You need to take over one half of the hotel, but this is perfect because you feel like you’re in your own private country house! They are well equipped and tastefully decorated, fitting with the surroundings and the style of the house.

We eat out often, so to have a decent menu and wine choice was important to us. We opted for one of the set menu choices and didn't feel the need to change it (although if you want to you can). The Manager, Philip, is very knowledgeable and keeps an excellent cellar – the “House” champagne, in particular, is brilliant and very well priced. All our guests commented on how excellent the food and drink were.

Philip and his team organised everything for us - a boat trip, flowers for the table, peculiarities for our guests, and made sure the day flowed smoothly. We just turned up and had a ball! And on the day, we hardly noticed they were there - a true sign of excellent service.

Whether for a wedding or, simply, for a beautiful Lake District location, we couldn't recommend Cragwood highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaynorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We had 2 nights in this glorious castle- like hotel set in woodland and manicured garden environments, the hotel overlooks Lake Windermere and is truly in a prime position. The room we had garden and lake views. It was spotless, the bed was large and comfortable, and there was even a spare bed that doubled as a place to put books and bits and pieces. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast option. The breakfasts were excellent with a great variety of cooked option, as well as the buffet options. Dinners were truly excellent...certainly the best we have for a long time...not sure if it is rated, but it is right up there. The staff were fantastic, efficient and friendly. We could find no fault. initially we thought it was a bit pricey, but in this case you pay for what you get, and some !!!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My partner and I have just returned from celebrating our friends wedding at the Cragwood Country House Hotel and our experience was excellent. The staff in particular are exceptional - courteous, friendly and attentive and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is delicious and varied, and the location is stunning with views over Lake Windemere and well maintained pretty gardens outside. Our room (overlooking the carpark) was spacious, very quiet, with a huge bed and recently refurbished bathroom, all of which is of a great standard. A super hotel which we both recommend highly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I am happy about our choice of Cragwood Country House Hotel. There are so many hotels in the Lakes so it is not easy to make a decision. Our lake view room was spacious and interesting, beautifully decorated, but not faceless. The food was well cooked and varied,with excellent service. The whole house and gardens are well maintained. What was important for us though was it was all comfortable and relaxing. Just what we needed. Try it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,442 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
537 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £89 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing