We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Outstanding Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This is the first time I've submitted a review but I so enjoyed my recent three day break at Cragwood that I felt I should share my experience.
This is a first rate country hotel in an idyllic setting.The public areas are spacious and attractive and my room was large and comfortable.The service was excellent and the staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful.The dinner menu provided a wide choice of interesting dishes which,when they arrived,were beautifully presented and absolutely delicious.As you can tell , I was very impressed and hope to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

Excellent in every way ! Staff extremely helpful. Food wonderful. My room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. Beautiful grounds and views across the lake. I would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken19561014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Service and the setting of this comfortable Hotel are exemplary. The staff are attentive and very accomodating nothing is too much trouble. The menu is varied with plenty of choice. All in all a very pleasant 3 night break.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. Wonderful setting with extensive gardens and grounds. The public rooms offer choice and are well appointed and comfortable. Large bedroom and just as comfortable. Dinner was first rate - excellent choices in menu each night. Staff friendly and helpful. I Recommend this hotel most warmly and I shall certainly return. A real find.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Enjoyed an enjoyable anniversary break here last weekend. Location and setting fabulous. All staff were engaged and keen to make you feel welcome . Evening dinner was top class. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agdzzz_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer.
We stayed in the old part of the hotel, with beautiful views over the spectacular gardens and lakes.

The room and hotel were wonderful. Everything is spotlessly clean, the food was to die for, and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
You are made to feel like you are the only guest in the hotel. I can not recommend the cragwood highly enough, and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msurtees79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I cannot find anything negative to say about Cragwood . Having now stayed here on several occasions we are always delighted with the consitent standard of excellence. The setting and views from the bedroom are idyllic as well as the beautifully kept gardens and grounds leading down to the Lake Winderemere.
The food is always of a very high standard with a good choice,including vegetarian options.The restaurant service is always efficient and the staff in general are always eager to please and happy to meet any special requets. The decor is traditional and comfortable with no pretentions and the bedrooms clean and bright. We have tried other hotels but we always go back to Cragwood as we feel no where else in the region can compete on quality and value - it is outstanding in all areas.

Room Tip: if you want a terrific lake view ask for a room in the original part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DrP96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £107 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing