We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another spectacular stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Another spectacular stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Room 15 was spacious, light, luxuriously comfortable.
The food was, as always, simply out of this world
The staff provided a first class service, across the board
Well done Cragwood and thank you for another truely spectacular stay.
We return in October.

Room Tip: My favourites are 1, 5, 15. There are also two modern rooms on the ground floor near reception whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMac68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    90
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
238
506
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

First off, if 'contemporary', 'bijou' or 'boutique' are high on your agenda, then don't stay here., however, if you go to a hotel wanting, above all, brilliant service, great food, and a comfortable bed then cragwood ticks all the boxes - I loved it, and especially cannot praise the staff highly enough. Only minus points I can think of we're a) the room tv was a bit 20th century, the full English didn't quite live up to the standards of the evening meals, and the floor plan was a little quirky to say the least. But overall, great.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank simon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We chose the Cragwood Country House hotel as our wedding reception venue and are so pleased that we did! Right from our first meeting with Phil, the General Manager, we felt at home at Cragwood. It is a stunning property, which feels special without feeling pretentious, and this is largely due to the relaxed and friendly team that work there. Nothing is too much trouble. Right from the initial days of getting things booked Phil was efficient in replying to emails and happy to help.

We arrived the day before the wedding and were offered so much support from the staff - the loan of their cake room for finishing off our cake, the lending of a cake board, sorting out last minute room changes, and general practicalities that crop up the day before a wedding.

On the day of the wedding I had last minute instructions for Phil (bride and groom mugs to be put out for the tea and coffee during the wedding breakfast! :-)). Phil didn't even look remotely flustered at yet another thing to remember on what must have been a really busy day for the team. Everything that we asked of Cragwood was delivered to the letter leaving myself and the family with absolutely no concerns - a great relief on a wedding day! I was so confident to leave the details in the teams capable hands because of the first class responses we'd had on the run up to the wedding.

I would not hesitate in recommending Cragwood as a wedding venue. The service from the team is second to none, the food is absolutely fabulous (truly outstanding when considering they had nearly 80 people to cater for for the wedding breakfast), the bedrooms in the old part of the hotel in particular are beautiful (with the most amazing views to wake up to on your wedding morning and the day after! You instantly feel relaxed and happy when you look out over Windermere towards the Langdales) and the grounds are simply stunning.

The staff at Cragwood understand that a wedding day is an important day for not just the bride and groom, but for all the family and friends, and everyone is treated with friendliness, efficiency and good humour.

If we could organise our wedding again I wouldn't change a thing. Cragwood would still be our number one choice for a romantic, relaxed, idyllic venue with service that is second to none.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Figo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We came to Cragwood for our daughter's wedding. A risky choice weather wise, and indeed we had mixed,at times,dramatic weather. However whatever the weather there is no denying the relaxed beauty of Cragwood and its grounds.
Phil, the manager, is quite a character (in a good way!) and the rest of the staff caring and competent. The interior is characterful in typical English country house style. The exterior is equally nice with well kept grounds and a path leading to the lake. The terrace affords views to die for.
The food was delicious and staff kept proceedings flowing on time. Unfortunately I only saw one member of staff on the bar and I was not the only one to have to walk away without a drink rather than waste precious time in a bar missing the evening reception.
We had room 5. A good sized dual aspect cream and blue room with excellent en suite. It was in the old part of the hotel where rooms varied hugely in size. Because of this it would be advisable to ring the hotel and tell them of your expectations so you will not be disappointed if room size is an issue.
Prices are quite high but not unusual for this part of the country and the extensive grounds are surely worth the extra.
Part of the appeal of Cragwood is that it seems to have its own, very high ,informal standards not overly affected by fashion. It displays a uniqueness that I will remember for years to come. Thanks Phil and all the staff!

Room Tip: Room 1 is the bridal suite and large. Room 5 dual aspect and a good size.2 and 3 are small by todays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigermoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We booked a two night stay at Cragwood the day before travel after also looking at their sister hotels Merewood and Briery Wood.

The location of this hotel is fabulous it is right on the shore of Lake Windermere. A short stroll through the grounds takes you directly to the lake side. The hotel is also set back from the road therefore it is in a very tranquil setting. There is a jetty next door to the hotel at Brockhole Visitor Centre where you can board a boat for a trip round the lake.

The staff are FIRST CLASS and a real credit to the hotel.

The public rooms are beautiful.

The food at the hotel was lovely. We had a cream tea, dinner and breakfast. The croissants were the best I've had.

We were slightly disappointed with the bedrooms however given the cost and grandeur of the property.

We were initially in room 3 which is situated in the old part of the hotel with lovely views of the lake. The room itself was an adequate size and decorated in keeping with the style of the peoperty. The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. There was a fire door in the room which unfortunately meant we could hear everything from the room next door and also the shower room was the smallest I've ever seen and was not comfortable to use. After one night we asked if there were any other rooms available and we were immediately offered an alternative room by the staff no questions asked.

Our second room was 18 which is situated in the new part of the hotel. This is a large room with lovely views over the garden and pond with a modern bathroom. Once again the room was spotless and the large bed very comfortable. This room looks quite ordinary but with a few tweaks this room could have a wow factor.

We felt the price paid was expensive for a three star hotel however would return if there was a special offer available.

Room Tip: Room 3 is small but lovely and is in the old part of the hotel with a great view of the lake however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minihaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed two nights for my niece's wedding. The setting of this hotel is perfect with wonderful views of Lake Windermere. The wedding day was idyllic with delicious food, and a charming wood-panelled reception room, although because we were a larger wedding of 85 guests we were split into two rooms where some people didn't have a view of the top table. The evening disco was excellent and there are plenty of comfortable smaller rooms where guests can escape the noise. But the best thing about this hotel is the staff - they are amazing. Nothing is too much trouble and their answer to any request is "yes, of course". I had to assemble and finish decorating the wedding cake the day before and they allowed the use of their dedicated cake room and staff were so helpful and friendly, even providing us with a forgotten cake board. I didn't hear one word of criticism all weekend and Cragwood certainly madeit a wedding to remember.

Room Tip: The rooms on the older side of the hotel are smaller and room 2 is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Cragwood and had high expectations given the glowing reviews posted and the price we paid! Here's our impressions of the hotel and our experience:
Staff - With the exception of one breakfast waiter (more of that later) the staff here are excellent, they are knowledgeable of the area and always happy and enthusiastic and had a great attitude towards our 10 year old. I would like to mention the young Scottish guy who was one of the waiters at dinner who was especially good.
Room - We had a family room in the newer part of the hotel. Pro's: Large room, spotlessly clean with large comfortable beds, no pull out or sofa bed for the child, a proper bed which is really helpful for them getting a decent sleep! Con's: The bathroom was small, especially if you had a small child who needed help with bathing etc, the decor and furniture while well maintained was very dated and for the price of the rooms I would have expected this to be more up to date. The bathroom in particular with it's beige suite, orange wallpaper and pink and grey tiles looked like it had probably last been updated in the early nineties.
Dinner - We decided to have dinner on the first night paid for in advance as part of the room cost. Pro's: the canapés while you looked at the menu were a nice touch, the starters were all very tempting (except I thought that having pigeon with pasta was an odd combination) and the desserts were delicious and they were happy to let us have an extra course (the cheese board) after our desserts which they didn't charge for. Our 10 year old commented that the sticky toffee pudding was the best he'd ever had. Con's: The main courses weren't very inspiring, my beef was fine but for the price I would have expected a steak option and the lamb option again was rump rather than rack. The wine list was quite extensive which was good, however it wasn't cheap which is fine if it's nice wine but I was disappointed that they never once poured the wine, not even when it was first given to us, towards the end the waitress started to take it away without checking the bottle was empty, which it wasn't! The children's menu was a bit disappointing, just the usual chicken nuggets and chips etc (although I will say the chips were handmade and very tasty).
Breakfast - Pro's: very tasty haddock, nice selection of cereals and pastries, good tea and coffee, plenty of toast. Con's: The waiter on the first morning didn't seem interested at all, our 10 year old's breakfast was wrong when it came, he didn't ask how we wanted our eggs he just assumed we wanted fried, didn't offer any sauces, didn't come back to ask how it was and seemed a bit put out when we asked if there was more orange juice as the jug was empty. The breakfast overall was fine but certainly not near the best I've had in a hotel.
Location - excellent, especially if you have kids as it's right next door to the Brockhole Centre with adventure playground, Tree Top Trek and jetty for the boats around the lake. There is also excellent views.
Overall hotel - I would recommend asking for a room on the lake side of the hotel as this part was the nicer side. There is an odd part connecting the side we stayed in to the part where the dining room was (there was a dining room on our side of the hotel but I'm not sure why this wasn't used), you walked through what was really part of the kitchen/staff area, I thought we were going the wrong way! The hotel has free wi-fi, however the only place we could get a signal was in the lounge where the router was, perhaps a better one with a longer range is needed as our room was above the lounge area but we had no signal there!
I actually wanted to give 3.5 out of 5 because it was a ok but not as good as we expected, I didn't feel that the £400+ we paid over 2 nights was good value. If there was a rating just for staff they'd get 5 out of 5 but there needs to be a bit more attention to detail to lift this hotel to the standard it could be at. We probably wouldn't choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view/lake side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob T, Tripadvisor Co-ordinator at Cragwood Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear Gemma F

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about our Hotel.

I am sorry that you didn’t find the hotel up to your standards and that you did not have the true “Cragwood Experience”. We have taken on board some of your comment, however there are a few that I would like to respond to:

Room 20 is due to be refurbished later this year. Due to financial restrictions and the fact the room has been constantly occupied over the summer period, we have been unable to refurbish the room earlier.

As to our dinner menu we have a highly experienced and trained chefs in our kitchen and with the menu changing each night, we take pride in our food using local ingredients in all our dishes. We trust our chefs very much and we use his experience in menu creation so the Pigeon with Penne Pasta and preferring a Steak option and Rack of lamb is clearly a choice matter.

As to the children’s menu, with our many years experience in hospitality this what children who stay at Cragwood prefer this menu.

With breakfast if you noticed sauce are placed on the buffet table for guests to help themselves to when they wished.

The corridor next to the kitchen that you walked though is the main connection between the old side and new side, most of our guest enjoy walking though there because they get to talk to the chef and staff, also we have nothing to hide from our guest so we see it as a benefit rather than a deterrence.

As to the price you paid £400, which breaks down, to £95 per adult on Dinner, B&B, (this is a special dinner, B&B price that we gave you otherwise it would normally been £110) for the night you had dinner and £75 per adult B&B, standard B&B price, and £30 per child B&B Standard Price Child B&B price, plus any food your child has.

Hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

Rob Timms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Windermere
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Property: Cragwood Country House Hotel
Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing