We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not want ot leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Did not want ot leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

we stayed at the cragwood , august 20th for 4 nights with 2 children and our puppy ,
our stay was great , we were made to feel very welcome , the food service and hospitality were excellent and to a high standard .
would not hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone . we can"t wait to return

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    88
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
215
484
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Yorks
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

My partner & I stayed here for the night over the bank holiday weekend. Wow what a find it was, from start to end it was such a fantastic experience. Every staff member couldn't do enough and the room we had was just out of this world! Lake views with a four poster bed & was all modern but still with a traditional country feel! Towels and bedding were to die for!!!!!! We will def be back with all our family too!! Thank you Cragwood, you certainly ticked all the boxes for us.

Room Tip: Lake view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

I stayed at the Cragwood this week with a friend, as a belated birthday trip. We had a lovely room in the more modern side which overlooked the pond at the side of the building. We could actually see the lake through the trees, which was nice.
The room was very comfortable and had a proper kettle with plenty of tea and coffee. A nice touch was the packs of cookies!
The bathroom, as everyone says, was beautiful with a wonderful shower and gleaming white tiles. The towels were the fluffiest I have seen in a hotel for a long time!
The choices at breakfast were very good, a selection of cereals, croissants and lovely yoghurts.
The hotel generally was warm and welcoming and very relaxing to be in. The grounds were extensive and extremely well cared for with lovely walks down to the lake.
There is ample car parking and the hotel, although easy to find, feels out of the way and quiet, as it is situated down a long driveway.
It's perfectly situated between Windemere and Ambleside, so plenty of dining choices if you want to eat out.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay so much that I have just booked a longer return visit, this time with my husband.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, it's a gem - and I'm am very picky!

Room Tip: Just ask for the best available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I reserved at Cragwood because I wanted a magical place to celebrate my boyfriend and I 8th anniversary. And a wasn't disapointed! My room was huge with a view on the lake. And with a baldaquin bed. Felt like I was a princess. We went for a walk around Cragwood and they have a beautiful garden going into the forest and then joining the lake. Amazing surroundings. Then we had beer at the pub of Cragwood. Just what we needed after a travel journey. The dinner at night was just perfect. Great choice and great taste. The people working there from the restaurant to the front desk are really nice and friendly. It was just Magical, Romantic and perfect!
By taxi not far away from Windermere center, beautiful walks to do from the hotel, Iove the lake district and i just found the place where to stay! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabrinouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

My husband and I have just spend three nights at this lovely hotel and everything about our stay was faultless. The staff were friendly and effiicent, our room was delightful, and the breakfast was perfectly cooked. We had fantastic views from our bedroom, and the gardens were beautifully tended - we even saw the gardener cutting the grass in the rain! There were some nice touches, like all the magazines and games for guest use, and the "help yourself" fruit bowls in reception areas. Dinner was a treat in itself - the evening meal is to die for and was consistently excellent every night. Thank you to all the staff at the hotel for making our anniversary break so memorable - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipbuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We recently stayed at Cragwood for 2 nights, during our stay in the lakes we got married at kendal and wanted a nice romantic hotel to stay in and we were not disappointed with our choice. We would like to say a massive thankyou to the lady on reception(maybe Lesley) sorry we didn't catch peoples names, the two gentlemen and lady who served us our evening meal and even decorated our table with 'just married' decorations on our wedding night you made it extra special for us, the kitchen staff who cooked us an exceptional meal (and breakfasts) and decorated our chocolate plate with 'congratulations, just married' you all made our stay memorable and we will definitely be back, maybe on our first anniversary with the baby ;)

Many Thanks to you all.
All the best
Jamie & Louise

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 242roberto242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

The Cragwood is like a guilty secret. I don't really want too many people to know about it as it feels like my very own country house ! However, this is for the staff to read. We stayed for two nights last week. Thank you for the warm welcome, the wonderful food, the relaxed atmosphere that makes you feel at home there. On top of all that, the large terrace, the private lakefront and the views both down the lake and up to the Langdale Pikes make it such a special location.
If you read this, please don't tell anyone !

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasiders36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
23.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Property: Cragwood Country House Hotel
Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing