We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, cannot wait for our wedding reception here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place, cannot wait for our wedding reception here”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My partner, 1 year old daughter and myself have just returned from a one night stay here. We had already decided to book this place for our wedding reception but wanted to sample the food and the service. Well after our stay I can honestly say i'm even more excited for our wedding! The food was absolutely delicious and the staff couldn't do enough to help (even when our daughter was throwing her food all over the floor). The service at dinner was so efficient. We've stayed at other hotels in the Lakes but some can be slightly 'stuffy' but that is not the case here. The grounds and hotel are immaculate and the views are some of the best i've seen. I really can't wait for all our family and friends to sample the delights of Cragwood now.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    90
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
235
505
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2012 for my partner's birthday. Couldn't fault the place - rooms comfortable, food excellent, service impecable, grounds beautiful.

We particularly liked being served canapes in teh bar whilst studying the menu, which changed each noght, then being shown to our table when the starter was ready.

We didn't finish our bottle of wine the first night (not like us!) so the staff happily put a cork in it & saced it til, the next night - perhaps not one for the purists, but welcome for the thrifty!

Would recommend unreservedly.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 'old' building overlooking the lake are especially good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln_Imp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Cragwood Hotel, were we met our old friends from County Durham. They are very discerning, and knowing they have been visiting the hotel for over twenty years, I knew we would not be disappointed.
The accomodation was excellent and the service exemplary. Breakfasts are of the highest quality. The setting with walks down to the lake side is just fabulous.
We will certainly book again, when we holiday in the Lake District, hopefully next year.
Just one point of constructive feedback. Given the number of fine, locally produced real ales, it would have been nice to be able to order a pint at the bar, rather than go searching local hostelries.

JDO
Buckinghamshire.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDO500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My wife and myself had the pleasure of four lovely nights stay here for our silver wedding. The staff were brilliant and nothing was to much bother it felt a real homely atmosphere throughout the whole stay.
The food was wonderful and a good choice every evening with different dishes available each evening and not repetitive.
Will definitely return here agian and recommend this little gems to our friends.
Thanks to all the hotel staff you's are brilliant.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a lovely lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graemeb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My family always go to a very special country house hotel in Perthshire for special treats, (I will not name it (with all it's turrets!!!)) but we can honestly say, the quality of the food at Cragwood is far superior to this.

The staff are amazing, always there ready to provide an exceptional service without being intrusive. The grounds are manicured within an inch of their life. The setting is perfect, right on the lake. The room was very big, massive bed, windows which you could open to enjoy the fresh air but most importantly for me, they have a number of rooms which welcome dogs and our precious Jack Russell thought it was perfect.

I just can't fault this hotel in any way. I really hope I'll get a chance to stay again.

Room Tip: Sorry, didn't mean to select Fitness Centre, there isn't one. Who would want one in a Count...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My boyfriend and I came to a friends wedding here this weekend and everything was absoultely perfect!
The setting is breathtaking, the staff were fantastic and the food was phenomenal!

I would recommend to anyone planning a wedding to choose here, or just great for a weekend away!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

we stayed at the cragwood , august 20th for 4 nights with 2 children and our puppy ,
our stay was great , we were made to feel very welcome , the food service and hospitality were excellent and to a high standard .
would not hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone . we can"t wait to return

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Windermere
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Property: Cragwood Country House Hotel
Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing