We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 days of bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed at the Cragwood in early Sept, for 4 days 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The location was perfect for us to do a bit of walking, the hotel was picturesque and quite quiet although it was nearly full. The staff were attentive, polite, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was exreemly good, 4 courses plus lovely hand made chocs with our coffee. Our room was quiet, which we liked, the bed was biig and very comfortable.We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
There are newer reviews for Cragwood Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is not the most modern hotel BUT IT IS one of the best for value, friendliness, quality of food and all round care!

We took our 85 year old mother - nothing was too much trouble including lending a nightie which she had forgotten, offering use of wheelchair, great advice for where to take her re access, fabulous generous brekfasts (you could cut back on amount of toast you leave out - there seemed to be loads going back!) and the beds were very comfortable and rooms were quiet.

We would certainly go back again with her!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELIZABETHJACKSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

If you like the Derbyshire or Yorkshire Dales as we do, you'll love the scenery here - rolling hills, stunning Lake Windermere and stone-laden houses that all contribute somehow to the slowing down of the pace from city life. The Hotel is a converted stately home, still with its creaks, but just about brought into modernity. If you like spacious rooms, lounges and bars, good English food and a bit of 'northern' you'll love it! Make sure you're not after good weather as this is not guaranteed or a cut-price deal as the cost leans towards high, otherwise indulge and enjoy.

Room Tip: Take a lake trip
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We booked a one night stay at Cragwood, there were only a few rooms left, so we booked a double room with a courtyard view. On checking in, we were shown to a small but beautifully furnished room, with fantastic views over the garden and lake! We took our dog with us and the hotel staff welcomed him as warmly as they greeted us. The grounds were great for walking (with or without a dog), with a path leading down to the lake. The hotel was busy, but the atmosphere was very relaxed, thanks to the roaring log fires, comfy lounge sofas and friendly helpful staff. We didn't use the dining room but had our tea in the bar so that the dog could be with us (the dining room is the only place in the hotel that dogs aren't allowed), and the bar food was of a really high standard and plentiful. I really recommend this hotel - it's halfway between Windermere and Ambleside too, so great for exploring. Gorgeous hotel in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

You won't be at all disappointed with Cragwood. Perfect setting, right on the lake. Gorgeous, well kept grounds To stroll around and with fabulous views. I booked for 3 nights but stayed for 6 and will probably return before the holiday is over. Handy location. Next to Brockhole for the ferry into Ambleside and Bowness. Food is great for breakfast and dinner. Staff are friendly and helpful. Top value.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelquest23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have just returned from a three night break at this hotel after reading the reviews on here. It lived up to all expectations and more! When we arrived at the hotel we were immediately greeted by the warm and genuinely friendly staff that cannot do enough for you. When we saw the view of the lake and the beautiful grounds my mother was moved to tears! The rooms are exceptional-huge, comfortable beds, fluffy towels, tea and coffee. Then there's the food- delicious! Be prepared to put on a few pounds.
We loved it so much we have already booked in again-can't wait.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAOCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My partner, 1 year old daughter and myself have just returned from a one night stay here. We had already decided to book this place for our wedding reception but wanted to sample the food and the service. Well after our stay I can honestly say i'm even more excited for our wedding! The food was absolutely delicious and the staff couldn't do enough to help (even when our daughter was throwing her food all over the floor). The service at dinner was so efficient. We've stayed at other hotels in the Lakes but some can be slightly 'stuffy' but that is not the case here. The grounds and hotel are immaculate and the views are some of the best i've seen. I really can't wait for all our family and friends to sample the delights of Cragwood now.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £112 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing