We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Having stayed at numerous hotels in the Lakes we had experience of knowing where to stay however on this occasion we came across Cragwood and took a chance and booked it despite never beenhere before and we were not dissapointed. As is normall we requested a lake view but none were available and we were allocated a ground floor room, what a beautifully furnished room, comfortable bed and very modern bathroom complete with heated mirrors, a door opening onto a patio which in an unusually mild January was a blessing and the sound of running water from the fish pond very soothing. I could not write a review and not mention the food, it was superb, the presentation was perfect and the cooking faultless both at breakfast and particularly dinner, from the canapes to the petit fours, where the kitchen had an opportunity to shine. We would certainly not hesitate to recommend the hotel and will certainly return again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

800 - 806 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

We've just returned from the most fabulous Christmas at Cragwood. The three night break was packed with sensational food, brilliant service, amusing entertainment & activities, as well as stunning views and excellent guests (these do make a hotel extra special!)

Every member of staff ensure you're needs are looked after, nothing is ever a problem. From kitchen, to front of house to housekeeping and gardening, they all are a real credit to Philip, the never tiring, never ageing, Peter Pan of the Lakes!

We can't wait to go back, oh hold on, we are, tomorrow!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiMac365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have stayed several times at this hotel and never been disappointed. We last stayed in December 2012 two nights and as usual Philip and his staff really go to town to ensure their guests have an exceptional stay. Although the hotel is nominally rated as three star this does it a grave injustice as we have stayed in 5 star hotels which don't even come close to the warmth of the welcome and the quality of the product.
The food is exceptional and a real treat. An adventurous menu is matched by the quality of the service and presentation.
The rooms are all very comfortable and well presented. Would we stay again yes we would. We are hoping to go in New Year 2014 but if we get the opportunity we will certainly try and get a visit in there later this year -definitely one of our most favourite places to go

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This was our third Christmas at Cragwood and again it was superb. Firstly the setting and view is just breathtaking, followed by the staff, the food and the other guests. We stayed in room 15 which had been newly refurbished with a fab bathroom, comfy bed and beautiful sheets( although I prefer feather pillows) I still feel that room 4 has the best view of the lake but a tiny bathroom ( that's a small price to pay for the view). At Christmas it is very much home from home and catching up with guests that have stayed before, which makes for a very relaxed time.
We plan to come back during the year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 63Missmarple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I first visited Cragwood with a friend for only one night in August 2012. We loved our stay so much that I re-booked for two nights in October with my husband. He doesn't really do hotels in this country but he loves the Lakes. We had the most wonderful room, with a four poster bed and it overlooked the lake, he was VERY impressed! The staff, as usual, were genuine and very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. They all really want their guests to enjoy their stay.
The breakfast exceeded my husband's expectations. I had told him it was good, but he was sceptical. He literally had to eat his words!
The cleaning staff are unobtrusive and very thorough. I don't think the hotel could have been cleaner.
The public areas are very comfortable and we actually ate in the bar both nights because we'd eaten out during the day. A really nice touch was that on the second evening they insisted on us eating our meal in the dining room, so we would be more comfortable. The hotel wasn't full so I expect it wouldn't happen if it was, but it was a lovely thought.

We really enjoyed our stay and plan to return in the Spring. Meanwhile, I have booked a room for a relative for the coming week, so hopefully they will write a review too.

Don't hesitate in booking this hotel, you'll not regret it!

Room Tip: Just ask for a recommendation from the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I had no idea what a fine property this is when we booked our rooms here. We were simply looking for a nice place to break a long drive from Scotland to Wales. But what a wonderful surprise and treat this was. We were so fortunate to get two adjoining rooms in the old part of the hotel--one of them with a beautiful bay window giving a glorious view of the gardens and Lake District landscape. The rooms were very pleasantly appointed and spotlessly clean. Although I agree with another reviewer that the included breakfast was nothing special, we had a bar dinner the evening we arrived and thought it was a fine meal--one of us had a very good burger and the others had really nice Cumbrian sausage and mash. The next morning we took a long walk around the Cragwood's lovely grounds--definitely worthwhile if the weather permits.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank Elle1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The Cragwood has many great memories for us including weddings, baptisms and anniversary events. This year did not disappoint. Not only is the food, accommodation and location beautiful but the staff are incredibly friendly and cater to your every need. The standard of food is beyond belief and we found ourselves pretty much demolishing every morsel on our plate each night. When you've finished your meal you can relax in front of the roaring fire where they'll give you coffee/tea and hand made chocolates and it really is the perfect setting for any occasion. Really, really recommend it to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £107 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing