We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to spend the weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to spend the weekend”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Excellent atmosphere and service! The food was delicious, a large variety of meals on the menu that changes daily, well balanced between courses and flavors. Reading a book next to the cracking fire in the evening, sipping home grained coffee or a pint of local ale from the bar was a brilliant end to a day of walking in the surroundings of the hotel or the nearby Ambleside.

Room Tip: Has dog firendly rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vel_Georgieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    89
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
221
496
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We were lucky enough to get sent here for a week as part of a training programme.

I was in Room 6, in the old part of the hotel, which was a huge room but in need of decoration. Floral wallpaper and an avocado carpet weren't particularly appealing but the beds were comfortable which was the main thing! The bathroom was fairly small, but always clean and had obviously just been refurbished.

The food at Cragwood, and it's sister hotel Merewood, was fantastic. I have allergies and they dealt with this without any fuss whatsoever, providing me with some of the best free-from foods that I've ever tasted. The rest of the group was also kept happy with a wide range of food and we regularly left the dining area feeling stuffed three times a day.

They also had a well stocked bar, but only at well above average prices (£3.80 for any pint). Needless to say, it still got used a fair bit!

The grounds are lovely, extending right down to the lake which I imagine is a sight in the summer. It was under several inches of snow when we were there, picturesque nonetheless.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTraveller1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Just back from a weekend in the lakes and we stayed at Cragwood country house. Not having stayed here before we looked at the trip adviser reviews and their own website.

When we arrived we thought we had the wrong hotel. The main carparkl to the hotel is at the rear of the building. The rear of the building is an extension that has been added on to the beautiful front of the house.

As we checked in the front desk advised that the hotel was basically in two parts, the front being the lovelly old country house that you see in the pictures on their website. And the back, of the hotel a modern addition.

We were show to our room, walking past the dining area that wouldnt look out of place in an old peoples home. We were shown into our room which was just your average basic travel lodge decor and style. We paid £100 for the room for one night which we think is very steep for the room. It was clean and ahd the facilities you would expect but it was very basic and needed modernising. We had granny bed covers and a pinky beige bathroom suite. Also the room was boiling hot all night, we turned the heating down but made no difference.

The following morning went for breakfast. Walking down to the 'Old peoples home' dining area we walked past towels and bedding strewn across all the floors. Obvioulsy the rooms have to be changed but this was around 9am and there were literally piles or dirty sheets on the floor. this didnt look good.

We got to the dining area for breakfast and we were escorted by a member of staff 'to the other breakfast room' we were taken through the hotel kitchens to the front of the house. This side of the house was completely different to the side we were staying in. this front of the house was the original historic building, It had lovely open fires, large seating areas with views out to the grounds and was lovely. Just what we expected from the details on the website. We had a lovely english breakfast whilst enjoying the view.

After breakfast we went back through the kitchen to the 'travel lodge' side of the property, past more abandoned bedding along the hallways and into our room. To our suprise we found that our once double bed had been changed into twin beds and had been made up. Now I find this slightly odd and a waste of the staff time as we still had 2 hours until we had to check out, so the room was still ours and we dont know why they decided to change the beds around and change the sheets. very bizarre.

All in all I would say if you can get a room at the front in the original part of the property, I would recommend the hotel. But if you get a room in the new part of the hotel I cannot recommend staying here and would advise you to look at the numerous B&B's here instead. The grounds of the hotel and the service were good but I dont think I will be staying in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LB1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob T, TripAdvisor Co-ordinator at Cragwood Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Dear LB1811,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback.

I am very sorry that the room you stayed in was not up to your expected standard. We are currently in the middle of a refurbishment of all of our bedrooms and reception lounges.

Coincidently the room you stayed in is at this present time being refurbished.

The corridor though the kitchen is unusual yes, but however this gives you the opportunity to speak to our friendly staff, and see the chef creating the dishes you find on our dinner menu.

Maintenance has now resolved the issue with the heating.

Thanks once again for you review.

Kind Regards

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

we have stayed here a few times and each time we loved it , and recommended it to family members who have gone on to love it as much as us , The settings, the food , the staff are first class , nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they make you feel very welcome, the service is outstanding , i have stayed in the new part of the building and the old part with 4 poster bed and amazing views , as much as i love it here and would come again in a heartbeat it could do with some refurbishment to the bathrooms ect

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed in the Cragwood hotel for one night just after New Year along with my family and dog !
The hotel is wonderfully situated on the banks of Lake Windermere and benefits from a fun trail around the hotel, down to the water's edge that is perfect for stretching the legs of the kids and the dog.
With the hotel reception housed in the newer part of the hotel (80's extension??), you could easily miss visiting the beautiful old part of the hotel where you eat dinner, if you were staying on a BB basis and staying in the new part of the hotel.
Comfy large sofa's, roaring log fires and high ceilings, it is easy to understand why this hotel is frequented by so many groups / families over Christmas as a place to celebrate.
Whilst we did not experience the full menu, due to the fact that we were overcoming the excesses of a large Scottish New Year, we did eat in the restaurant and have the pleasure of eating some of their delicious food. Well presented good portions and certainly would not be out of place a good quality London restaurant. When it comes to breakfast, 10 out of 10 for a wide choice of cereal, croissant, Kippers and full English!! As for the staff, they could not be more helpful and made our stay very easy.
Overall if you are looking for a comfortable charming base that is kid and dog friendly, next to the lakes, then this is it!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David_H000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Superb in EVERY detail....a heartfelt thanks to the incredible Philip, Louise, Richard,Andrew and all the team that made our holiday Unforgetable!!!!! There are NO words to credit them enough...from our comfy, immaculate rooms (3 to be exact) which were cared for by the loveliest ladies to every request and detail taken care of...roaring fires, wonderful meals (meeting special requests of picky American children), the most breathtaking lake views....and the amazing firework production put on by the most amazing host...the One and Only, Philip!!!! Better than Disney!!!! We never wanted to leave...from Philip's warm welcoming (even as we unloaded 16pieces of luggage!) to his final goodbye with Louise and staff by his side...all I can say is we traveled a long way for this holiday and it was worth EVERY mile...we all hope to come again ASAP!!!! Our best vacation ever! Thank you All for giving us forever memories...the girls (ages 5 to 12) call it home and we consider the team family! The Martelli Family, USA

Room Tip: Rm 4 new part was great for the girls! They loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMartelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Thanks to all the team at Cragwood for making it a wonderful stay. The hotel is in fantastic location with amazing views and the staff couldn't have done any more. Our six month old cocker spaniel pup was made very welcome and enjoyed his first hotel stay and first trip to the Lakes. The service was fantastic, staff were very friendly and our room was comfortable and overlooked the lake. The full breakfast was delicious too. It was so relaxing after our walk to come back and sit in front of the roaring fire with my husband and the pooch - and a glass of wine in hand. We'll definitely be returning and recommending this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
23.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Property: Cragwood Country House Hotel
Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing