We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
keswick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Fantastic service and top quality food,competively priced, the views down onto the lake Windermere are fantastic. Very tranquil settings with beautiful gardens surrounding the hotel. The hotel is immaculate both inside and out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kesblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    88
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
215
484
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

This was a short break we went on to escape real life for a few days. The hotel was very grand and the room was stunning. The bed was comfy, the T.V. was a good size, there was free wi-fi and the bathroom was lovely. The hotel had stunning grounds to walk around and was only a short difference from the lake, The hotel offered an amazing breakfast with such a wide choice. The only downside was that it was a drive away from everything so at night time one of us had to drive and so could't enjoy a drink, however we would visit it again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a one-night stay at Cragwood to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had our wedding reception and spent our wedding night here three years ago and everything was just as nice this time as it was back then. The location is heavenly, combining beautifully manicured gardens close to the hotel with the natural beauty of the woods by the lake. The food and service were truly excellent. The management and staff go out of their way to attend to your wishes, and 'go the extra mile' whenever possible. In our case, there was actually a hand-decorated 'Happy Anniversary' chocolate selection waiting for us in the lounge after we had finished our evening meal ! Very impressive. The room was also of a very high standard with wonderful views and with the windows open you can enjoy the pleasant sounds and perfumes from the garden. In the lounge there we sat, reading the newspaper, sipping champagne and admiring the Edwardian garden just like a member of the landed gentry circa 1920. Be assured that we will be returning time and time again to Cragwood for more of the Royal treatment in this little slice of heaven.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We booked a 2 night midweek break at short notice and we could not have chosen a better hotel.From the beautiful panoramic view and lakeside setting to the friendly and helpful staff we enjoyed a very relaxing break.The room was quiet and very comfortable and the food and service of it was outstanding.We are looking forward to making a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

From start to finish our 4 night stay was great. A warm welcome from the receptionist and then we were shown to our room [16]. We were pleased with the room, it had a lake view and was really big with a sofa and armchairs. All the food over the next 4 days was perfect with very good presentation. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. This is our 3rd visit and hopefully not our last. The setting is stunning and the hotel is well placed for visiting the central lakes.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view and to eat in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

An amazing day from start to finish.
Rob and Phil have supported us in our decisions from booking 18months ago upto the BIG day.. nothing to much trouble.
Food Amazing
Rooms Amazing
Service Amazing
All Cragwood staff warm and welcoming.
Views and Location is above amazing, you need to go see to truly appreciate such a great setting. Great air of exclusivity in its private grounds.
Speaking to all our guests they would agree with all the above with most saying the best wedding they had attendend.

Thanks again
Love Ian & Natalie Ball

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

An excellent hotel in idyllic setting - standing in its own extensive grounds. Quiet and secluded on the shores of Lake Windermere.
The hotel is cosy and comfortable and the staff are helpful and friendly. The meals are delicious and the vegetarian options outstanding.
We spent three days there and left feeling relaxed and thoroughly spoilt. A place we will return to many times.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forever_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
23.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Property: Cragwood Country House Hotel
Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing