We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Last year I criticised the room for be tired and dated. This year the room had been refurbished and was top notch (the refurbishment of the rooms is still under way so make sure you ask for one of the refurbished rooms). The hotel has great period character and lovely gardens. The views of the lake district from the house and gardens are stunning. The food is excellent and the staff are very friendly - especially the young man from Scotland (Andrew Coventry). Plenty of parking and next door you can get the boat to Bowness and other stops on Windermere. On our last day just after we had checked out we had one more walk around the lovely gardens and saw a deer in the garden - wow! What a nice way to end our holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms as the refurbishment programme is still under way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip H, Manager at Cragwood Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Hi Martin
Thank you for revisiting us and as you see we have refurbished the very room you stayed last time.

Also for the mention of our attentive staff who do feel a sense of pride in their work, to be mentioned is like a feather in their cap.

Please come and enjoy our spectacular location again.

Kind regards

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Cragwood is one of three hotel highlights from our recent 35 night vacation, the others being The Elvetham in Hartley-Wintney, and Abbott's Grange in Broadway. All are spectacular in their own way, but Cragwood fronts magical Lake Windermere, with a view up and down the lake and across to the mountains which stretches for many miles, particularly from our lakefront room on the top floor, the huge Bridal Suite in the north corner of the building. The grounds are some of the most beautifully-groomed and perfect that I've ever seen anywhere and the grass on the lake side of the hotel is exactly like a fine putting green. It was so spongy I could have slept comfortably there.

There are several paths that lead through dense woods down to the edge of the lake, and odd coded words which were chiseled into the rocks there in the mid-1800s. The food is excellent, so buy the room/dinner package, and the staff is personable and casual. We ended up skipping the normal tourist traps in lieu of enjoying Cragwood, and should've skipped going into cram-packed, traffic-jambed Ambleside as well.

Cragwood is definitely worth the trip. In our case, the trip was about 5000 miles, and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tradefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Hubby, disabled mother-in-law and I stayed at The Cragwood earlier this month, for 1 night D,B&B. We were delighted with the hotel and certainly look forward to returning.

I’d never been to the Lakes before, but we were looking for somewhere to take MIL away for her birthday, that wasn’t too far driving distance from Manchester, where she lives. Cragwood was just as lovely as all the reviews on Trip Advisor had led us to expect.

MIL’s room (no 23) on the ground floor in the modern part of the hotel, just past the main reception desk, was perfect for her - large spacious modern bedroom with French doors opening onto a water feature in the grounds and a good size wet-room. (Finding a hotel with good disabled facilities for her was one of my top criteria when looking for somewhere to book.) She said it was the nicest hotel room she's ever stayed in!

Our room (no 4) was upstairs in the old part of the hotel, down a few higgledy-piggledy corridors, had a lovely bay window overlooking the lake. The room was a good size with comfortable canopied bed, but the bathroom was the tiniest I’ve ever seen. Fortunately, it was explained to me at time of booking that the bathroom was very small (“basically, you can stand in one place and do everything”), so it wasn’t a surprise, but I can imagine people will be horrified if bathroom size isn’t mentioned ahead of their arrival. Seriously, the floor space is smaller than a standard sized bathmat. I went ahead with booking room 4 on the basis that more time is spent in the bedroom than the bathroom and views over the lake were more important than a spacious bathroom. As long as it had all the necessaries was the main thing. The bed linen was very good quality and not rough/starchy as found in many 4-5* hotels I’ve stayed in and towels were soft and fluffy.

Dinner and breakfast were very high standard. If I had any criticisms, I’d say that perhaps for the dinner menu the hotel was trying just that bit too hard to be special - offerings of squid ink and caviar on canapés / pigeon as a main course, rather than something a little plainer for less refined or adventurous palates. But the food was delicious and service absolutely faultless. Surprisingly, we were the only diners in the restaurant for dinner, so there was little ambience in the dining room or adjacent bar. Breakfast was a bit busier but clearly it was a quieter weekend at the end of the school holidays.

Overall it was a fantastic first experience of the Lakes and I can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Curiously, the hotel website doesn't reflect true room availability, so always worth ringing and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missus_London_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just came back from a wedding at Cragwood with an overnight stay. What an experience!!!!! Fabulous location with stunning views, staff that anybody would be proud of, beautiful rooms with huge comfy beds and a proper full English breakfast. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

From the room to the staff and food, everything was perfect. Would highly recommend.
The hotel has a lot of character, all the staff were friendly and more than happy to help, the food was varied and of a very high quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nj-d57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I recently spent two nights at The Cragwood Country House Hotel, Windermere along with my partner and three dogs, we stayed in one of the garden rooms which was ideal as we had access straight out into the garden and down to the Lake. We had a wonderful stay mainly due to the excellent staff, they were very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The food and service were first class, especially Nicky, our Hungarian waitress who was delightful and looked after us really well. A big thank you to everyone, we will certainly be coming back.

Room Tip: Our garden room was excellent, quiet, nice view, access straight out of the door and down to the Lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A relaxing three days spent in the Lake District was made more special with the comfort provided by this lovely hotel. The room was more than adequate and met our needs. The lounges in the old and new sections need to be experienced to get a good feel of this hotel. The breakfast was good value for money. The staff are friendly and helpful. When next in the UK and in the area we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MikevanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
809 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,115 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £114 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing