We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, relaxing experiencre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful, relaxing experiencre”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Loved every minute, the rooms were clean and spacious, the staff could not be more helpful and the food was excellent. Lovely lake views and quiet outside spaces to read or just relax. would recommend to anyone wanting to relax and be waited on with panache and friendly professionalism.

Room Tip: The best views are from the rooms facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    89
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
220
493
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, VA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Cragwood. The room was clean, spacious and quiet, and we had a nice view of the garden. Beautiful grounds, and we took advantage of the nice day to walk around and down to the lake. Great service, especially from Ruth. Breakfast was very good, I had a wonderful bowl of porridge, and my husband enjoyed the full english. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Room was large and clean. Views beautiful. Price reasonable. Breakfast delicious. Parking free. Grounds have several places to sit, read and contemplate beautiful views. A couple of very nice sitting, reading, game rooms to enjoy with some board games provided. Lake access within 10 minute walk and can take you anywhere on lake.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

This was a bit posher than we are used to but we felt very welcome. The lovely room massive bed and relaxed atmosphere was just what we needed. The fact that we could walk our dog round the beautiful grounds and let him swim in the lake was a bonus. Lots of wildlife and a lovely breakfast. We didn't have dinner in the evening as dogs not allowed in the dining room but it wasn't a problem as lots of dog friendly pubs near by. It was a lovely holiday :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joedut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett, Missouri
Level Contributor
335 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is a very lovely property located near Windermere. The rooms are very large and simply decorated. We enjoyed the breakfast meals but not so much the dinner meals. They were just okay for the price. If you like fish, there is a fantastic fish place in Windermere that you must try. They don't have a wake-up service so I suggest that you be sure to have an extra alarm if you must catch a train early on the morning that you leave. It is a short walk to the lake. The grounds are just beautiful. There was a wedding there on the Saturday before we left. It was the only perfectly sunny day on our entire trip to England so I suspect the newlyweds were ecstatic with the weather for their wedding. We enjoyed being out in the country just a little bit. I'm sure there are some very decent rooms in Windermere, but this location is perfect. They do have a bar. They give you umbrellas when it rains which appears to be very often for most anywhere in England. Everyone here is nice and helpful. The furniture was not the best furniture in the world, but it was sufficient. My wife said it was decorated as a country house. We both slept well here. There are some nice cozy areas to just sit, relax, and read or enjoy a drink. The crowd seems to be a little older but not on the day of the wedding course. We would stay here again were we ever to travel from the US to England again which is highly doubtful. We enjoy sunshine too much to want to spend much time in this country. It is easy to see why there are so many writers and poets of note that came from the Lake District. I'm sure that they had ample opportunity to get out of the rain and write!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMTurnbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have recently returned from a 3 night stay at Cragwood and yet again, the whole experience was truly fantastic. Very relaxing, great service and attanetion to detail, the food was equisite and even better than before (a tough challenge as it was great before!) but kitchen staff delivered!
We continue to return to the Lake District (some 20+ years we have been visiting the area) and each time we think we should try somewhere different, just to make sure that we are not kidding ourselves that there is no where else better but there is n't, as Cragwood cannot be faulted, fail to disappoint, as the experience, the location, the rooms, the staff, the menus, the drinks, in fact eveyrthing and anything is simply just not too much trouble for Phil and his team. Dont change a thing Phil, we will be coming back for another 20 years !

Room Tip: room 1 or room 4 are our preferred rooms, part of the older building, overlooking the garden and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at Cragwood recuperating from a particularly stressful time: relaxation was what we wanted and what we got!.

Dinner each night was superb: exceptional cooking and delightful presentation which made us savour each mouthful. Our room (10) was newly and very thoughtfully refurbished in the older part of the hotel: not huge, but more than adequate and very comfortable. The more public spaces are country-house-characterful and comfortable. Everywhere is clean.

The staff are without exception very pleasant and helpful, providing excellent service. A slight 'snagging' problem with the heating in our just re-opened room was swiftly dealt with.

Very strongly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
23.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Property: Cragwood Country House Hotel
Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing