We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW - Cragwood, 'Simply THE Best'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cragwood Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW - Cragwood, 'Simply THE Best'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our first time at Cragwood, it will not be our last! We have just had the most wonderful experience of hospitality ever... hotel, staff, food, situation (overlooking Lake Windermere and down to the shore) ... you name it, it was brilliant. We could not fault a thing, thank you to all at Cragwood :) xx (if we could give this hotel six out of five overall rating we would)

Room Tip: the comments we had from fellow guests, I'm not sure there is a 'bad' room, we were in r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    86
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
208
467
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights with three other members of our family and 2 dogs to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. We checked in on the 17th of March to a wonderful welcome by the reception staff, one which we will remember and was an excellent start to a fantastic stay.
They made our dogs feel as welcome as ourselves which as all dog owners out there will agree, is most important to us canine lovers.
There are two rooms, no.23 and no.24 which are a doggy haven. They are right next to the reception area and are good size rooms on the ground floor with their own patio doors opening straight out onto the gardens. The dogs loved their walkies around the grounds, which are huge and beautiful I must add. On our early morning walks we spotted wild Deer in the grounds only meters from our patio doors.
One of our family members stayed in Rm 4 which is in the original part of the building. It again was also a good size room with a huge bay window overlooking the whole of Lake Windermere. What we thought was a nice change was that there were no single supplement payments required for the rooms here so they had a huge bed to themselves and for the single cost.
The hotel interior is beautiful, I would call it traditional oldie worldie with many lovely features, lounging areas and open fire places everywhere which made the whole atmosphere so cosy and homely.
The food again was no let down. We have both traveled many parts of the world and stayed in many luxurious hotels but the food here takes some beating. Fine dining at its best! We have been dieting since our return as you just can't say no to the delightful menu.
Overall we would definitely stay here again and I'm also speaking for the rest of our family members. I cannot recommend the hotel enough. The staff are all so polite, friendly and outgoing, there really is nothing bad to say about them. I think approximately six of the staff were foreign, Hungarian I think and Wow, they could teach a lot to some of our own British staff in other hotels we have stayed, there were no language problems at all.
So, in summary, although you are not getting all of your all singing all dancing pools, spa's, steam rooms, blah blah blah, as you may in your foreign hotels, you are getting a 'Superb' service in a 'beautiful' traditional hotel with food and views to die for. We will definitely be back!
Thanks again to all the Cragwood staff for making our stay so memorable.

Mr and Mrs Brown and our Tibetan Terrier, Maisie.
Maisie sulked for 3 days after leaving, poor girl !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corydogbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn, Norfolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed here in March 2014. Lovely hotel very very clean, fantastic location, with wonderful staff. Would definitely recommend a stay here right on the banks of the Lake with roaring log fires. The bed was massive and so comfortable it was like being in my own bed at home. I could go on but then id spoil it for you, honest I can not fault this place and im a very fussy person, check it out for yourselves I promise you will not be disappointed.
Thank you Cragwood xx

Room Tip: we stayed in room 20 which overlooked the lake, divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just returned from a short break staying at the Cragwood. My wife and I both agreed it is the best hotel we have stayed in anywhere. Lovely old country house set in beautiful kept grounds with walks near the lake. Staff are the friendliest and most helpful we have ever come across. The lounges are so comfortable, a nice little bar to relax in after your meals. We had a lovely bedroom with an immaculately clean bathroom. In fact the whole hotel is so well looked after. We also loved the special touches such as the canapes while you had a pre dinner drink and browsed the menu, the hand made chocolates served with your coffee after your evening meal, (wonderful). The meal was very delicious and presentation first class. What a gem of a hotel, and we would highly recommend it. We met so many guests that had returned time and time again, as we hope to sometime.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vince p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were lucky enough to have a twin aspect lake view room with views every bit as good as any Italian lake. The chef worked his wonders in the dining room. A log fire added to the atmosphere of the lounge and the staff could not be more helpful. What more can I say - we will be back.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are in great demand, but well worthwhile if you book early enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Cragwood is probably my favourite hotel in the world! A bold statement indeed, especially as I’ve been lucky enough to stay in fine hotels all over the globe, but this reasonably small, beautiful country house on the shores of Lake Windermere is a real cracker. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly (especially Andrew!) and give the place a wonderfully relaxed ambiance. Originally built in 1910 for a wealthy industrialist it retains a lot of its original charm with wood panelling, open fires, deep Chesterfield sofas etc. We first stayed here on our first weekend away together and 7 years on (and now married) we decided to revisit the Lakes for a romantic break and stay at The Cragwood again. “Never go back” is an often used adage but in this case the intervening time had seen no dropping of standards. We stayed on a 3 nights for 2 deal on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. After a long day walking on the fells (fueled by a hearty breakfast) it is wonderful to come back and relax on the terrace with a bottle of fine chilled wine before going back to our four poster bedded room to prepare for dinner. Over a pre-dinner aperitif and the Chef’s amuse bouche, we would peruse the night’s four course menu which had plenty of local, seasonal choices and is very good indeed. They have a wide selection of wine and the post meal coffee with homemade chocolates, enjoyed in the lounge, is a lovely way to finish the evening. In truth I've stayed in grander, more luxurious (and more expensive!) hotels but The Cragwood is a sheer delight, with fantastic views and a warm, homely feeling that I cannot recommend too highly. A true gem.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the double view and a four poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

A group of us took over the hotel for the weekend and the whole affair was delightful. The staff (including the room maids who we met in the corridor) are friendly, efficient and polite. The receptionist (female) offered to carry to the suitcases up to the rooms even for the younger gentlemen. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Pleasant room (19) with super king size bed which was very comfortable. The hotel manager was available throughout the weekend and helped in making a lovely weekend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
23.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Property: Cragwood Country House Hotel
Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing