We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Really lovely stay. Great location, wonderful friendly staff, excellent food.

We had an evening meal on the second night that we stayed at the Hotel. The food was so good, we'd say it rivals top high class restaurants.

We were travelling down from Glasgow to London and thought we'd stay here on the way down based on the reviews of others on here. We are so pleased we did - ended up staying here on the way back up too.

We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
There are newer reviews for Cragwood Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Just stayed the one night at this wonderful hotel, just me, my husband & 16month old son, but wish we could have stayed longer! The customer service is exceptional - staff couldn't do enough to help us out with our wee boy! The grounds are beautiful & peaceful. The food was very nice & it's in a great location for exploring the lakes. Looking forward to revisiting!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank peachum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Well, we all know the reputation of English cuisine!
And I think we, travellers, are all a bit wary about hotel food...
Try this one! The food was superb! Right portions, nice presentation but above all exquisite!
And this is not talking about the magnifiscent location...Right on the lake with superb views. The hotel itself is a nice Mansion typical of the lake district with lovely gardens that will lead you right to the shores of the lake.
My room was nicely decorated and very comfortable though not big. Small bathroom.
Service overall was good and pleasant and excellent in the dining room.
Breakfast was also excellent with a very large choice of very british delicacies such as skippers and similar..
I definitely recommend this place with a reasonable price!

Room Tip: magnifiscent for busy travellers trying to escape the boring chain hotel! Rooms facing the lake are...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank didierinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely lovely three days spent in Cragwood that included a wedding.

Staff are lovely, rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. We brought our dog and was pleased to see that they were welcomed - not just tolerated! Arrived and there were two doggy biscuits waiting for him.

Food was amazing and so was the set up for the wedding. The lobbies and sitting rooms are very comfortable and pleasant and the dog could accompany us everywhere (bar the restaurant).

The grounds are fantastic and we spent lovely afternoons walking around and sitting by the lake reading our books and watching the lake, wildlife and boats passing by.

A lovely weekend and one I will do again in the future.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Kirstie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Cragwood is a great place to stay with stunning views and easy access to the lake. Highly recommended! Customer service is impeccable and the food is just too good! Definitely great time to visit between May and August.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeddyT555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

What a lovely hotel: good rooms; good plumbing; excellent (and varied) views of the lake with paths leading down to the waters' edge; lovely and very well cared-for gardens; and good-sized lounges/sitting-rooms. But the superlatives relate to the staff (wonderful warm Lancastrians and, as one has come to expect, incredibly kind and carrying immigrant workers - what would we do without such people??) and to the food - the dinners (nouveau cuisine) are of the highest gourmet standards, cooked by charming professionals, some of whom we were fortunate to meet and chat to. The main purpose of our stay was to provide a holiday for three 90 year-olds. The "grannies" were delighted with their stay as were their "carers". We would certainly recommend the hotel to others and if we returned to the Lake District: this hotel would be at the top of our list. One further thought: a pity you can't appreciate the views when dining. If I owned the hotel I would reconfigure, having a single dining room (rather than two) in one orv two rooms that overlook the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NoniRubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights it is a really nice hotel maintained to a really nice standard very efficient & well run
The staff are very friendly & nothing is to much trouble

Had breakfast here which was freshly cooked to order & very nice it was too
A very warm & cosy hotel with a warm & welcoming atmosphere
The grounds are lovely from the manicured areas right through to the woods where it's an interesting walk
Now for the bad bits & their not really bad :-)
We stayed in a garden room loved it but outside light & a small table & chairs would greatly improve this
Also would have liked a mini bar in the room
Looking forward to staying again soon

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 132susan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Windermere
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: £113 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing