We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing,stressfree high quality experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cragwood Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“relaxing,stressfree high quality experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

excellent service, i am a wheelchair user and found this room 23 fantastic ,wonderful wet room lots of space wash basin slightly too high but shower compensated for this also as a dog owner found the french door out onto the gardens and woodland superb breakfast and dinner were wonderful what a lovely experience for husband myself and amber the dog.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetb1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    86
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
208
469
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed again at the Cragwood this weekend. The dogs absolutely love it there. A fantastic location on the shores of Winderemere. We have not been before in July so it was lovely to see the gardens in full bloom. The gardens and surrounding area is well looked after by the gardener. The food is good in the restaurant and the staff are friendly. The location is probably the best thing about the hotel. They have a good selection of rooms and we always have a lovely spacious room looking over the gardens. We will be back again in September.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

My wife and I know the lake district well, having grown up in the area. The Cragwood fitted the bill for us, as it was in the National Park, and handy for all the sights.

The hotel met our every expectation. Our room was simple but roomy and clean with a lovely comfy queen size bed, and overlooked the lake - what a view! The staff at the hotel couldn't do enough to make our stay successful, and helped out with anything we needed. The food is exquisite - we have not tasted food that has so much flavour and is entirely home-made, it was absolutely wonderful.

Would we stay again - you bet we would! If anyone wants a simple hotel (ie no gym, pool, sauna etc) but great accommodation, then look no further.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank algbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

just come home from another fantastic three days at cragwood.the hotel is a credit to all the people that work there.fantastic value for money,simple luxury nothing to much trouble.room immaculate,bathroom quite small in our room this time but quite adequate.what would you expect from an arts ands crafts house of this age thankyou

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 40mf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Well situated for Windermere and the surrounding beautiful countryside we enjoyed a 3 night stay here with excellent food, comfortable rooms and although it´s just off the very busy main road it IS quiet and peaceful. Philip´s attention to detail is spot on. Always cheerful and ready to offer tips on trips, routes, days out he also made us feel very much at home.
The gardens and views were so breathtaking you really don´t need to tour around and sit in traffic jams to see the area. Just stay here and you have it all.
Philip my recommendation: get a professional photographer in to show off the grounds and views - sell yourself a little better. One wouldn´t know from the website just how good and well situated the place is !!
Tanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

we had a nice stay in this simple hotel, staff was nice, location very convenient and the grouns well kept. the rooms are a bit basic but i think everything is a good match for hte price you pay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shera1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

My husband and I decided to go on a last minute trip away. One of my work colleague"s recommended the Cragwood Hotel. My husband I werent disappointed at all. The hotel itself was fantastic and so was the scenery. Just having a stroll down to the edge of Lake Windermere after a lovely breakfast was breathtaking. The staff are absolutely brilliant and nothing was ever too much trouble. May I add, the waiter (I didnt ask his name) had the patience of a saint, as one morning (over breakfast ) a very rude guest came in and ordered the waiter for her breakfast.. The waiter politely smiled and did his job. The waiter I cannot praise enough. I would definetely stay there again and would recomend it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brockbank56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
23.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Property: Cragwood Country House Hotel
Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing