We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Christmas break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas break”
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We went to Cragwood with friends for Xmas and had an absolutely wonderful time. Not sure where to start? We arrived on Xmas Eve to be shown to our rooms and then sample Louise's cream tea - the hand made chocs in our room were a lovely surprise - in fact the break was full of lovely surprises The menus were fantastic. I can see why people are coming back here each year. We ate at one large table and you got the feeling that you were at a very nice house party. The hotel limit the number of guests to 24ish and this was a really good balance, not too big and impersonal. We had a lovely trip on Windermere organised by the hotel as well as Carol service in Ambleside. There was a nice mixture of ages and although we are not always up for quizzes, we really had a good time with different things organised. But there was no pressure to take part if you didn't want to. The team of chefs here are outstanding and the food is every bit as good as a 5 star resatraurant. The manager Philip and his wife really made the break, nothing was too much trouble and the staff were amazing. I would definitely recommend having a break here, whether it be Christmas or other occasion. We could find no fauly whatsoever and are so pleased we stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    89
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
220
493
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We first stayed there when our daughter got married there seven years ago. The staff made this the best wedding anyone could ask for.
Since then have been going back every year, once and this year twice.
The hotel is situated right on the lakeside and has extensive gardens (Oh and a great gardener who always seems to wear shorts whatever the weather).
There are 5 things that make a good holiday superb. The hotel - the food - the staff - the location and the weather.
The first 4 cannot be faulted and the 5th being British we have to put up with.
Looking forward to next year’s break or breaks.

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnLane20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2010

My husband and I head our wedding day at the Cragwood Hotel in August of this year and were able to take over the whole hotel fron the evening before the wedding until the following day.
Everything about our stay was fantastic, the location and scenery is superb and we were lucky enough with the weather to hold the ceremony outside. The staff were extremely attentive and experienced, nothing was too much trouble for them. Although I know that the hotel hosts many weddings we really felt (as did our guests) that this was a very special occasion. Food, including the breakfasts, was really high quality; guests said it was the best 'wedding food' they had experienced. Rooms were were clean and comfortable - my only quibble would be that the honeymoon suite could do with updating. Overall the atmosphere of the hotel is friendly and relaxed - the staff are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjswyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We have just returned from a few nights at the Cragwood as a little honeymoon. The package that we got (a midweek special) meant that dinner every night was included and the food was amazing. The staff were wonderful and the setting as beautiful as it looks on the website.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

We chose the Cragwood because of it's location and menu and we weren't disappointed. They couldn't do anything more to make our stay more comfortable. The rooms were neat and tidy and had loads of space. They were all well appointed with all the expected facilities. Nothing was excessive and you could tell they were doing all they could for the environment. Set in lovely grounds you felt you were in a five star hotel. The food was amazing going over and above anything we had expected. We are surprised they haven't won awards for the food! (they might have but we didn't see any!) we asked for a few things that were out of the ordinary and they were more than obliging and we would have been happy to have paid more!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glam7469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We were looking for either a nice hotel with a pool for our 7 year old, or a hotel that would take dogs in a nice location, and Cragwood Country House Hotel was perfect for the latter. From the very beginning of making the booking over the phone, to arriving the next day, and during our stay the staff were really friendly and helpful.

We didn't eat in the hotel except for breakfast, but this was very nice, and again the service excellent. The rooms were clean and we had everything we needed, and the family room was plenty big enough for the three of us.

The hotel is bang on lake Windermere, and for a family room I thought £120 B&B was reasonable. We had booked for two nights, but the typical English weather forced us in to going home after one night (no reflection at all on the hotel). Many hotels would have charged us for the second night, given we did not check out until 12.30pm, but the reception people at Cragwood did not charge us. Neither did they charge us a glass of warm milk for our 7 year old.

We would definitely go back, and are already thinking of using the hotel as a stop off for a trip to Scotland. For the dog lovers amongst you, it's heaven for our furry friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johno68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

excellent service, i am a wheelchair user and found this room 23 fantastic ,wonderful wet room lots of space wash basin slightly too high but shower compensated for this also as a dog owner found the french door out onto the gardens and woodland superb breakfast and dinner were wonderful what a lovely experience for husband myself and amber the dog.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetb1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
23.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragwood Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Country House Hotel

Property: Cragwood Country House Hotel
Address: Cragwood House Ecclerigg, Windermere LA23 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragwood Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of England’s longest and most beautiful lake you will find Cragwood Country House Hotel.Set in its own secluded, twenty-acre estate of beautiful landscaped gardens and woodland and with stunning views overlooking Lake Windermere, it’s hard to resist a relaxing Lake District break at Cragwood. As soon as you step through the front door of this beautiful country house, you’ll discover an oasis of comfort, warmth and relaxation.The informal and friendly service is so good you’ll hardly notice it. It’s our job to make you feel at home…which isn’t hard once you sit back and unwind in one of our cosy lounges or drawing rooms and take in the spectacular lake views over a freshly brewed coffee or maybe a glass of chilled wine.From the mouth-watering food and drink to the stylish and comfy bedrooms, a short break at Cragwood will leave you feeling pampered, stress-free….and wanting more.If you are looking for the perfect Lake District hotel then look no further...you have just found us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cragwood Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragwood Country Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing