We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place- clean, warm and friendly”
Review of Ellerthwaite Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ellerthwaite Lodge
Ranked #46 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place- clean, warm and friendly”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We have just stayed here for 2 nights, lovely place to stay. The staff were great; very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. We booked with a TravelZoo offer, we received a bottle of wine on arrival (worth £15), mince pies and mulled wine.
The room was a decent size, nice and warm with a clean en-suite bathroom. Breakfast was nice but was only served 8.30-9.30 so we missed it the second morning because we wanted a lie in before leaving (had to check out by 10.30). 2 minute walk to the shops and restaurants in Windermere.
We would definitely stay at Ellerthwaite Lodge again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    104
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
47
195
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Lovely building : delighful first floor lounge with impressive glass. However the best thing about the place was the warm welcome and very accommodating staff. The bed was very comfortable in a decent-sized and pristine room, and the breakfast was perfectly cooked to order (we wished there had been a restaurant attached). The location is excellent for the town. This may not suit those looking for a more rural retreat, but it was a great base for exploring some of the very interesting architecture and historic houses. If you need a restaurant don't leave it too late as most places stop serving at 9, and there are more places in Bowness rather than Windermere

Room Tip: Our room was at the front with a large window ( nice) which did mean we got the noise of m traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clayton37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed for one night, very last minute, the receptionist was lovely, very accommodating... breakfast was really good too , we stayed in room 12 and it was very nice. Relaxed quiet atmosphere. Very good location, just 5 minute walk from the town,

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel19xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We recently stayed at this guest house for one night. The two ladies who greeted us were delightful and gave us a choice of rooms, we found one of the rooms had a heavy smell of smoke - even though they advised they strictly enforce the no-smoking policy. The ladies made every effort to ensure our comfort and explained when breakfast would be served and ideas for dinner in town, which was only a few steps away.
We found however, the rooms were quite noisy, being able to hear every word from other visitors in the room next door!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ellerthwaite Lodge on the 5th & 6th of October. As we arrived the staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. A lovely anniversary card from the staff awaited us as we entered the room.....a great touch! We stayed in room number 8. The room and ensuite bathroom were spotlessly clean and very well decorated. The four poster bed was incredibly comfy with loads of pillows and cushions so you could watch TV in bed in great comfort, not that we watched much telly!! The breakfast was superb and set you up for the day with plenty of toast and preserves. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, we had trouble ordering a taxi on the Saturday night but one call from a member of staff and the taxi was there within minutes! All in all a very enjoyable weekend and will definately be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My Girlfiend and I stayed at Ellerthwaite Lodge recently and we found it the perfect base for Windermere. Our room was spotlessly clean, modern and had all the usuall amenities,eg Tea/Coffee, TV, Iron , Hairdryer etc. Our bed was a queen size, very comfy with good quallity and freshly scented bed linen. The bathroom was beautifully tiled with a moderm theme.
Although we didn't dine in the evening, breakfast time was something we both looked forward to, great selection of options, hot or cold. The cooked breakfast was perfect, all locally sourced produce and very well cooked / presented.
All in all we had a great few days in Windermere and would highly recommend staying at Ellerthtwaite Lodge to anyone looking for friendly sfaff, good food and in general a great value for money accomodation!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Great value for money, staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely jome cooked breakfast with plenty of choices. Great location just a really short walk from the village. We would definitely recommend and stay there again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighdavis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 107 in Windermere
382 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Howbeck
The Howbeck
#19 of 107 in Windermere
948 reviews
0.3 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#66 of 107 in Windermere
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ravensworth
The Ravensworth
#20 of 107 in Windermere
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#7 of 107 in Windermere
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
St John's Lodge
St John's Lodge
#6 of 107 in Windermere
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerthwaite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerthwaite Lodge

Property: Ellerthwaite Lodge
Address: Ellerthwaite Lodge New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellerthwaite Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from Lake Windermere, this charming 19th-century Lake District town house provides 15 relaxing, comfortably furnished en-suite rooms for you to enjoy bed and breakfast accommodation in Windermere. Our rooms have been dressed with bespoke soft furnishings, excelsior deluxe mattresses, 20” flat screen Samsung TVs with 10 channels and in the lounge area you can relax on leather chesterfields and take in the far reaching views. Parking is also not a problem as we have private car park with ample space for all. You are only 2 minutes walk from Windermere town centre with its variety of shops and selection of good quality restaurants which is why we have chosen to only cater for bed and breakfast. Ellerthwaite Lodge is ideally situated and provides a great place to stay to enjoy the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ellerthwaite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerthwaite Hotel Windermere
Ellerthwaite Lodge Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing