We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Ellerthwaite Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ellerthwaite Lodge
Ranked #49 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Terrible: this is without a doubt the worst accommodation that I have ever used. The room was so small, to walk around the bed we had to lean over the bed (& I'm 5ft11!). The bathroom was so small, the toilet was positioned on the corner behind the vanity. I'm pleased to see that the more recent trip advisor rating for this hotel is very low. We do generally like good lodge or B&B style of Accom, but this one is horrible .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank janelle016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your review and our comments, I understand that you stayed in room 14. Room 14 often divides opinion there are those that love it and others like you that do not appreciate the quirkiness of the room. Being on the top floor, although having a good floor space the roof beams do come into the room therefore reducing head room. I can see being over 5’ 11” you would have to be careful. However it does have a uk king size bed with a Tempur mattress, settee, along with other facilities you would expect to be in a bedroom. In the bathrooms we try to provide within the space available everything we think a guest will need.

It is such a shame that you did not tell us that you did not like the room on check in as we would have gladly moved you; we did have other rooms available at the time. It is sad that you decided not to be happy during your stay and leaving your comment till after you left. We do try very hard to provide good service in all areas of the bed and breakfast experience and are sorry on this occasion that you did not give us the opportunity to provide this for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for Ellerthwaite Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Grizzly A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gillian B, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We checked in asking for a room for 2 Adults and one Child. Helen checked us in and she was amazing! She was very warm and friendly.
We were brought to room 17 which is in the attic. I had to ask for a fan as it was very very hot up there.
Old furniture and carpet with a open concept. One queen bed and bunk beds for the kids. The shower is just the floor and a curtain.

I made the mistake of asking to see a suite which was the same price and gorgeous! We could have all fit in the suite which is on the second floor ( not the stuffy attic) and would have suited us better.
The hotel is practically empty tonight so I am very frustrated as we sit in the attic.
If you are traveling with a child, ask what other options may be available because the attic is awful.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review. Our family room offers space for families with 2 TVs, seating area, bunk beds and large bathroom, with a walk in shower. Meaning that children will not trip over any shower trays and they can have a splashing time either in the shower or large bath. There is an opportunity to close the curtains between the adult’s bed and the main seating areas. This means that children and adults can watch their own choice of TV.
I am sorry that you did not like the room. Some rooms on the top floor are quirky and do not suit everyone that is why it is useful to contact us and discuss what specifically you are looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a double room which was marvellous. Spacious and clean, nice colour scheme, a good sized ensuite and a comfy bed.
We sat in the residents lounge one night playing the provided Scrabble and flicking through their maps which was comfortable and well lit.

Breakfast was good, a nice list of options and tasty. Overall we had a great stay. The only tiny critisism I have is that our toiletries weren't topped up on the second day.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank QueenieBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing your stay at Ellerthwaite Lodge. I have taken note of your ‘tiny criticism’ and discussed this with the housekeeping staff. It is our usual practice to replenish used toiletries so I can only apologise that this did not happen on your second day.
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and spent time in our beautiful residents lounge which is west facing and has some lovely sun sets, well that is when the sun shines of course! Which it does …….
Remember to contact us direct when you next decide to come and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

only complaint is the shower wasn't very clever, more water was coming out of the top of the shower than the actual shower head, but the rest of our weekend away was brilliant, we will be back . the food was brilliant and service was good too

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zfchildren12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianB23, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Sorry to hear about the shower not behaving itself! A new one has now been installed. So pleased that this did not affect your time with us and we look forward to your staying with us again. Kindest Regards Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here again Jan 2014 and was really pleased to be back here. Staff fab, location fab, nothing negative to say at all about this place.

We look forward to staying again as soon as we can.

Thanks for a lovely couple of days.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordPingu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianB23, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for coming to stay with us again, we love it when guests have a great time and come back to see us again and again!!! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We choose this hotel as our honeymoon destination for two nights following a offer from its sister hotel- the gables in gretna! Unfortunately the junior suite in the offer was only available our second night. However, we were recommended room 14 on the very top level so many many stairs to carry our luggage up but then again we do travel heavy! The bedroom had a lot of character with low beams. All I will say is watch out if your tall like us and don't bang your head! The room had everything we needed but was a shame about the mould behind the sofa on the wall and along the grouting of the bath. Excellent tea and coffee making facilities and we also slept very well.
The next morning we moved into the junior suite and the staff moved our luggage for us so when we arrived back from our day out it was all done. The junior suite has fab views of the mountains and trees. Lovely four poster bed and en suite- the room is only on the first floor but it was that big we felt like we were within a wing of a royal house! The decor a little outdated but apart from that a lovely room, a brilliant nights sleep and again brilliant hospitality tray.
Breakfast was fantastic- choices of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast, juices, tea and coffee, English breakfast. What we picked up on was the tables already had a bowl of sugar, various pots of jams and butter packets so very organised. Excellent waitress service both at breakfast and on the reception desk- nothing was too much trouble. Ellerthwaite lodge is just about a mile and a quarter from the lake so we walked it and was very relaxing. Decent size car park. Overall a lovely relaxing stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianB23, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi Victoria thank you for your detailed review. Yes room 14 is quirky and being at the back of the property does give you views of School Knott. We are in the process of dealing with the other issues you mention. We are so pleased that you had a great stay with us and loved our Junior Suite, especially seeing that it made you feel that you were staying in the ‘wing of a Royal House’. Thank you for your recommendation and maybe we will see you for your wedding anniversary, if not before! All the very best Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#11 of 107 in Windermere
385 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Howbeck
The Howbeck
#20 of 107 in Windermere
953 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#60 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#67 of 107 in Windermere
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#25 of 107 in Windermere
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#8 of 107 in Windermere
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerthwaite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerthwaite Lodge

Address: Ellerthwaite Lodge New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £66 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellerthwaite Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from Lake Windermere, this charming 19th-century Lake District town house provides 15 relaxing, comfortably furnished en-suite rooms for you to enjoy bed and breakfast accommodation in Windermere. Our rooms have been dressed with bespoke soft furnishings, excelsior deluxe mattresses, 20” flat screen Samsung TVs with 10 channels and in the lounge area you can relax on leather chesterfields and take in the far reaching views. Parking is also not a problem as we have private car park with ample space for all. You are only 2 minutes walk from Windermere town centre with its variety of shops and selection of good quality restaurants which is why we have chosen to only cater for bed and breakfast. Ellerthwaite Lodge is ideally situated and provides a great place to stay to enjoy the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ellerthwaite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerthwaite Hotel Windermere
Ellerthwaite Lodge Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing