We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ellerthwaite Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ellerthwaite Lodge
Ranked #46 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ashford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

stayed for two nights.last week had a single room ensuite,, room was a bit on the small side, but well equipped clean and comfortable very adequate for 1 person .it had tea making facilities draws wardrobe, ironing board,and tv, shower was excellent plenty hot water and powerful, breakfast was very very good ,juices ,cerials,fruit,full,breakfast.light ,breakfast.toast,and the friendly staff,willing to do things not on the menu,a very good clean welcoming establishment, and to finish it has a big marked car park,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesmond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for this review. Yes our single room is bijou! However as you say it has everything you need. We do try and accommodate guest needs where possible. A big car park is very useful in Windermere. You can park you vehicle and walk into Windermere and down to Bowness. We have good transport links too on the bus, train and even on Lake Windermere. Regards Gillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    100
    26
    8
    6
See reviews for
42
190
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have just stayed there for a birthday treat. The booking system was easy and on arrival, it is attractive to all. The car park is very useful and accessible. The entrance is welcoming and check in process quick. We wre shown to our room and welcomed to the hotle. The room was lovely and supplied with all needs. The hotel is very comfortable and the breakfast has a good range. The hotel is also perfectly situated for walkers and visitors to Windermere. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Happy Birthday and thank you for your feedback. You have provided a wonderful objective review of what we offer at Ellerthwaite Lodge. So pleased you found everything the way we expect it to be. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Weve stayed here twice now, once in august of last year and again in april this year, the first room was spacious enough with a nice new bathroom and the bed was really comfortable, even though were had the room overlooking the car park we didnt have any road noise or disturbance, the second time was pretty much fully booked so we were given a discount as it was the last room an it was a family room, the room itself was a fantastic size and the bed is in the sloped roof part which was lovely, the bathroom again was new, and immaculate, the breakfast on both occcasions was delicious and very well cooked, id also like to make special mention to Fiona who was so welcoming, kind and offered to help us in any way she could, she is a valuable asset which was a reason we booked to stay again a second time! We would deffinatly reccomend an will stay again in the future!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank philipfounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for a lovely review. We are so pleased that you returned to stay with us. Our family room does offer a great space doesn’t it? Pleased that you found our breakfasts to be delicious, all of our food is locally sourced. Fiona says thank you for the mention and she is so pleased that she was able to help. Please do recommend us and we look forward to you coming to say with us again soon. Take care Gillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Having frequented the Ellerthwaite Lodge Hotel prior to the current owners, we were looking forward to staying with our three year old. The changes that the current owners have made are excellent. The carpark is a great advantage over other accommodation and the hotel is in an ideal location for both Bowness and Windermere. We stayed in room 14 with an extra bed added for the little one. Whilst the room is not huge, it contains everything and has a lovely layout. It has been noted on other reviews that the room does have a low roof and a previous guest of 5ft11 found it a struggle. My husband didn't find this to be an issue and is over 6ft4!

Excellent breakfast service and friendly staff. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyT777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Sally, thank you so much for your comments. You provide a lovely summary of the benefits of staying at Ellerthwaite Lodge. So pleased that your 6’ 4” tall husband found room 14 to have no issues! Excellent food and friendly staff that is what we are proud of. We look forward to you staying with us again soon! Take care Gillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in the top room .. to far to go when your drunk but it was clean and tidy better than the Samling . Good price for one night , good parking and breakfast was quicker that the Castle in Kendal.

Cannot think of anything we didn't like . perfect position to be if your out and about in the lakes

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Alex
Thank you for much for your review, especially with the comparisons you have made. Having two floors with rooms on the ground floor too does give options for our guests. At least you have our lovely guest lounge to stop and admire the wonderful stain glass windows and the sunsets in the west before climbing the next fight of stairs to your bed. Please remember to come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

From the minute my Mom and I stepped into the Ellerthwaite Lodge, we felt at home - we had the opportunity to spend our first and last night of a week-long self guided hiking trek through the Lake District at the Ellerthwaite and could not have been happier. We loved our little room and slept incredibly soundly, and also enjoyed the lounge on the second level. The breakfast was wonderful and everyone who worked there could not have been more cheerful, lovely and helpful. In advance of our arrival, we requested fresh fruit for breakfast and, without fail, it was there for us. The lodge is quiet despite being so close to the hustle and bustle of Windermere and proved to be the perfect place to start off, and wrap up, a fabulous week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Emily
Wow what a lovely review. We are so pleased that we were able to give you a great start and finish to your hiking trek. We do aim, when we can, to meet requests made by our guests and we are so pleased to be able to do this for you. Glad that you felt at home and that you found our staff to be cheerful, lovely and helpful. You have brought a big smile to their faces. Thank you for doing that, they do deserve it. Take care. Gillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We 3 adults shared the top floor family room and really appreciated the space, large bathroom with big tub, block out curtains so we all had a great sleep and comfortable bed. If you have no problem with stairs, as there are quite a few, this hotel is great. Breakfast was good, lovely china too. Staff were very friendly. So close to town.

Room Tip: No lift, if you are looking at the top floor family room light bags are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice And Max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi Janice
Yes you stayed in our family room which is on the second floor. As you say it is a great room as it does have loads of space, plus 2 TVs so reduces the arguments of what to watch!!! So pleased that you had a good stay with us. Take care Gillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#4 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#14 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#8 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#12 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerthwaite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerthwaite Lodge

Property: Ellerthwaite Lodge
Address: Ellerthwaite Lodge New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellerthwaite Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from Lake Windermere, this charming 19th-century Lake District town house provides 15 relaxing, comfortably furnished en-suite rooms for you to enjoy bed and breakfast accommodation in Windermere. Our rooms have been dressed with bespoke soft furnishings, excelsior deluxe mattresses, 20” flat screen Samsung TVs with 10 channels and in the lounge area you can relax on leather chesterfields and take in the far reaching views. Parking is also not a problem as we have private car park with ample space for all. You are only 2 minutes walk from Windermere town centre with its variety of shops and selection of good quality restaurants which is why we have chosen to only cater for bed and breakfast. Ellerthwaite Lodge is ideally situated and provides a great place to stay to enjoy the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ellerthwaite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerthwaite Hotel Windermere
Ellerthwaite Lodge Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing