We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff and food ok”
Review of Ellerthwaite Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ellerthwaite Lodge
Ranked #51 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We arrived at Ellerthwaite last Saturday knowing we could not unpack properly as I had agreed to move rooms after 2 days to accommodate another couple who the hotel had double booked the room we had they said these people had been coming on a regular basis and we would have a room on the same floor which they did but it wasn't nowhere near the same standard I didn't bother complaining as I don't think it would have made any difference as they were fully booked and couldn't have moved us to another room but they didn't even offer anything for the fact that I agreed to change rooms and they must have known the room they gave us wasn't up to the same standard don't think I will go back and I will not be swapping rooms again no matter what.

Room Tip: Children are allowed here but the parents seem to let them run riot we looked into room 6 and 10 whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Paul, I understand that you booked through booking.com for your stay at Ellerthwaite Lodge. One of the difficulties of doing this is that the system they use notes that there are rooms available over the period of time your request and does not explain that the availability may be in different rooms. Generally when this happens we do try and accommodate this. Unfortunately on this occasion we had limited availability and the room you started your stay was already booked for the remaining nights. The booking for room 10 had preceded your booking and the guest had made a special request for this particular room. I know that you were contacted by us to explain the situation and to forewarn you that this would be the only way we could accommodate you for the nights of your stay. In fact the room you were moved to is larger than room 10. All of our rooms are furnished to the same standard and have the same bed linen and other services. Being a Victorian building all of our rooms do offer something different in their size and location within the building. However we do understand that guests have their own preferences and that we all can appreciate different things. I am sad to read that you will not come back to stay with us. It is always useful to contact us direct to make a reservation as we can then identify what specifically you are looking for and this gives us the best opportunity to try and meet your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

stayed for two nights.last week had a single room ensuite,, room was a bit on the small side, but well equipped clean and comfortable very adequate for 1 person .it had tea making facilities draws wardrobe, ironing board,and tv, shower was excellent plenty hot water and powerful, breakfast was very very good ,juices ,cerials,fruit,full,breakfast.light ,breakfast.toast,and the friendly staff,willing to do things not on the menu,a very good clean welcoming establishment, and to finish it has a big marked car park,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lesmond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for this review. Yes our single room is bijou! However as you say it has everything you need. We do try and accommodate guest needs where possible. A big car park is very useful in Windermere. You can park you vehicle and walk into Windermere and down to Bowness. We have good transport links too on the bus, train and even on Lake Windermere. Regards Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have just stayed there for a birthday treat. The booking system was easy and on arrival, it is attractive to all. The car park is very useful and accessible. The entrance is welcoming and check in process quick. We wre shown to our room and welcomed to the hotle. The room was lovely and supplied with all needs. The hotel is very comfortable and the breakfast has a good range. The hotel is also perfectly situated for walkers and visitors to Windermere. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Happy Birthday and thank you for your feedback. You have provided a wonderful objective review of what we offer at Ellerthwaite Lodge. So pleased you found everything the way we expect it to be. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Weve stayed here twice now, once in august of last year and again in april this year, the first room was spacious enough with a nice new bathroom and the bed was really comfortable, even though were had the room overlooking the car park we didnt have any road noise or disturbance, the second time was pretty much fully booked so we were given a discount as it was the last room an it was a family room, the room itself was a fantastic size and the bed is in the sloped roof part which was lovely, the bathroom again was new, and immaculate, the breakfast on both occcasions was delicious and very well cooked, id also like to make special mention to Fiona who was so welcoming, kind and offered to help us in any way she could, she is a valuable asset which was a reason we booked to stay again a second time! We would deffinatly reccomend an will stay again in the future!!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank philipfounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for a lovely review. We are so pleased that you returned to stay with us. Our family room does offer a great space doesn’t it? Pleased that you found our breakfasts to be delicious, all of our food is locally sourced. Fiona says thank you for the mention and she is so pleased that she was able to help. Please do recommend us and we look forward to you coming to say with us again soon. Take care Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Having frequented the Ellerthwaite Lodge Hotel prior to the current owners, we were looking forward to staying with our three year old. The changes that the current owners have made are excellent. The carpark is a great advantage over other accommodation and the hotel is in an ideal location for both Bowness and Windermere. We stayed in room 14 with an extra bed added for the little one. Whilst the room is not huge, it contains everything and has a lovely layout. It has been noted on other reviews that the room does have a low roof and a previous guest of 5ft11 found it a struggle. My husband didn't find this to be an issue and is over 6ft4!

Excellent breakfast service and friendly staff. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SallyT777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Sally, thank you so much for your comments. You provide a lovely summary of the benefits of staying at Ellerthwaite Lodge. So pleased that your 6’ 4” tall husband found room 14 to have no issues! Excellent food and friendly staff that is what we are proud of. We look forward to you staying with us again soon! Take care Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in the top room .. to far to go when your drunk but it was clean and tidy better than the Samling . Good price for one night , good parking and breakfast was quicker that the Castle in Kendal.

Cannot think of anything we didn't like . perfect position to be if your out and about in the lakes

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Guest Relations Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Alex
Thank you for much for your review, especially with the comparisons you have made. Having two floors with rooms on the ground floor too does give options for our guests. At least you have our lovely guest lounge to stop and admire the wonderful stain glass windows and the sunsets in the west before climbing the next fight of stairs to your bed. Please remember to come and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

From the minute my Mom and I stepped into the Ellerthwaite Lodge, we felt at home - we had the opportunity to spend our first and last night of a week-long self guided hiking trek through the Lake District at the Ellerthwaite and could not have been happier. We loved our little room and slept incredibly soundly, and also enjoyed the lounge on the second level. The breakfast was wonderful and everyone who worked there could not have been more cheerful, lovely and helpful. In advance of our arrival, we requested fresh fruit for breakfast and, without fail, it was there for us. The lodge is quiet despite being so close to the hustle and bustle of Windermere and proved to be the perfect place to start off, and wrap up, a fabulous week.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B, Manager at Ellerthwaite Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Emily
Wow what a lovely review. We are so pleased that we were able to give you a great start and finish to your hiking trek. We do aim, when we can, to meet requests made by our guests and we are so pleased to be able to do this for you. Glad that you felt at home and that you found our staff to be cheerful, lovely and helpful. You have brought a big smile to their faces. Thank you for doing that, they do deserve it. Take care. Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.7 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
607 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#8 of 107 in Windermere
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#23 of 107 in Windermere
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#61 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerthwaite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerthwaite Lodge

Address: Ellerthwaite Lodge New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £50 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellerthwaite Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from Lake Windermere, this charming 19th-century Lake District town house provides 15 relaxing, comfortably furnished en-suite rooms for you to enjoy bed and breakfast accommodation in Windermere. Our rooms have been dressed with bespoke soft furnishings, excelsior deluxe mattresses, 20” flat screen Samsung TVs with 10 channels and in the lounge area you can relax on leather chesterfields and take in the far reaching views. Parking is also not a problem as we have private car park with ample space for all. You are only 2 minutes walk from Windermere town centre with its variety of shops and selection of good quality restaurants which is why we have chosen to only cater for bed and breakfast. Ellerthwaite Lodge is ideally situated and provides a great place to stay to enjoy the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Ellerthwaite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerthwaite Hotel Windermere
Ellerthwaite Lodge Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing