We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B at a great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #62 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Lovely B&B at a great location”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The B&B was perfectly located close to Windermere and within walking distance of Bowness and Lake Windermere. It was in a quiet little street with free on-street parking. I presume that during the busy periods (in non-olympic years, as that seems to have kept visitors away this year), it may be hard to find a parking spot. The house was lovely and the room was big with lots of storage and a whole selection of books. We did not have an ensuite bathroom, but the external bathroom was for our use only and just out the door next to our room. It was a big bathroom. Everything was clean and tidy. The hostess was very, very kind and served a fantastic breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karianne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    16
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
107
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

What a gem of a B&B! We stayed for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The room was spotless and well-appointed. Beautiful en-suite facilities. Comfortable bed and quiet street. There is no allocated parking but there is plenty of on-street free parking. We never had a problem getting a space. Breakfast is plentiful with a choice of full-cooked through to continental options. On our last day the cooker broke so we couldn't sample our continental, but the landlady was very apologetic and gave us a good selection of assorted meat, smoked salmon and cheeses etc. They have just taken over this B&B and so are still ironing out some of the creases, but we would not hesitate to stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull,east yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here for a few days and had a lovely time. One of hosts Martin was a super host and he cooked a wonderful breakfast each morning of our stay. He was very knowledgable about the area and gave us directions to the places we wanted to visit. The room was well decorated with lots of room and storage space, we had a wonderful spa bath which we took advantage of, very relaxing after long walks!! Would deffo stay here again. Thanks guys.

Room Tip: Got to stay in the 'Langdale' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helibobs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

this was a very enjoyable stay it seems martin & marina have got a lot to live up to from the previous owners & they have certinaly have got off to a good start in my eyes` the room was clean martin was very knowlegible on the area which was helpful ` & marina's breakfasts were superb nothing was to much trouble & what a choice we would definatly stay here again without hesitation thank you for a wonderful week

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank billsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Needed a one night stay for an event.
Bernie and Danny were so accommodating. Nothing was too much hassle for them.
Large room, beautifully decorated and very clean. Bathroom had other essentials that are easily forgotten (i.e. makeup remover!).
They even got out of bed at 5am to make breakfast!
Wonderful B&B and we'd happily stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor room is the best :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eec502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your very positive review. It has always been our intent to offer the best service possible, and we hope we have achieved that. We would like to take this opportunity to let all our guests know that as from 10th July 2012, Bernie and Danny will no longer be running Annisgarth B&B. We are moving to Keswick, where we will be running another bigger B&B. easedalehousedotcom Please check us out, we'd love to see you there. In the meantime Annisgarth continues to operate, now to be run by Martin and Marina.

A massive thank you to all the guests who have stayed at Annisgarth over the last 12 months. It has been our pleasure.

Danny and Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I stayed for 3 nights with my family and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our host Bernie was simply amazing - warm, friendly and tremendously helpful. What makes Bernie stand out from all the other B&B proprietors I've met in years of traveling is her attention to detail and obvious commitment to the highest standards: from scented towels, quality toiletries, a generous tea basket in the room with melt in your mouth butter cookies and delicious hot chocolate, there's nothing remotely cookie cutter about her approach. The house is lovely, comfortable and a very short walk to the lake and town centre. But the highlight is Bernie's Cumbrian breakfast, with home made bread, free range eggs, lean ham and a very delicious Cumbrian sausage. Bernie will be running Easedale B&B come July and I'll definitely be staying with her on my next trip to the Lake District! Vanessa

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Just had a great week staying in the Langdale Suite,Bernie and Danny could not do enough for us ,the room was very clean and tidy.Home made cakes were left in the room when we arrived and on several occasions during the week. The breakfast was great with a good choice and the cooked breakfast was always freshly made.We did not have any problems with parking always plenty of spaces.The lake at Bowness was not too far away about 10 minutes although up hill coming back ? Bowness has plenty of resturants with awide choice . The weather was kind to us all week with sunshine and very high temperatures . we look forward to staying with the hosts in Keswick in their new venture

Room Tip: Langdale suite top floor great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.6 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monties Bed and Breakfast
Monties Bed and Breakfast
#48 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#38 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stockghyll Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Stockghyll Cottage Bed and Break...
#35 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eastbourne Guest House
Eastbourne Guest House
#37 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast

Property: Annisgarth Bed and Breakfast
Address: 48 Craig Walk, Windermere LA23 2JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annisgarth B&B is a 4 star B&B in Windermere, a traditional Victorian terraced House on Craig Walk, just off the main Windermere - Bowness road and away from the hustle bustle and traffic, but only a five minute walk to the cafes pubs and restaurants, the cinema and all the other amenities and attractions of Bowness, including of course Lake Windermere!! Each of the 3 delightful guest rooms is individually furnished and has a hospitality tray and colour television. Also provided, large fluffy bath sheets, a full selection of toiletries, radio alarm clocks, hairdryers and a DVD player in each room. The Langdale is the very spacious luxury room at the top of the house it has a spa bath and a walk in shower. The Rydal is a large en-suite room, with a super King size bed, which can also be used as a twin. The Grasmere is a standard double with a private bathroom. Not en-suite but just feet away from your room. We'll even provide robes for you!! After a refreshing night's sleep, relax over a delicious breakfast, cooked to order from the finest locally sourced produce. We cater for most diets so please let me know if you are vegetarian, vegan, diabetic, gluten or dairy free. Winners of a prestigious A.A. Breakfast Award. Parking is on street and unrestricted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Annisgarth Bed And Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing